We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A one night stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A one night stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We arrived and had a quick and friendly check in. The warm Hilton cookie added an inch to my waistline but is a nice touch.
We were out all day at the hospitality show but our return in the evening to the hotel gave us time to explore the Skybar. Fantastic views over the city! We spent a pleasant hour or two drinking, snacking and enjoying the view. Good friendly service and I tried a lovely flavoured beer.
The room is spacious, clean and has everything you need including a MAC with free web access. Unfortunately though my key board had a few faults with some of the keys. I rang down to inform reception and was told they would change it in the morning. Not much use to me! 5 minutes later I got a call saying a new key board was on its way up to me. Top marks for recovery! I managed to get my emails done so happy again. I think that I would be typing a different message if they had not recovered and got me a key board. Well done to whoever made that decision.
I had forgotten my razor, rang down to reception again and within 3 minutes there was a knock at the door and there was a razor and shaving foam for me.
Breakfast was a large buffet with plenty of hot and cold food to eat. It is in fact just as you would expect from this type of hotel. A quick check out and we waved goodbye to an excellent city centre hotel that offers exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrispinBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Eternally gratefull for your 5 star review! I'll make sure you're compliments are passed on to the team member brining up the keyboard to your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,130
    2,342
    655
    180
    114
See reviews for
774
2,839
307
1,192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,475)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The best value for your money!!!
Would recommend it to anyone (regardless if it's a family, a couple or just a bunch of friends)!
The staff was outstandingly helpful (we even got a warm welcome chocolate cookie at check in time), the room was clean and cozy and had basically everything you could wish for (including a big mac screen with free internet!!!), and the best part was the "Sturbucks coffe" inside the hotel ...PERFECT!
The only thing that wasn't so nice was the room service...they charge additional 5.5 euros just for the reservation itself....so if you're planning on ordering room service- make sure you order everything you need at once or other ways- pay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EinatLapidot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
What a title, thanks a lot! That's a great compliment. Regarding room service, we should only charge per meal, if you forgotten to order something, the second delivery will be complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree in December 2012. We were really excited to be staying there. I read the reviews before hand so I contacted the hotel to say it was a 40th Birthday celebration and to ask for a Bath in our room due to disability.
We arrived and were given a warm cookie which was very nice, unfortunately it went down hill from there. Our lovely double room with Queen size bed turned out to be 2 singles pushed together, there wasn't a bath just a shower and from the time we got there until the time we left the room was uncomfortably cold!
The manager has replied to a lot of posts on tripadvisor (Caroline I believe) when people complain the reply is; the next time you visit contact the hotel. Well I contacted the hotel previous to arriving and after telling the hotel I had a disability i would have thought this would have been taken into consideration specially with the bath and bed, regardless of the fact we had to walk miles to our room.
Good point:, lovely view from our room and very close to central station. The hotel wasn't cheap and breakfast wasn't included although taxes were included.
I would say the hotel is aimed more for people on business, but even people on business like to be warm and comfortable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I am terribly sorry we have not allocated you the rigth room. We take a lot of care in making sure rrequests as you described are fullfilled whenever possible or to at least discuss alternatives if not. It therefore seems we have made a very unfortuante human error for which I sincerely apologize. We offer 27 rooms with extra spacious bathrooms, specifically adapted for guests with special needs and offering both bathtub and separate shower. Would you mind to contact me personally as I really would like to make it right to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just completed a 2 night stay at this hotel. In my opinion this is a business hotel ideal for those in the city for business, with convenient access to and from central station who need all the normal necessary hotel features and the ability to entertain clients if necessary. The front desk is welcoming and pleasant and the heated cookie at check in is a nice touch are clean and basic (although on the small side), the bed is nothing like a SOFITEL, Westin or Sheraton bed for comfort, the breakfast is typical business buffet style - no egg/omelette station that one would find at the similar hotels, concierge is helpful and knowledgeable.
The biggest disappointment for us personally was the Sky bar; I found the service a little lacking and the ambience a little off the standard of similar signature bars. A good view but better places for a drink.
I would suggest to stay here if you need easy access to central station, otherwise there is better for the same money.

Room Tip: You need to be high and on the river side - this is a MUST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollywood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your extensive review and pointing out our convenient location and pleasant welcome. It's disappointing to read we have not been able to give you a wow experience in our SkyLounge. I'd be delighted to get in touch with you to see where you feel we have could made more of a difference, to help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I booked this hotel for early Jan for myself and my partner in early Jan based on it's location to the centre of town. It turned out to be an excellent hotel with the staff all going out of their way to help as much as they can and the rooms were also really nice. We had no problems with noise but did ask for the least noisy room, which was a courtyard view room. It's really close to the central station and we also hired bikes from the hotel for 15 euros which made getting around so much easier. The breakfast buffet was also excellent, definately worth trying while staying there.

Room Tip: Courtyard-view rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks a lot fo your positive words and kind recommendations. For us it's vital you feel welcome and taken care of so I'm really happy you noticed our team makes any effort necesarry to ensure you have a perfect stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Visited double tree in an extended weekend break with my girlfriend.. The first thing we met at the hotel was a really welcoming and smiling receptionist.. We recieved a warm welcome cookie, wich was funny and diffrent, and the service of this hotel is 5 Star quality. We had the breakfast buffet every morning and the staff was really welcoming and professional, especially a Waiter i belive his name was loannie, we felt really cared for, even when the restaurant was packed he saw everything, we had a perfect stay, the only negative thing was the days passed so fast, and we will return at our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madridista1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks so much. Very nice we have been able to make you feel welcome! We will definately share your comments with the team. Your feedback is highly motivating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

lovely relaxed weekend would stay again. lovely clean and relaxed atmosphere. very helpful with everything. food was fantastic in the restraunts and views from the sky lounge were well worth it. ideally placed as you can walk to everything no need to use transport. Very close to train station but with no disturbance from the trains.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review and especially for pointing out the quality of the food, our central location and helpfullness of the team. We want to be there for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing