We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Nearby Hotels
$302
$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$337
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$443
$373
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$215
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$261
$244
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$457
$334
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$278
$256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$905
$347
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Van Gogh(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$132
$89
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (7,560)
Filter reviews
7,560 results
Traveler rating
3,693
2,713
779
222
153
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,693
2,713
779
222
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky loungethe executive loungedouble treewarm cookiesapple tvgreat locationrooftop barguest servicestrain trackscity viewfloor to ceiling windowstop floormodern hotelriver cruiseexcellent hotelamsterdam centraalearly check
Filter
Updating list...
4,108 - 4,113 of 7,560 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The DoubleTree (formerly The Mint Hotel), is a good modern hotel 5 mins from Centraal station in Amsterdam.

Stayed there over a period of a few years, nice modern building, rooms clean and comfortable, slightly minimalist, IMac doubles as a TV, given a number of UK channels as well as internet access. Good aircon in rooms, with the added advantage of having a smallish window that opens to give fresh air if, like me, you don't like using the aircon and want some fresh air overnight.

The rooftop bar is a treat, really nice place to go for a drink after work, or before a night out with a panoramic view of the Amsterdam skyline.

Main restaurant on the ground floor has good food, but slightly lacking in atmosphere, but then again there are dozens of good restaurants within walking distance, so if you want more than a quiet meal there are plenty of other options.

Overall I would use it for business without any hesitation if I need to stay in central Amsterdam near the station, and also for pleasure in a short break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing the Railway line if you want to sleep with the window open but avoid noise.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind feedback with regards to the hotel and the several outlets (City Café Restaurant and the SkyLounge). While you mentioned that you have stayed with us several times in the past, we do hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel in the near future! If there is anything we can do for you, you can always contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed her for only one night. The staff was friendly and efficient. Room ha a beautiful view over the historical city. Dinner at the Sky bar was worth while just because of the view. One should work on the food. It wasn't as tasty as one should expect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank F A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for complimenting us with regards to our service and we do like to read that you have enjoyed the view over the historical city center. We are very sorry to hear of your experience with the dinner in the SkyLounge. We work with the highest quality products, but of course are always open for suggestions from our guests in order to improve. If you could contact the hotel with the specific feedback? We would really appreciate your kind feedback and will have a look into the matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed in the doubletree in November 2013, we had picked it as it was a great location, close enough to get to everything quickly, but far enough away that it wasn't right In the noisy city streets. Great access to the station if you're coming to the city by the train from the airport, we checked in and dropped off our bags easily before exploring the city, luggage free. The room was small, but really bright and airy with floor to ceiling windows. Breakfast was AMAZING, a huge buffet with everything you could ever imagine available, definitely pick to have breakfast in your room package.

Room Tip: Higher floor and overlooking the water!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

We do hope that you have enjoyed exploring Amsterdam nearly as much as staying at our hotel. If you ever plan to visit Amsterdam, we will love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

all good. Sorry bu I don't have so long comments.... Just all good!!!all good. Sorry bu I don't have so long comments.... Just all good!!!all good. Sorry bu I don't have so long comments.... Just all good!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Oleksandr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

We do appreciate you taking the time to write a comment about our hotel. We love to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel was perfectly located, just left from the train station. It was within walking distance of all the main sites but was still separated from the hustle and bustle of the main town. The room was large and spacious and the free wifi was wonderful. Really enjoyed our stay. The free warm cookie on arrival was a wonderful addition.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Hannah April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Nice to read a positive review like this, thank you! Caroline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews