We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Cafe/Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #58 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
YUKON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“City Cafe/Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is one of the reasons my partner and I travel to Europe.........
Without a doubt one of the best restaurants I have ever had the pleasure of dinning in.
The decor was modern and very clean
The service was excellent
The menu was straight forward and explained very well
The attention to detail was simply amazing and not seen vey often.
Being a professional Chef and Restaurant owner, I am very critical about food and the way it is presented......
The selections were executed with classical flavours and surprise flavours that excited our taste buds. So we spent four days enjoying this fabulous menu (5 Stars),,,,,,,

Room Tip: The room was very clean with lots of extras.... Choose a room facing the front for less train noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YukonJohann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
It's so nice of you to share your experiences in our City Cafe Restaurant. We get many reviews about the hotel in general, but only few are directed to the restaurant specifically. For the City Cafe team your comments have been extremely motivating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,179
    2,373
    670
    184
    118
See reviews for
794
2,879
311
1,213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,496)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Well I was not so lucky as I missed a great deal of my booking due to some flight cancelation , I stayed there for couple of hours , but I can tell you that I would only go to this hotel in my next visit to Amsterdam , it has the best location ever , the view from the room is just amazing , the staff was cool and friendly, definitely I do recommend it. The rooms are small, but definitely bigger than loads of other rooms I found In amsterdam

Room Tip: Definitely book a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOGOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Wow, thank's a lot! Really appreciate you took the time to share your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nice hotel near grand central station making it very accessible for trains and trams. Clean, great service . Restaurant nice but dinner menu limited. Free Internet is a big plus.

Rooms a bit squeezed but very clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarrior0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Let me know what you would wish to see on the menu and I'll ensure it will be on there upon your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, France
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We slept 2 nights at the hotel. The location was great - close to everything, the rooms were clean and well equipped, and drinks on the skylounge with great night views of the city are a must. However, the rooms are freezing! we tried to turn on the heating but it was only making it worse! when we contacted front desk they told us the room temperature is set to be 21 degrees and since it is 22 degrees in the room, if we turn the heater on it would actually try to LOWER the temperature....
If you plan to visit on winter months - I would recommend going elsewhere!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the waterfront, and not the ones facing the trains. Also rooms on the 10th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I'm very disappointed to read we have not been able to fullfill your expectations. Providing a properly heated room in winter time obviously is basics for a hotel of our standard and hence we have sophisticated heating systems in place allowing guests in each room to either heat or cool the conditioned air. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly providing your details and room you have stayed in for us to further follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Booked using expedia for two nights as a couple

The hotel is two mins walk from centraal station, 10mins from Schiphol airport, so great location. Its also easy to walk to the red light area, dam square, shopping and restaurants. there is an on site starbucks and a bar with amazing views of amsterdam on the top floor

Our room was well sized and contained all the necessary things, rooms and bathrooms have recently been renovated and this was appreciated. the bathroom has a large and powerful shower, clean throughout and lovely toiletries too!

Minibar and safe. Nice view over the centre of amsterdam and we could nt hear the trains AT ALL.

Staff at reception were helpful. Luggae storage room for the day of departure.

Definately recommend, we'll stay here next time. Even if you dont stay go to the bar and enjoy a drink, food and a view!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willowhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind recommendation. It's really important to us. Looking forward to welcoming you back in Amsterdam soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a city view room, albeit on the 3rd floor. Checked in and was given the doubletree signature cookie, yum. The room was excellent with all amenities one could wish for. No bath, but the shower was excellent. The iMac was great, have one at home and believe me I prefer the iMac to a conventional tv. Extra speakers were excellent giving the sound from the iMac/tv a great tone and depth, for music it was far superior to anything I have experienced in a 4 star. good choice of tv channels including Nat geo and discovery. Not that I watched much tv.

One minor gripe were the staff daily checking the minibar late afternoon, my nap time. Electronic minibars are pretty much the norm now and given this hotel is pretty new a bit surprised they did not invest in such a thing, and save money in the long run.

Great location just a 2 minute walk from the station, trams, buses and metro. Certainly not the dingy area it was back in the 80's, so feel safe in the area. Just watch out for cyclists as to get to the station one has to negotiate a couple of bike lanes.

Sky bar was awesome, great views, good quality drinks and very nice surroundings. Read in a Amsterdam review skybar was good value to see Amsterdam at night as the drinks were expensive, but as the service was slow it ended up a good deal. Not my experience, good service, great view, drinks reasonable.

All in all I can highly reccomed this hotel for a stay in Amsterdam. Just remember the "do not disturb" sign if like me you like an afternoon nap.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrmichael1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review! It's extremely appreciated. I do apologize for disturbing you in your afternoon nap, you are right the do not disturb sign is the best solution to prevent that. We choose to use non electronic minibars as many of our guests prefer to stock the minibar with their own products and hence we remain flexible in how to use the fridges in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great hotel right next to the mail railway station. Turn left as you walk OUT of the station and it it right next door! Great restaurant with an affordable price. Nice staff and functional rooms with a great bed

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Terribleeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
It's highly motivating to be awarded five stars. Thank you for recommending us and taking the time to share your positive experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing