We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great way to start a holiday in Europe!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“What a great way to start a holiday in Europe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Doubletree Centraal Station for 2 nights prior to a river cruise. We stayed in a King City Suite, which had beautiful views over the city and the very busy hub in front of Centraal station. We arrived at the hotel at about 7.30am, and to our pleasant surprise, we could check in and go to our rooms straight away. We were even too early for the welcome cookies (they gave us a voucher to collect this later)! The staff at the check in desk were efficient and professional and explained all the options available for obtaining breakfast, drinks, tourist info, etc. Our room was very clean, with heaps of room and plenty of luxurious towels and linens. We had a king size bed in the bedroom, which had floor to ceiling windows that also gave a view over the city skyline (we were on the 8th floor), TV with MAC access. The ensuite was ample in size with a separate shower and bath. One criticism of the bathroom would be there isn't enough shelf space around the basin for make up, shaving equipment, etc. The separate lounge had a 2 & 1/2 seater and 2 lounge chairs, TV with Mac access, a table and 4 chairs, a bar fridge (that is complimentary in this grade of suite - if only we knew!), tea & coffee facilities and a mini bar / snack selection. There is a second bathroom / toilet along the hall to the door. The suite was at the 'pointy end' of the hotel, so you had views to the city from the bedroom and the 2 huge lounge windows, the corner window had a lovely comfy seat here and was ideal for reading of watching the world go by, as you had views of both to the city and to the Centraal station. Along the hall there is two other smaller windows that gave us views of the train lines and the IJ (we could see when our river ship docked). We had breakfast included in our tariff, and this was excellent, with a huge selection of hot, cold, sweet and savoury. Their waffles are fantastic!!! We had an evening meal here as well and the staff accommodated our larger group size (7) by rearranging tables and this was no trouble for them. The food again was of a very high standard, almost in the category of 'fine dining'. The rooms were serviced well, with all linens replaced as required and tea/coffee supplies replenished. We rang and requested fresh milk and this was supplied. The hotel had free wifi throughout and we even hired bikes from reception at a cost of 16 euros for the day. We had them from early morning, went for a short ride to get our bearings, came back to the hotel, and just locked the bikes up in the forecourt of the hotel, and then used them again after lunch when we rode them to the zoo. We only returned the keys around 10pm, as it was so easy to ride everywhere. They were in very good condition and easy to ride. The only other facilities we used at the hotel was on the day of embarktion, our cruise line had a 'day room' set up for early arrivals, and a lounge to leave luggage here for transfer to the ship. This worked well with the facilities on the first floor having ample room and comfortable enough for those waiting.
The location was excellent, as most of the trams return to Centraal station, so I was able to be secure in the knowledge that my elderly parents would be able to find their way back to the hotel without any hassles. Check out was quick and no fuss. The staff always pleasant and courteous. We did have an issue with our air conditioning, rang, attendant came to the unit to check all was as it should be, and then returned to reset the unit and said it would take about an hour to kick in, it only took about 15 minutes. The suite did lack a compendium, that gave you details like that the mini bar was complimentary, locations of the pool, gym. There was a room service menu and a TV 'how to' guide, but not any other information. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The higher the better view over the busy hub outside and of the city. The city side views would appe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KazLoudspeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed feedback. This is highly appreciated. How great to hear that enjoyed your stay and would definitely stay with us again. I hope you also enjoyed the cruise after departing our hotel and your cruise went on. Looking foward to welcome you back in the future when you will visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,130
    2,342
    655
    180
    114
See reviews for
774
2,839
307
1,192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,475)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is a block away from Centraal Station, which means you can get anywhere else in the city withhout a great deal of trouble. It is very modern in design with moderate sized, but comfortable rooms. Furnishings included a queen bed, long desk & chair, another casual chair, a refrigerator, a small table, and wardrobe. Wireless internet is free and each room has an IMAC that doubles as a TV. In our case, I lost my wallet and credit cards while here. The staff was incredibly patient and friendly in working with me to make the necessary long distance contacts to make the necessary arrangements to cancel accounts and arrange for new cards.
The Sky Room will be very loud and crowded on Friday & Saturday nights, but it offers a great view of downtown. We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redneckersson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review. Great to hear you had a great weekend. The cups for coffee and tea are designed so guests are able to drink them in teh room but also for a coffee/tea to go. Thank you for this feedback and we will take this into account. Looking forward welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a great weekend in Amsterdam. Stayed at the doubletree near central station. The hotel is positioned in a very convenient location and minutes walk away from all the sights. The hotel has a great roof top bar overlooking the city and served really good cocktails. The rooms are pretty small but doubt if your in your room much! The only poor standard was the paper cups for tea/coffee in your room, not a 4 star standard

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardandshelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. Am kicking myself we didn't go up to the 11th floor for
the view! Service unsurpassed: our handicap access room was not vacated by the prior tenants by 2:30; so we were graciously upgraded to a King Deluxe Handicap Suite without even asking. We were also comped a two day tram ticket for the inconvenience when our room wasn't ready by 11:30am.

Much help from guest services; so gracious. We stayed a night before our cruise, and I thought
dinner in their restaurant was great, although very expensive by our USA norms. After the trip,
seeing the prices in Norway and Amsterdam in general, I thought the food was reasonable as
well as excellent! 35 Euros for a full choice-of-the menu for three courses. Loved my bouillabaisse; lobster thermador and rhubarb crepe for dessert so much I ate same choices two
nights in a row.

Room was large and got me spoiled. Breakfast included, with Hilton Honors super.
Tiny flaws noted: hard to avoid getting water on bathroom floor; no soap dish in shower,
but in general, a superb room for a traveler with mobility issues.

Location close to Centraal Station was a huge bonus. Could not have been more convenient.

Room Tip: Our standard room before our cruise was excellent also. Can't be beat for a disability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. This is really appreciated and I am happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. You made the entire team in the hotel happy with your kind words. If you return in Amsterdam we would like to invite you back and you are able to enjoy the view in our Sky Lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My stay was pleasant. The service was really good. The location could not be better. Its s 3 min walk from Amsterdam centraal and this allows one to see many a tourist destination (walking distance).....or just a bicycle away

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I really apreciate your review. Thank you very much. Good to hear you had a pleasant stay. Looking forward you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the DoubleTree because the Mercure couldn't accommodate us. How fortuitous was that? On arrival it seemed our room was double-booked, but they handled it so smoothly and upgraded us to an executive room. iMac, tea & coffee in room. Warm cookie on arrival. Fab views, comfortable, clean & quiet. Excellent breakfast & restaurant. Helpful friendly staff. If you can afford it you'll be pleased you did!

Room Tip: Executive room was excellent, but we were on an upgrade, don't know if it's worth paying the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theatreland-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments. This is highly appreciated. An upgrade to an executive room gives you a room wtih city view, acces to executive lounge, late check-out and newspaper in the morning. When you return to Amsterdam in the future please contact us and we will be happy to inform you about the rates for an executive room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel using our HH reward points. As HH Diamond status members, our stay could not have been better. We were upgraded to the "best room in the house" - it seemed like a penthouse suite-with an outside terrace with a fantastic view of the city.
Location is very close to the Central Railway system We took a train from the airport, then walked to the hotel from the train station (with our luggage).
Service at the hotel excellent, HH members get complimentary happy hour daily and breakfast in a separate room, and free wi-fi in the room.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to higher floor with view of the city-gorgeous view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Great to hear you had a good stay and thank you very much for your nice review. Good to hear you will stay in our hotel again. And we would love to welcome you back when you will visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing