We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Amsterdam Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #56 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, United States
1 review
“Great Amsterdam Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel is great! Very close to the Amsterdam Centraal station and right in the middle of the center of the city. Modern design with a very efficient room. One interesting aspect is that during the day your room lights don't work. Overall stay was very good - only hiccup was that the internet was non-functional two days when I was there but other than that great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Good to read that you have had a pleasant stay with us. Apologies for the internet not working, it was a network error from our provider so we weren't able to fix it right away. But I can imagine that it must be very inconvenient, do hope that you haven't missed out on any important emails or messages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,074
    2,300
    647
    178
    113
See reviews for
758
2,801
298
1,167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,458)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

"Centraal" clearly identifies the major benefit of this hotel. Located only a block from the main railroad station and virtually all of the major tram and bus lines, this site makes it easy to get around the city and even take off to other locations in and out of Holland. The hotel is well maintained, the rooms are larger sized than most European boutique hotels and the staff is ready and able to serve.

For those new to the city, about a block away there are offices of the VVV (the well run government tourist office) and the local transit agency. They can provide assistance with local info and reduced fare museum / transit passes.

The hotel has a downstairs Starbucks, an executive lounge for breakfast and an booming top floor lounge for nighttime viewing of the city and entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from "club" noise on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Great to hear that our location made it easy for your to discover the city and the other parts of The Netherlands. Hopefully we can welcome you back if you decide to go on another trip to Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This property is modern and seems fairly new, and is in a great location, a short stroll from Amsterdam Centraal Station terminal. While the hotel is in a rather central location, it's actually facing a quieter side, while still providing easy access to tourist sites e.g. walking distance to Anne Frank Huis, De Walletjes, Dam Square, Jordaan etc.

The line at the reception can get long, and don't bother queing at the Hhonors line - I waited in line for at least a good 20-minutes and was blatantly ignored by the female receptionist right in the next line. A nice chap checked me into my room when I moved to to the other end of the reception desk. Didn't manage to get upgraded (as expected), but was given Lounge access; and a welcome warm chocolate chip cookie (which is such a nice touch!).

Lounge had decent snacks and you can even pull your own pot from the Heineken tap. The staff in the lounge were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was decent - selection was average from the buffet spread.

Our standard room was a decent sized room facing the train tracks but did not hear much noise to be honest, quite a different experience from other reviewers , I know. The room was well-furnished, well-lit and well-kept. The bed could have been more comfortable though! It had an iMac as TV on the dresser table. And oh, the mini bar was empty.

Overall, it was a satisfactory stay. I'd recommend this place if you can get a good rate!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lynn_wabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind feedback and recommending us to other travellers, it’s highly appreciated. I do sincerely apologize for the queue upon check-in. We do everything possible to simplify the check-in process and minimize waiting time, but unfortunately can never completely prevent unexpected peeks. I am confident upon a future stay you will have a different experience.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night here after arriving by train from Bruges. The hotel is extremely convenient to the train station. We had a room on the executive floor and got exceptional treatment due to my Hilton status. I strongly encourage visiting the rooftop lounge for great views of Amsterdam. The room was comfortable with lots of space. While this was a leisure trip for us, I do extensively travel for business and this would be a fine hotel for a business trip also, offering every amenity you can imagine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about our hotel, great to hear that your stay with us was excellent! We do hope that you have had a safe flight back home and that you will stay with us again either on a leisure or a business trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend city break which was spent with my two daughters and my sister. We stayed at this lovely hotel only a 10 minute walk from the railway station and in a very good location for exploring the city.
My only gripe really is about the disposable cups in the room, tea and coffee just doesn't taste the same but otherwise the rooms were clean and well furnished with modern furniture. We had a TV in the room which broad cast BBC 1 and 2 so at least we were able to keep up with what was happening at home whilst getting ready in the morning and evening.
Our room overlooked one of the canals and offered views of the hustle and bustle of this vibrant city. So many bikes and cyclists, at times you needed eyes in the back of your head! The local people were very pleasant and helpful, we British have a lot to learn! Would definitely visit again a weekend wasn't long enough to see it all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 455Amanda_B_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Lovely to hear that you have enjoyed the hospitality and the facilities offered. We indeed place the disposable cups in the room for the coffee and tea facilities, due of environmental reasons, but if you would love to have porselin you can call room service and they will bring it up to your room. Just a tiny tip for perhaps any future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
235 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very modern hotel in the Heart of Amsterdam literally steps from the Central station.

Warm welcome (plus cookie) and nicely appointed room (a little small by US and middle/asian standards though) but very comfortable and functional (Apple computer instead of a regular TV) with a balcony and excellent views of the city, great place to watch the canal parades....

Breakfast was pretty good (not spectacular) and the food was not too special...there are several amazing restaurants within walking distance so it doesnt matter too much).

Overall, the location was a great base from which to explore the city...would certainly return..

Room Tip: high floor with a balcony facing the city or the River behind the station...great views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jollofmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am happy to read you plan to return to our hotel. It is good to hear you enjoyed the location and view from the room as well as our breakfast.

I hope to see you soon in our hotel,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
154 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed a week here. I booked it because we came in to Central Sation and were leaving from there so it was so convenient. I have mixed feelings. Our room was fine, nothing European, but I knew that going into it. The bathroom was very nicely appointed with a good shower. There was enough counter space for the two of us. The bedroom size was fine. I don't expect huge in Europe. We had a King bed; 2 night stands; a chair and small table; a desk with an apple TV/radio/computer; a small closet with safe and two shelves; a refrigerator that had plenty of room for our stuff; and some additional shelves. The computer part of the TV was good. We checked most of our email via the computer, the internet worked well. It may have been the location of our room but the free WI FI was AWFUL. I don't know. The place was packed with tourists and business people so I don't know what others did. It was fine in the lobby. For the best reception, to log on, we had to stand in the corner of our room by our door and hold up our phone or ipad. I took a picture and sent it to my sister to document it. Ha Ha. We asked twice at the desk if they could do something about it and to their credit, they sent up a technician twice. It basically made no difference. So BE AWARE! We had an ipad and 2 iphones. There was also an outside area at the end of our corridor so we spent some time out there in the evening with our wine and vodka (self-purchased). No one else was out there at all and we had good views of the city especially at night. We did not eat a meal there. We did go to the Sky Lounge once because we had received a card for a complimentary drink. That is another issue. We got the card because we called and asked for assistance on some information. No one ever got back to us.. So they gave us the complimentary drink. We had a little bit of an issue with the waitress in the lounge but eventually we got our free alcoholic beverage. The location is good to walk all over the city or to catch trams or a canal tour or buses or to take the train. But if you want to catch a quick bite first thing in the morning, don't expect many restaurants near there to be open until after 9 AM or to have fabulous food in that immediate area. That requires some more walking. There is a Starbucks right at the hotel too if you crave your coffee fix. They hotel also had free water and apples in the lobby at all times and we received free cookies when we checked in. Overall, if you are aware of the wifi situation, it is a good place to stay. The staff was very nice (except the non-call back) and the concierge helped us with tour tickets. Hilton was very good to us when we took issue with some things.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plan2gosoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for this elaborate feedback, we highly appreciate this.

It is good to hear that your experience was positive. Even if the WiFi is free, the signal should be good, and strong. Would you be so kind to reach out to us and tell us the details of your stay? We would like to find out which room you stayed in, so we can address the WiFi situation in that room in particular. We apologize that have not been able to solve this situation on the spot.

We hope you will consider staying with us again. If you do, we will make sure WiFi will be perfect, to ensure your entire stay will be one to never forget.

Thank you for staying with us.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#8 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hilton EMEA and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing