We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, but nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #61 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but nice.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The only reason this is 4 our 5 is due to the price. Otherwise, this was a wonderful hotel. It is conveniently located next to the Centraal Station which is very nice when you are exhausted from a 9 hour flight. It is also handy for any trams you may want to use for transportation. The bike rental place at the train station is handy and bikes are a great way to get around the city center. The hotel breakfast has a nice selection and a very pleasant staff available to serve you coffee, tea or whatever you would like to drink. If you have Hilton points (as we did) this is a slam dunk. Our room wasn't huge but it was very clean and pleasant with lots of light. The desk staff are very helpful with directions when the concierge isn't available.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DV52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for you kind commend. This is highly appreciated. Hop to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,390
    2,513
    710
    198
    134
See reviews for
894
3,045
335
1,280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,564)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had an excellent stay here over the last week. Clean, comfortable rooms, very helpful staff and a great location. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam. If you are traveling for leisure, the guest services desk can provide you with museum and light rail passes, no need to schlep over to a tourist office. Plus, it was perfectly located next to Centraal Station, where the train from the airport and to and from most major European cities drops you off.

Room Tip: Ask for a city or bay view room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Very much appreciate your kind words. We are so pleased toe heart you had an excellent stay and would recommend our hotel. Love to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My man and I absolutely loved this hotel. This was our first time to Amsterdam and we really enjoyed this city. The Doubletree is a very hip hotel. It's centrally located, just a 5 minute walk from the train, tram and bus station. The staff were very nice and accommodating. They greeted us with warm chocolate cookies, which was a pleasant surprise, after traveling from Milan. The breakfast was impressive (many hot and cold choices). Our suite was also impressive with a lovely view. We enjoyed the iMac TV/PC. Be sure to go to the roof top and visit the Sky Lounge for dinner and/or drinks. The view is spectacular at night. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind and positive review. Good to hear you really enjoyed your stay and you will be returning back to our hotel. Looking forward to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was a good stay, but not amazing. The check-in staff were very busy, it's a big hotel and the reception area was constantly busy. The hotel was very proactive during check-in and was keen to ensure that I had benefits appropriate to my HHonors level. The concierge's directions to a restaurant on the first night is the only reason I gave only 4 for service rating - the position he marked on the map was not even close to the restaurant's location, although it was only a 5 minute walk (and 3 Euros of roaming 3G to locate it on a map!!).

Our room was a balcony club room. It was quite big, but narrow - the end of the bed was almost touching the desk/chair arrangement, which would have constrained use of the desk, had we needed to use it. The room was equipped with a Mac, which acted as TV, hotel information and workstation. Pretty good quality equipment though. The room was not cleaned thoroughly after the first night, but it was only empty drinks containers that we had used ourselves - if we had been staying longer we would have said something to housekeeping, but it wasn't important to us for a 2 night stay.

The bathroom was fine - a large bath in addition to a shower and the usual features of a bathroom!

The best thing about the hotel is the proximity to the Centraal station in Amsterdam. From there it's a short walk or tram-ride into Amsterdam, so if's convenient for getting around (although others may prefer a more centrally located hotel). If you need to travel by train a lot during your stay, then this is a great hotel.

A British budget finds this an expensive hotel, but all chains in Amsterdam were at the time! But of the quality hotel chains, this one gave us the best value for money, so I remain happy with my choice even with all the above considered!

The breakfast buffet was large and of good quality. On the second day, the dishwasher appeared to be playing up though as not all the crockery was squeaky clean (i.e. there were coffee stains on them).

I would stay there again though, particularly if I was on business, so whilst the ratings are not brilliant, it is a good hotel. I would give the hotel another 1/2 on the overall score if I could!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAAT_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback. Appreciate your compliments and comments to keep improving the service and quality in our hotel. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked the hotel two weeks before going due to a great offer we caught online. We arrived at 10 pm at night and were asked if we wanted to upgrade to an executive suite (after we got the yummy chocolate chip cookie, a nice touch!). We declined that, then they said they only had a disability access room available, but we could change that the next day if we wanted. After seeing the room we decided we didn't need to change the room. We got a view towards the court yard (sea side which was on the other side of the hotel compared to the railways) and the room was huge. The bathroom had a big shower and a bathtub. There was plenty of space in the bedroom. In the closet there was an iron and ironing board, something you don't see at every hotel.

The breakfast buffet was amazing, I especially enjoyed the selection of fresh fruits. The service in the reception was nothing less than perfect and we also got to borrow umbrellas.

The hotel is centrally located in Amsterdam, only a five minute walk from the train station whch is very convenien. Red Light District and Chinatown are only five minutes away where there are lots of restaurants and cafes. If you are going to Rijksmuseum I would consider taking a taxi though.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we were to visit Amsterdam again, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. Great to hear you loved your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel. This is really appreciated. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Warm welcome extremely helpful staff. Nice view of the city from Sky Lounge. If you like a modern stay close to the old city and transportation hub, perfect location. Prefer a room with a view to the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seyyah-Rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice compliments. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and you received a warm welcome from our staff. Looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Location, location, location. Great place to stay in the centre of the town. Staff was just ok. Rooms are small but adequate. Price is good value. Clean with a good breakfast, really liked the smoked fish. Easy walking distance to most everything, but took a taxi to Albert market. Love Amsterdam and great place to stay for a quick weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. Good to hear you had a great time in Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#42 of 368 in Amsterdam
132 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
5,036 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing