We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #61 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent stay at the Doubletree Amsterdam last weekend. So easy to find even I could not get lost as it is moments from Centraal station and is just visible as you turn left out on to the station plaza.

Allocated room on the 6th floor with city and canal views. The room itself was fine, so similar to their property in Leeds where I sometimes stay! it was spooky. All very clean, small bathroom with only a shower and no tub but for a weekend break not really a problem. Bed very comfortable and the iMac with BBC1&2 a nice bonus. The soundproofing was good as did not hear anything at night or in the morning.

Access to the exec lounge on the ground floor was included which allowed you red&white wine plus beer and soft drinks between 6-8 but it got very busy and some people were a tad greedy when the hors d'oeuvres and crisps were put out. At other times the fridge was padlocked closed and it was just tea, coffee and water plus space to relax in. There was also a computer with a printer so you could do your boarding pass for your flight home.

The highlight apart from the Sky lounge with the fab views and good drinks was the breakfast. The staff were superb, bringing tea, coffee and refills plus the breakfast buffet had everything you could want from egg and bacon to goji berries and other weird and exotic dried fruits. The cooked items were all hot and replenished and the choice of cold cuts/ cheeses and pasties wonderful. Considering how busy it was when I was down on a Sunday morning it was managed perfectly. Beware sleepyheads the curtains get drawn across at 11 sharp so do get down in time to have yours.

For a first time or repeat visitor to Amsterdam it is perfect as all the trams and buses leave from outside Centraal station so it was so easy to get back to the hotel or getting to where you needed to go.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Those are great comments! Thank you so much! We are more than happy that we were able to contribute to a great stay for you here in Amsterdam, we all hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,737 - 3,743 of 7,122 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have been going Amsterdam for the past 15 years and always stayed along Rembrandtplein but this time I could not find anything cheap so I decided to try somewhere else. Glad that I did! Great hotel - friendly welcoming staff (they charged my iPhone at reception after I forgot my charger) and a great location. The room was spacious and comfortable although the bathroom was a bit chilly (bring slippers!). The best thing by far was up to date flight information in the lobby - we were able to see if there were any delays and other flight details from the comfort of the hotel. Lastly, there is a Starbucks 50 yards away - what more do you need?! Great place.

Room Tip: Take the courtyard view - we opted for the river view but when we opened the curtains, there was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNG1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you so much for the great comments and for your choice to stay with us! It is absolutely great to hear you have enjoyed our hotel facilities and staff that much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our room is a standard queen room overlooking the harbour and railway. Thus it was a bit noisy when the trains pass through especially during night time. But the view is better than looking inside just the windows opposite to your room. The room is quite basic with min decoration. There is a Apple Mac in the room, both for PC and TV. Bed is a bit small as it is just a queen size bed. Anyway, it is just comfortable.
It just took a few mins to walk to the Ams Centraal Station and there are bus, metro, tram and train to go everywhere in Ams and other areas in Netherlands. As we arrived Ams in Feb, it was so windy and cold outside hotel as it just next to harbour and canal.
Breakfast in the City Cafe is good. There are many choices and even Japanese sushi. But we love the waffle and smoked salmon. It is always busy the cafe is large enough to accommodate the guests.
Lastly, the warm chocolate cookies from front desk during check in was nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bird-Bird-Blogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thanks for your compliments about the breakfast and warm cookies at check-in ,great to hear you have enjoyed these! I am sorry that the trains have bothered you during your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We spent 3 nights here in Jan 2014. The property is near the central train station. It was clean and quiet. The rooms were small, the staff friendly, and the halls felt a bit like a prison...narrow, bland, and repetitive. We will stay here again the next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musteau W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thanks for your compliments! It is a pity to hear that the hallways felt like a prison for you, maybe we can consider cheering them up a bit! Thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed In one if the kings suets the views were amazing and if we ever stayed here again we would always get this room type. As you look out of your window you get an amazing view of the city over a large canal just In front of your hotel. And if you want a little more privacy with a flick of a button electronic shutters close over your windows giving you privacy.

The room was very clean fantastic size and the furnishing and gadgets in the room were ace. Two apple computers and a boss sound system in the room which you can connect your phone, pad or whatever device you want and play your favourite tunes before you head out into the city.

We never ate in the hotel so can't comment on that but the bar upstairs has the most amazing cocktails I have ever had and this is well worth a visit :)

The staff were great and were very accommodating to us even throwing in a few extras because we were on our honeymoon.

We stayed here for three nights and had an amazing time but the plus side and negative side to a hilton is it is a hilton so wherever in the world you are it feel the same great if you want to play it safe and stick with what you know but for me maybe I would stay in a more traditional hotel in the city next time.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Great to hear you have had a nice stay in our hotel during your honeymoon, that the room was fully according to your wishes and the staff was helpful! Thank you very much for celebrating your honeymoon with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The hotel location is near all the attractions. The hotel personnel are very helpful. The room card key kept loosing the program which I had to visit the lobby 3 times to recode it. Other wise the stay was nice!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Omar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

It is a pity to hear that your key card was not working all the time, my apologies! Apart from this I am happy you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The DoubleTree is very conveniently located right next to Centraal Station, with good access to tram lines and taxis, so it is well situated for a business traveler on a short visit.

Check-in was handled very efficiently, and my room was very clean and well appointed, including a desktop iMac with internet and TV channels. Wireless was also free, which I was not expecting given the Hilton partnership. However, the minibar was empty but for a note saying that minibar packages can be ordered from room service, which does sort of negate the convenience and purpose of a minibar. I did order room service one night, and the food was well prepared and arrived quickly. Overall the hotel is well managed and efficiently run, with comfortable and clean rooms. However, I think the best feature of the hotel is the Sky Lounge bar, which is located on one of the higher floors and offers views of the city and harbor. The interior of the bar is very stylish, with a DJ playing good ambient music, and not too loudly. There is also an outdoor patio for smokers or those wanting to admire the view. I imagine the patio must be very pleasant in the warmer months when the weather is better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabol305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thanks for your nice feedback! I am glad the hotel operates smoothly and efficiently, I will take your comment about the mini bar into consideration! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
291 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,173 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $196 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing