We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #62 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Newish and modern, this hotel is in walking distance from the central train station, even for someone who walks with a cane. Though it is not old, the facility has a well-worn feel to it. Or well-partied in, perhaps. There were several large groups of middle aged American men staying there while I was there in January of 2014. They were not obnoxious, but were intent on enjoying the city. So was I. The room was rather stark. No minibar. Lousy wifi. Limited room service selection, but very timely. Staff downstairs were friendly and had no problem with my dog. I did not see any housekeepers, though I tried to give them time to get in the room on the second morning. I went out again that afternoon, the housekeeper saw me, sneered at the dog (really, who can blame those who must clean up the excesses of partiers for resenting the addition of dog hair?). Still, the room was clean overall. Upstairs on the top floor there is a bar where you can get sandwiches and snacks as well as drinks. The staff there are outstanding. Again, no problem with the dog. There is a large outdoor terrace that overlooks the city here, perfect for a quick smoke, even in winter.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marigoldatlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Glad to read that you and your pet have enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you made use of the special pet menu we offer? Otherwise it's certainly a nice addition for a future stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,864 - 3,870 of 7,309 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was there for a business trip for a week. I chose Doubletree because it is close to Centraal Station and is center to a lot of stuff.

Location: Great! Walking distance to Centraal Station and that can get me to anywhere in the Netherlands and Europe on rail as well.
Location: Also close to Dam Square, Chinatown, and a lot of shopping
Cleanliness: Rooms clean and comfortable.
Sleep: Despite that the hotel is in the middle of a lot of buzz, It was quiet and I had good nights' sleep.
Cookie: That was great!
Service: Service from check-in counters to concierge were all great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eywchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thanks for these comments! Wow! I am happy that you were able to enjoy the city during your trip and you have had good quiet nights in the hotel and that the staff was able to provide you with good service, thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Im giving this a just a bit above average for several reasons. Firstly our room was right over the train station and the hotel didn't mention exactly that the hotel was directly on top of the station. We did hear the trains coming back but wasn't such a problem as the noise was low. however a view of the train tracks was not so appealing.The real problem was that the private terrace was not private at all. There were 3 other terraces that could directly look right into our room and this happened many occasions. Furthermore they explain to you that you have a full city and water view but the city view is completely blocked by some silver crane that is on the top of the building. I also requested a early check in that was documented by my order and lets just say it wasn't easy convincing the lady that checked us in. It took at least 5 minutes to have her give me some type of a definitive answer. What was great was the guest services after check in and bed and bathroom were really nice. also the top to bottom windows were very nice over looking the water. the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. It was just a bit upsetting to pay for a pvt terrace that wasnt private and view that was only decent on the water side with a full silver crane blocking our city view. also the executive lounge was nice and let us take fresh bottles of water up to our room all the time. If you go in harsh weather the walk can be quite challenging every day for the center but if the weather is decent you should be fine. I was happy when we left but it will be hard to choose this hotel again the next time we go to amsterdam.

Room Tip: i would pick a suite that was closer to a citry view then on top of the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

First of all I want to thank you for your feedback! I am sorry that your stay was not as wonderful as you and we had hoped! I am happy though that we were also able to make your stay better. I hope you will reconsider our hotel again, so we can show you that we can do better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Next to Central station. Easy to get to and from the airport. And easy to get a trolley wherever in Amsterdam you want to go. The staff were helpful. The executive lounge had a good breakfast and evening snacks with wine and beer.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for these nice comments! It is very nice that you have had a good stay in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, central location. Definitely would stay here again. Very clean and comfortable, can't fault any aspect of our stay. Rooms spacious and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Marie Jean U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

We would love to welcome you back again some day! Thanks for the great positive comments, it was a pleasure having you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed for a single night during a business trip. Room allocated overlooked the courtyard but if you are lucky the views from other rooms are amazing. Arrived on a busy day for reception hungry thinking what to do with food; a pleasant surprise awaited, was offered a warm freshly baked chocolate cookie that really did the job! Nice touch. Room although relatively small (I would say normal for Amsterdam room size), was very well appointed, spotless clean and the provision of bathrobe and slippers gave that little bit extra.
Breakfast was fantastic and despite arriving at a busy time in the morning, everything had been replenished all freshly prepared. Staff have been extremely attentive. Excellent value for money.
The proximity to the Central Station is a very big plus, anything to avoid the crooks at the taxi rank of the station is most welcomed.
Definitely a fresh alternative to the ageing dark hotels of the area, with its airing design and use of natural light puts you in the mood for a great day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zach006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thanks for the great feedback!! I am happy that the cookie came right on time for you ;) It is a big compliment for our hotel and staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent stay at the Doubletree Amsterdam last weekend. So easy to find even I could not get lost as it is moments from Centraal station and is just visible as you turn left out on to the station plaza.

Allocated room on the 6th floor with city and canal views. The room itself was fine, so similar to their property in Leeds where I sometimes stay! it was spooky. All very clean, small bathroom with only a shower and no tub but for a weekend break not really a problem. Bed very comfortable and the iMac with BBC1&2 a nice bonus. The soundproofing was good as did not hear anything at night or in the morning.

Access to the exec lounge on the ground floor was included which allowed you red&white wine plus beer and soft drinks between 6-8 but it got very busy and some people were a tad greedy when the hors d'oeuvres and crisps were put out. At other times the fridge was padlocked closed and it was just tea, coffee and water plus space to relax in. There was also a computer with a printer so you could do your boarding pass for your flight home.

The highlight apart from the Sky lounge with the fab views and good drinks was the breakfast. The staff were superb, bringing tea, coffee and refills plus the breakfast buffet had everything you could want from egg and bacon to goji berries and other weird and exotic dried fruits. The cooked items were all hot and replenished and the choice of cold cuts/ cheeses and pasties wonderful. Considering how busy it was when I was down on a Sunday morning it was managed perfectly. Beware sleepyheads the curtains get drawn across at 11 sharp so do get down in time to have yours.

For a first time or repeat visitor to Amsterdam it is perfect as all the trams and buses leave from outside Centraal station so it was so easy to get back to the hotel or getting to where you needed to go.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Those are great comments! Thank you so much! We are more than happy that we were able to contribute to a great stay for you here in Amsterdam, we all hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,085 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#61 of 375 in Amsterdam
755 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,366 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $170 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station and begin your visit with one of our famous freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies. are you here for business? or pleasure? Everything is within your reach to experience Amsterdam, thanks to our central location. Take in our spectacular views over the city and IJ river from SkyLounge Amsterdam. The hotel has 557 stylish guest rooms. Each one luxuriates in floor-to-ceiling windows to provide a sense of air and space. There is a power shower for you to relax in after a long day and you can use the iMac provided in every guest room for work or recreation, or simply use the complimentary Wi-Fi with your own device. The hotel is located in the city centre within walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal Station. The historic city centre, famous shopping streets, the different congress centres and all of the city's cultural heritage are within your reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing