We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #56 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good but noisy !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very modern hotel by the central station and therefore convenient for the train in from the airport. Short walk to the canals and main street down to Dam Square.

Room very modern and fine - but very noisy from early in the morning from the trains in the railway station next door. Despite being on the top (11th) floor, we were woken from about 6am both days we stayed. Avoid staying on the back of the hotel !

Sky lounge is nice but service decidedly sedate ! Most of the clientele (not resident) seem to be dressed as if they've come straight from the local DIY warehouse so rather degrades from the elegant surroundings.

Room Tip: Not on the railway side. Even top floor not good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PB&SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences. Our building was build to the strictest norms in sound proofing, but despite that there will be additional sound proofing added on the north facade of the building to ensure the highest level of comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,931
    2,212
    619
    170
    108
See reviews for
720
2,674
287
1,120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,426)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

But that was not the only good point! Nice view on the old town from the (say...medium-sized) room, space available in the small fridge, elegant Apple computer and great location near all the Centraal station trams (and airport train too)! Breakfast is a must, varieties of hot or cold savouries, including fried cod or smoked mackerel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pascaldominique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Your review makes us proud, thanks so much! Don't hesitate to enquire about our spacious suites, offering a separate living area and extra large bathroom with separate bathtub and shower. And... Complimentary breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here on business in December for 3 nights and overall had an excellent stay. I had a slight grumble with the state of the walls in my King room, all scuffed from months of people hitting their cases off it which left it looking a bit ugly and uncared for (room 863) and such a big space could do with a painting or mirror as it looked a bit bland as well - everything else tho was very good.

Hotel is situated about 5 mins walk from Amsterdam Central station (15 min train to the airport) so is really handy to see the sights of the city. Check in was fine and was allocated a room on the 8th floor - it was inward facing so didn't get the city views but the skybar more than makes up for this (more on that in a mo). The room was clean and comfortable and comes with everything you would require but you have to go looking for it - dressing gowns etc all tucked away in a cupboard. Nice room but i've been in far nicer, not one you could sit back and relax in really. Room comes with an iMac computer which you can use free of charge and this doubles up as your TV - very cool. Bathroom is very clean and modern with a really good shower.

One other grumble is with the inward facing rooms , as they have floor to ceiling windows this does invade your privacy when stepping out of the shower - beware !

The highlight of the hotel is the skybar on the 11th floor - amazing views over the city and is quiet and the service excellent - the burgers they serve are fantastic and while the drinks are predictably expensive, it's one of the nicest city bars i've been to. Breakfast buffet was very well stocked also and they have a starbucks on site.

I'd be back if I was staying in Amsterdam again

Room Tip: Get a high floor room that is city facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Similar to other reviews, I found this hotel to be very good but nothing special. I would stay here again for one reason...location was perfect. Easy walk from the train station and close to many tourist attractions. We saw most of the sites in Amsterdam on foot and didn't spend a dime on cabs. The rooms were too small for my taste, but service was excellent. I enjoyed visiting the Sky lounge and the breakfast selection was more than expected.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
A five minute walking distance to all mayor sites in the city. Don't hesitate to inform me what we can add in our product or service which would make the hotel even more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last March and loved it. The hotel is a stone's throw away from the Centraal station which is a very good location as some of the best tourist spots are within that area. There is no minibar which was a small inconvenience but it's easy to just step out and buy some essentials in the central station mini grocery. We loved that we have free internet access as we got a big Apple TV in the room. Coffee and tea making facilities were provided, so were essential toiletries. The best surprise was when we were given a small bottle of champagne with some chocolates as a gift for our 15th anniversary. The staff had been friendly and attentive and we will definitely be staying at this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_chick97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words, this means a lot to us. We would have been happy to provide you with one of our special minibar packages. Maybe next time when you are in Amsterdam?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a big modern hotel situated next to the main railway station in Amsterdam. The rooms are a good size, well decorated and equipped smartly. The TV is actually an Applemac desktop so you can watch TV and access the internet free. Bathrooms are shower only. Safe and ironing facilities provided. I had breakfast (not cheap but a wide range of hot and cold buffet items to choose from). To get to the hotel from the Centraal station turn left outside the main entrance and walk about 500 yards. You'll see a Starbucks which is in the hotel. The hotel reception is about another 250 yds further on. Check in was a bit slow but check out was fine. Free international papers to read in the reception. Everyone gets a free warm cookie on arrival. Free wifi throughout.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Appreciate your positive words. The best deal we can offer on breakfast is to upgrade to one of our executive rooms. It gives you guaranteed city view, complimentary breakfast and complimentary minibar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel has an interesting location: next to the trainstation, parking, across the historical center, ... so a very good starting point to visit Amsterdam.
Since it was an Hilton Hotel I expected something extraordinary, but that wasn't the case.
The rooms are not too big, you have to chase a kingsize bed (the queensize ones apparently seem too small), the bathroom was OK but not waw).
Nice touch with the iMac, free Wifi though.

After all I found a (fairly) cheap promotion, so it was good price-value. Should I have paid more than 200 euros a night I would have had another opinion I suppose.

If you are looking for 1-night stay, or on a business trip, this is fine. If you look for something special and/or inspiring you should look for something else.

Room Tip: book a room with kingsize beds, and try to have one at the cityside (the other side can be very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Very gratefull for your detailed review and positive words about our location and facilties. If you are staying for a longer period you might want to check on the attractive deals we have for king bedded suites. They offer a separate living space, amazing views and bathrooms with separate bathtubs and showers. And not to forget, complimentary breakfast and minibar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#29 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,596 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing