We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Definitely my Amsterdam hotel from now on” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15% Off
Ranked #53 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definitely my Amsterdam hotel from now on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

On my 4th visit to Amsterdam, I chose the Doubletree for the first time. I was presented with a warm cookie and recognised as a Gold HHonors member on check in, and upgraded to an executive room on a high floor with a balcony overlooking the city - probably the one of the best views in Amsterdam. The view from the SkyLounge is also fantastic. The balcony was of use to me as a smoker (too many hotels are now 100% non smoking, I appreciate the ones that allow it in certain rooms/balconies!). The hotel is situated right next to Centraal Station and so is in a great location.
The management were very friendly, visiting me on the first night to make sure everything was up to standard.

My room was large and clean, with a comfy queen bed and floor to ceiling windows. The iMac is a great touch as it allows you to surf the net and watch TV as well as listen to music with the speakers provided. The bathroom was also very clean, with both a shower and a bathtub. Although the minibar was empty which I found strange - you're instead advised to call room service for drinks packages.

I had use of the executive lounge which is open 24/7 (canapés and wine served 7-9pm), which is nothing special but a good facility to have. You're able to sit down with a coffee and relax, or print documents etc.

Breakfast was included with my room and consisted of an expansive buffet selection of American, Asian, British and Continental style items, all of which was delicious. I also made use of room service twice and on both occasions was served a delicious meal promptly. I called the concierge on one night to recommend a Chinese restaurant and he booked me a table at Geisha - highly recommended.

I will certainly be staying here again on my next visit, and hopefully will be allocated the same room! I'd also recommend downloading the Uber app to get around the city - €10 off your first trip using promo code: '3d733'

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyTravellerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
How nice to read that you had such an fantastic stay! Hopefully we will see you again soon. Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,659
    2,029
    562
    153
    99
See reviews for
642
2,435
267
1,017
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I'm not happy with this hotel. Just stayed for 4 nights. The heating was very poor (in fact it was warmer with it off) in my suite which, in December, was unacceptable. The food is good but I won't stay there again.

There was also a mixup with my bill which I assess as 50% my fault. Ended up costing a lot, poor value for money for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uktraveller t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback! I'm sorry that your stay wasn't as comfortable as it should be! I would like to ask you to contact me personally so we can check wich room you stayed in and fix the heating. I would also like to sort out what happened with your bill. Thank you in advance! Kind regards, Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Fantastic Location, Great Room (executive floor) with gorgeous view. Near everything you could wish for in Amsterdam.. all transport right outside your door. Restaurants lovely in the hotel, facilities wonderful. Super staff who could not do enough.. all recommendations for outside restaurants great.. Executive lounge well equipped.. with a Mac TV in the room and in the lounge (together with printers etc) no withdrawal symptoms experienced due to leaving laptop behind! Breakfast amazingly good (Dutch style with fresh cheeses and charcuterie) Coffee available 24/7 nice drinks and snacks for the footsore in the evenings. All the princess requests for extra towels feather pillows etc etc accommodated without fuss and in minutes
So happy we picked this hotel

Room Tip: Executive floor rooms are quiet and have a great view.. worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
What a positive review, thank you! Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our 3 day stay at the Doubletree Amsterdam Central Station was among the highlights of our trip. From the warm reception of the staff of the front desk to the central location everything was positive. We booked the hotel on our own to end a Rhine River Christmas Market Cruise, the hotel was a five minute walk from the cruise terminal and centrally located for either walking, taking a tram, or the train station. The rooms are large and well furnished, book an executive level room , access to the breakfast and evening snacks in the executive lounge are well worth the cost in time and having a place to catch up during the day. The guest services staff is among the best I have ever encountered willing and able to assist with accurate infromation, directions and booking for musems, or any other attractions, all in all one of the best I have encountered!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Happy to read that you enjoyed your stay! Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Had a great stay at Doubletree by Hilton Amsterdam, Staff were very nice, room service was fast and food was great and the room service staff are really nice people too, I recommend the breakfast. Room was fantastic, had a huge balcony with views looking over the city. House keeping was great and the room was always kept spotless. Executive lounge was excellent and enjoyed the complementary breakfast. The bed was really comfy and the pillows where very soft but still kept their shape and after a long day of sightseeing it was a relief to come back to a comfy bed. The hotel is in a perfect spot for everything and very close to central station and tram stops, guest services have the tram passes and all the info needed to get where you need to go. The in room computer and wi fi was great too, was able to stay in touch with family back home without having to make expensive phone calls. not sure why its classified as 4 star hotel when it should be 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Nice one! Thank you so much,
Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

2 night stay at this hotel in an Executive Balcony room. Excellent staff and facilities. However the real winner is the location. If your getting the train in from Schipol, this hotel is a 2min walk!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank barrymuirhead82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
It's all about location! Thank you for sharing these nice comments with regards to our staff and facilities. Great to read such positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great Location about 100m from Centraal station. New building overlooking water. Reception friendly and efficient. Staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Room not ready at 1pm but we left our bags and were told some places we could get lunch.
Room was great (710) with separate sitting room.
View from 11th floor bar very nice and a popular meeting place with live music at times.
Executive lounge good for a drink before dinner. Breakfast in city cafe plentiful and good.
Best thing about this hotel is the staff who are friendly, speak perfect English and go out of their way to help you

Room Tip: ask for a canal/city view not a railway view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireDave33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We do strive to offer the best service possible to all of our guests day in day out, it's great to read that you are so positive with regards to our service, location and of course our staff! Hopefully we may welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#25 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#48 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,271 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing