We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, excellent quality rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #53 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent quality rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon, having visited Amsterdam many times we wanted to stay in a nicer hotel and we found the doubletree on trip advisor.

The hotel is very close to the station, and has some great facilities within the hotel, including a starbucks and sky lounge. The room was compact but clean, we had a balcony room overlooking the city, noise was minimal.

Service was very good, room service was prompt, staff were helpful and every staff member would great you and say hello.

We had a small problem with the table in our room which was rectified before we had even got back to the room!

The food in the restaurant was very nice, price wise it was a little on the dearer side as you would expect but not ridiculous. the service in the restaurant was very good apart from one evening where it slipped a little (slow to clear the table and take our desert order, and took a long time for the bill) but to be honest i think that this was only highlighted as the service had been so amazing the previous nights.

Breakfast was brilliant, i cant think of anything else that someone would want for breakfast that was not available, they even had a nice local selection such as pancakes and chicken soup!

There were a number of functions on while we were there, none of which seemed to impact our stay too much at all.

Overall we had a great stay and would definitely stay again (budget permitting!) i would say that a room overlooking the city is a good idea due to the location next to the railway, and expect to pay a little more for some things, but we felt we had good value with the added extras such as posh shampoos, and complimentary minibar.

The only disappointment we had was that i wanted to buy my wife some cookies to take home with us, and they didn't have any ready as it was only 9.00 in the morning, still you cant have everything!

Room Tip: Get a room with a city view, the balcony rooms have a decent size table and chairs on them which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Richard,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. This means so much for us and our teams.

Please do not hesitate to send me your details as we would very much like to send you a tin of our chocolate chip cookies per post.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,670
    2,042
    565
    156
    100
See reviews for
652
2,448
268
1,020
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We loved the location of this Doubletree - walking distance from the train station, across the canal from old town. The restaurant breakfast buffet was a huge selection of hot/cold/cereal/fruit/cheeses/meats that was a wonderful start to the day. Our room faced the city (sigh) and was a queen room. It was both perfectly compact and roomy. The iMac as computer and tv was ingenious, and the wifi unfailing. Loved this hotel and would use it again as home base for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Icanhazspabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Icanhazspabreak,

I really appreciate your positive comments about the hotel. Thank you for recommending us!

Best regards,

Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great location, clean modern rooms, Apple PC and audio interface in room, great modern shower room. Rooms are slightly small, but VERY well designed and smartly appointed. The same goes for the bathroom - in my case shower room (don't know if bath is available). Has just what you do need, and nothing you don't, in a modern and very well kept package. Really comfortable bed, great nights sleep, all quiet, blackout curtains. Complimentary bottled water in room, and a warm cookie on arrival were nice touches. Pleasant and efficient checkout, even though a coachload of Aussies were just checking in at the same time! 11th floor bar overlooking the city is really worth trying before you head out.

Room Tip: Another traveller with us mentioned they could hear trains. Think I was at the back in a higher roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear handif,

Thanks a lot for your very nice review. Really appreciate it! Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My mom and I stayed at the Double Tree Hilton from September 14-17th; we selected a room with two twin beds and paid for an upgrade to include a harbour view, breakfast and free mini bar.

Pro’s
-The front desk staff were great, we arrived at 9am after flying through the night and were able to check into our room immediately. This was beyond my expectations and set the tone for a great trip.
-The location is prefect, you can take the train from the airport to the hotel and all the major tourist attractions are within walking distance.
-The Mac computers in the room are a nice touch and we found it very useful for looking up restaurants and attractions.
-The breakfast had a huge selection of hot and cold items including eggs, cereals (hot and cold), muffins, fruit and yogurt.

Con’s
-In our three day stay the mini fridge was never replenished, also the selection in the mini fridge was not very good there were only 2 bottles of water (one still and one sparkling), 2 beers, 2 colas and small serving of chips and nuts.
-The room was a pretty good size by European standards; however we had requested a room with two twin beds which we received but the beds were so close together there was basically just one bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YYCVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear YYCVacation,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about our front desk staff, breakfast, location and imac facilties. I highly appreciate it and feel it's motivating for all of us.

I am very disappointed to read we did not refill your minibar throughout your stay. A thourough investigation has learned us your room unfortunately was on a do-not-disturb list for which I sincerely apologize.

I do hope your recent experience will not withold you from visiting us again in the future. At that time please do not hesitate to contact me directly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opfikon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent a weekend at the DoubleTree. Good service at the front desk as well as a great service for breakfast.
Located near the old town, just 5 to 10 minutes walking distance.
Was happy it had air condition, it was one of the hottest weekends we had in Europe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hp-from-zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is at great location, walking distance to the central train station. It features new rooms, internet-connected iMac as TV!!! Great wireless connection throughout the hotel, nice gym, open 24 hours. The breakfast buffet is same everyday, and that's the only disappointment

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vj011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
129 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were a group visiting Amsterdam. Reservations were made 6 months in advance. Its unbelievable but they managed to get it wrong at check in. Luckily it sorted itself out but I cannot understand how this hotel is run if they don't have their heads above water and bookings correct!
The warm cookie at check in is a nice touch and we enjoyed that!
Breakfast we found very good. Lots to choose from.
Rooms are small but thats not unusual for this city. Location is great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#25 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#47 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,279 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing