We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time around was a lot better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #57 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Holland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“second time around was a lot better”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have stayed in this Hotel twice now. I wrote a review about the first stay, wich was a disaster, but removed it because my complaints were listened to and i was compensated for the disaster in a very acceptable way. Therefor I gave it another try, and indeed, this time things went smoothly.

The hotel is located perfectly for tourists, next to the central station. Chec in went fine and quick. I booked a city view king suite and got one on the 5th floor. The first time i was a bit higher wich gives the better views to be honest. The room was very clean. Rooms are modern and bussinesslike. They have a nespresso machine and Imacs. The beds sleep very well. Bathroom is very nice with an excellent shower, wich for me is alwas a positive point as there are SO MANY crap showers around. This hotel understood how a bathroom should be.

Breakfast was very good this time, plenty of choice, i loved the figbread. Only downer (being dutch) is the amount of foreign ppl working in the hotel, who do NOT speak dutch at all. I really think one should speak the language of the country they work in.
Another little thing... the coffee at breakfast is terrible....BUT...next to the breakfast area, within the hotel still, is a STARBUCKS. So dont panic and get your coffee there.

I stay in AMsterdam a few times a year for 1-2 nights. I did not make this my 'default' hotel to stay in yet but I would not hesistate booking it again.

I did not find the hotel noisy at all, but I slept at city side. A very good thing worth mentioning is the bicycles the hotel rents out. For a lousy 15 euro's a day (wich is cheap, trust me) you can hire a really high quality city bike for the day. Its the best way to move in the city and I definately recomment you do so! Be aware tho, if you forget to lock the bike and it gets stolen, you have to pay for it!

summing it up: Good hotel, modern, clean, efficient. Nice food, horrible coffee, excellent bicycles!

Room Tip: city view is nice, ask for floor 5 or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigrid66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your renewed experience with other travellers, it's highly appreciated and you've made 250 team members very happy.
With regards to the language, we most certainly agree, but in recruiting we do prefer hospitatlity over language skills. Once started, the language will come. With all the nationalities we serve, the more languages we speak, the better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,326
    2,478
    702
    194
    131
See reviews for
856
3,001
331
1,272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,545)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Outwardly, this is an exceptionally modern and contemporary hotel. Centrally located, and conveniently positioned for the Station. Very efficient and helpful check-in, nice lobby and communal areas, departure boards from Schipol showing flight progress. The rooms themselves were, frankly, a bit more Travel Lodge or University Hall of Residence than Hilton but perfectly acceptable and comfortable nevertheless.

And of course there was the ubiquitous free cookie at check-in!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your honest comments. Maybe next time, we could offer you to try our city suites, they come with a separate living room area and larger bathroom with separte shower and bathtub. Also opening an Executive Lounge soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great location, minutes away from train station and city centre. New property, nice rooms, beautiful rooftop lounge with beautiful views!!! Breakfast buffet in the mornings and Starbucks is next door!

Room Tip: City view are the outside rooms, otherwise you get the courtyard views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for recommending our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Nice hotel but there was a hick up as when we checked in they said our booking was not in their system And the story begins... I was traveling with my wife and my in-laws, flight landed at 6am reach hotel at 7am, when we wanted to check in their system had only booked one room where else i paid for two beforehand. After a very long wait they gave us another room..... BUT i had to pay for the second room again!!! They said that they wrongly charged my card and had already done the refund but till now there is no refund!!! But im still keeping my fingers crossed for the refund.. Will try calling them again for the refund soon... But saying all that the hotel was nice near to the city and the metro...

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NoellKailas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Sorry to read there was an issue with your reservation. Would be good to know how you booked the room. Would you be able to send me your details for further follow up? I will also double check the refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We received a free upgrade to a balcony room on the 8th floor with a wonderful view of Amsterdam. Check in was a little slow with only one person at the counter. The 24 Euro breackfast is way over priced. You can eat anything on the menu but who eats 24 Euro food for breakfast. You can get the best steak in Amsterdam at Café Loetje for that price

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank BJP8019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was our first stay at Doubletree and our first time in Amsterdam.

Getting to and from the airport is easy as the hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the Centraal Station. Trains leave for Schipol Airport around every 15 minutes. The location of the hotel also made it a perfect base for exploring the city.

Upon arrival we were each greeted with a warm cookie from the reception! The service was impeccable and the reception was staffed properly so there was no need to wait in line when checking in or out of the hotel. There was also a Guest Manager available at all times to assist with any question we had about the city, tickets for attractions etc.

Our "Queen Guest Room" was spacious, modern and clean. The iMac in the room which served both as a TV and a computer was a nice touch. Free Wi-Fi (no password or registration required!) was also a plus.

We had a room on the 8th floor facing the harbor. There was some noise from the trains below us at night, but this didn't really bother us.

Last but not least; visit the SkyLounge on the 11th floor! We enjoyed the beautiful view (and some great drinks) there our last night in Amsterdam.

If I ever get the chance to go to back to Amsterdam, this is where I´ll stay!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Your detailed review is highly appreciated! Thank you very much for your positive words, especially from an experiences traveller it's worth a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Perfectly located for visiting Amsterdam - at a walking distance from Central station, main attractions, canal boat tours departures and the city center. Although the hotel is close to the train station (the quickest way from the airport to the city is by train), it is very quiet. Polite and helpful staff, cleanliness and comfort in the cosy rooms. Our room wasn't very big, but equipped with everything you may need, including iron and water heater.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanislav N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind comments and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#107 of 367 in Amsterdam
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,847 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing