We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #64 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night stay. The hotel is in a great location and its close to the town.
The rooms have everything you need and are clean and comfortable.
The hotel is full of friendly staff which made my stay even more enjoyable, I was travelling on my own and didn't feel at all uncomfortable. Peter in the City Cafe was so helpful in giving me useful information of places to visit.
I hope to come back again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiny0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback! It is so nice to read that you had a great stay! I will pass Peter your compliments, I am sure that he will be delighted to hear it!
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,084 - 4,090 of 7,357 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Loved this! Easy to find, about 200 yards, 2 football fields to the left from the Central train station in Amsterdam. Clean, comfortable and close to the old town. Easy to catch the bus to anywhere in the city for site seeing. Be sure to see the Rijks Museum, Anne Frank House and any one of the coffee houses. Great Indian restaurant just off the main street tucked down a walkway. Well worth the find! Great food, pleasant service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review! I'am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future! Caroline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

It all depends what youre looking for,This hotel is located just next to the train station,rooms are medium sized but clean and modern ,the breakfast buffet is good,and the reception staff very helpfull. This is however a very big and busy hotel,having over 500 rooms,so you loose the charm of a smaller hotel,for example in the nege straatjies area overlooking the canals.Other negatives...The beds arent very heavy and so you feel every movement,many of the rooms face the railway tracks and are noisy.(we changed to an inner room after 1 night) ,and the price is more than other similar options in amsterdam

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay, it is greatly appreciated!

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed by the price of our rooms. As I read in your review, you stayed in one of our 25 sqm rooms on a prime location in Amsterdam, overlooking the historic city centre and with easy access to the trainstation and many tourist attractions in Amsterdam. For future reference; we offer special rates if you book far in advance!

I am pleased to read you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, the service offered by our front desk staff and our location.

We hope to welcome you again in the future,

Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank ewoodjo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a new property, adjacent to the train station. It's a short walk to the trams, buses and metro as well. The rooms are of average size. The bathroom has a shower only. There was no view from my room on the 5th floor - it looked over to other rooms in the hotel. The beds, unfortunately, weren't comfortable and this affected my sleep. When I had to approach the staff they were friendly. The free cookie at check in were a nice touch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendrusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! It is good to hear that you enjoyed you visit. I am sorry to read that the bed was uncomfortable in your opinion. Everybody like a different type of bed, so please let us know in your future stay because we have different solutions to make every bed as comfortable as home!
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights in hotel. We had an executive room with a lovely view over the city. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the room was very spacious. The hotel is very well situated next to the train station and a couple of minutes walk to the city centre. It was a little expensive at €179 a night but we had complimentary breakfast and drinks and snacks in the evenings. Would definitely return to the hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lindab62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is greatly appreciated!

Thank you for your feedback regarding the HHonors check-in desk. We do have a seperate desk for our HHonors members, but I am sorry to hear you were not able to recognize this desk. We will definitely take your feedback in consideration, thank you!

Futhermore I am sorry we were not able to upgrade your room for your past stay. You booked one of our beautiful King City Suites. The only room level that is higher is our King Master Suite. Unfortunately those Suites were booked during your stay. We will try our very best to upgrade your room the next time you will visit us!

Furthermore it is great to hear that you enjoyed the iMac, the service of our concierge and the cocktails in our SkyLounge.

We hope to see you in the near future,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights (Oct 11-13) arriving by train. Literally 5 minute walk from the Centraal station which was super convenient. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Here's a few areas that could have been better:

- Check in lobby was a free for all. Registration has 4-6 attendants including HHonors. No queue and a lot of confusion as to who's up next. Suggest adding a simple rope queue for general check in and the same for HHonors. Also we're Diamond level but received no welcome acknowledgement and weren't offered an upgrade (terrace or corner suite would have been nice).

- We reserved a prepaid King city view suite, but we were given a recessed, partial city view room (610) that had more of a view of the front entrance court, massive building wall with Doubletree sign and no view of the historic city center. Called desk to change and we were moved to 521, a suite with full view, though what appeared to be a Queen bed.

- Lobby café wasn't open Saturday between 11am and 12pm. They were evidently changing over the buffet from breakfast to lunch. Other days we had a nice breakfast in the executive lounge.

- Room lighting for the suite was a bit sparse. Lots of dark areas. Worst lighting was the halogen above mirror lighting in the bathroom. Should be the brightest, instead it was dim.

- In room coffee maker has to be the worst designed machine ever produced. Impossible to brew a simple cup of coffee.


What stood out:

- Suite was huge, bed was comfy and windows opened just enough to get fresh air.
- In room MAC computer/TV combo was great.
- Concierge was very helpful.
- Doubletree bikes out front to rent, we didn't because of rain but would next time.
- Starbucks in lobby.
- Enjoying cocktails and the view in the SkyLounge was a perfect way to start or end the evening. Also, the small plate menu is very good.
- Taxi's in AMS are expensive and we had a couple of rogue drivers. Next time we'll use the convenient trams as much as possible.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Use Starbucks in the lobby for a great coffee versus the in room machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,112 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
563 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#65 of 376 in Amsterdam
793 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 376 in Amsterdam
3,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $201 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station and begin your visit with one of our famous freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies. are you here for business? or pleasure? Everything is within your reach to experience Amsterdam, thanks to our central location. Take in our spectacular views over the city and IJ river from SkyLounge Amsterdam. The hotel has 557 stylish guest rooms. Each one luxuriates in floor-to-ceiling windows to provide a sense of air and space. There is a power shower for you to relax in after a long day and you can use the iMac provided in every guest room for work or recreation, or simply use the complimentary Wi-Fi with your own device. The hotel is located in the city centre within walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal Station. The historic city centre, famous shopping streets, the different congress centres and all of the city's cultural heritage are within your reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing