We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“"perfect location"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #56 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"perfect location"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here after our Viking River Cruise. Hotel was within walking distance from where the boat berthed. Arrival cookies were a nice touch, not that we needed them after all the food on the boat. Staff were very friendly as we checked in. Breakfast was included in the price, and had everything that you would want for breakfast.
Hotel is situated close to everything, and are very helpful in booking attractions etc. Short walk to Central Train Station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marod01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive comment! We really appreciate your feedback.

It is good to hear that besides the location, you were also very happy with the service and the breakfast at our hotel. I will pass the message along to my colleagues!

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,747
    2,075
    577
    158
    104
See reviews for
678
2,502
270
1,035
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,377)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
374 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is a ledt turn out of Centraal station and 300 m walk. Its opposite the floating chinese restaurant, Sea Palace. Rooms Ok, access to excutive club a bonus. good gym, pool not tried. Onsite Starbucks and City Cafe for nice dining. For service and charm, the Amstel it is not but it is comfortable and well positioned.
Repeat: yes

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoesNotGetOutMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback! It is good to hear that you experienced our recently opened Executive Lounge as a bonus and that you enjoyed our Food & Beverage Facilities.

I hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Enjoyed the hotel a lot. It is in the perfect location you can walk to pretty much anywhere you need from here. Their free cookies are very good as well. I try to stay at the Hilton when ever i travel as they usually have eveything i need covered when it comes to the wheelchair accessible room. I have to say the one in Amsterdam was the best one i have ever been in there was not one thing that i could think of that they missed that could of made my stay more accessible. If i had to have one complaint it would be the price as the price of hotels are quite high compared to what we are used to paying in north america. The breakfast that was included in my package was definitely worth it they had everything and more than i would expect for breakfast in North America even bacon!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience at our hotel! We truly appreciate it! It is so great to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel.

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a convenient location near the train station and trams. The staff is wonderful and helpful. Though the hotel is not “smack in the center”, all transportation is right there. And, it is easy walking to all attractions, cafes and restaurants. Well done, modern rooms with plenty of space to spread out in bathrooms and good lighting. Nice bar for breakfast (if you want a light breakfast) drinks, and snacks. Buffet breakfast is also served in restaurant, and there is a Starbucks in the hotel. Roof deck is great for a late afternoon drink or in the evening. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank photoworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this nice review. How nice to hear you fully enjoyed your stay with us! You have made the entire team extremely happy with your kind words.

It is good to hear you enjoyed the service, location and restaurant options in our hotel.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you soon again!

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pa.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A short walk from the Central Station, very convenient to Amsterdam sites and restaurants. Rooms are on the small side but did have a small window that opens for fresh air. Executive Floor breakfast was served in the lobby, very efficient and a nice selection.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
I am happy you liked out hotel, its location and our Executive Lounge with a very nice selection for the breakfast.

Hope to see you back soon.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Location to transportation & center city is great. Roof top bar & restaurant are very nice great views
Room was nice with the amenities
You expect from Hilton
Breakfast buffet outstanding, and you can use honor points to pay for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
How great to read you enjoyed your stay with us and found our buffet breakfast "outstanding".

We would to welcoming you back soon!
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

New and modern build hotel, lovely rooms with great views of city, great location right next to the Centraal Station. Staff very professional and courteous; fluent English speaking. Full cooked breakfast with wide selection.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room as the views are directly facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serife21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
How great to hear that you had overall a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the spectacular views.

We would love to welcome you back in our hotel in the future.
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,304 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,342 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing