We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“My newest favourite hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #56 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“My newest favourite hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Where do I start? Excellent location, excellent staff, excellent breakfast buffet! The best room with our own private terrace overlooking Amsterdam in about every direction. We loved every moment in this hotel! The room was a Club Balcony Room (1047) and the terrace that came with it made this room so special. There is nothing I criticise in this hotel and highly recommend! What is more it came with mini-bar (beer and soft drinks) included as well as the buffet!

Room Tip: Get a Club Balcony Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oztravels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Oztravels,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very very mcuh for your great review on TripAdvisor where you are sharing your experiences with us which you described as excellent.

It is my pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your comfortable room so much and that the balcony made your stay extra special.
Your time invested in us and your stay are reasons to love our work even more.

We hope to see you again in the future at DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station.

Warm regards from Amsterdam,

Caroline Receveur
General Manager 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,931
    2,212
    619
    170
    108
See reviews for
720
2,674
287
1,120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,426)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Very good hotel at the perfect location. Amazing service. I recomend!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBonino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

New, hip, clean, friendly, good food, close to action - everything was great!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHamel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very very much for your nice review on TripAdvisor regarding your 'great' stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station.

We are very grateful for that. I will pass on your nice judgment towards my entire team.

We truly hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Found the hotel very easily from arrival at the train station, and was even able to check in early on arrival, rooms available at 11am, really handy as we wanted to drop our bags and go for an explore. A relatively short walk to the main tourist areas and easy to find of an eveneing on your way home.

Rooms were clean and pretty tidy, nice bathroom/shower, and smart tv set up. Beds were comfy although pillows were a little lumpy. We were located at the rear of the hotel on the 9th floor and although you can hear the trains entering/exiting the station they are not that noisy and you sort of forget about them after a while, they don't disrupt sleep, although this may not be the case if staying lower down the hotel.

Nice views, even from the rear of our hotel room, especially if you are a train enthusiast! The view from the 11th floor skybar was really nice, particuarly at night and was a nice place to have a drink. A little expensive in the hotel for drinks, although most are, service was friendly as were staff in general.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shizerhoosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

I was very satisfied with this hotel - high Hilton standards combined with a friendlier approach. The location is ideal, just a few minutes' walk from the train station. The staff are very friendly, there were lots of them at the checkin/checkout desks, so we did not have to wait at all even during rush hour.

I would definitely recommend paying a little extra to get a room with a view over the old town rather than the train station - not only is this option the more quiet one, but the views are also amazing, and you can observe Amsterdam even from your bed. The Sky Bar on the 11th floor was also nice, although very expensive.

The two problems that I had were that there was no wireless in my room (7th floor) even though the hotels boasts of free wireless everywhere. The other was a crazy elevator, which went wherever it wanted to, not where we wanted to, and got stuck at radom floors with the doors opening or not opening at random. That caused extremely unnecessary frustration - please reprogram your elevators, dear hotel!

Otherwise I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out to the old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anchorless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globalflyereal
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

The former Mint Hotel is now the DoubleTree by Hilton. This is a very unique and hip hotel. The service was excellent and the breakfast buffet was extensive. As I had only one day to explore the city, the Concierge was wonderful and recommended what to see. Also as it was raining all day, the hotel provides large umbrellas for sightseeing and this really was a great service at no cost! The rooms are a bit small but quite adequate. The TV is actually an Apple computer and was really cool in concept. I had a Club Balcony room on the 9th floor (room 927) and it provided stunning views of the city. The hotel is adjacent to the Centraal station and it is only a 10-15 minute train ride to the Schiphol Airport. A side note... If you like French Fries, this hotel has the best I have evr eaten in my life!!! Yum!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globalflyereal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your very, very nice review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station. We are very grateful for that.

I will pass on your nice judgment towards my entire team.
Your time invested in us and your stay are reasons to love our work even more.
You have made a whole team extremely happy today, very much appreciated.

We truly hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

styaed for a weekend in may 2012. the hotel was packed but the service was excellent. all staff were very helpful and the location is perfect. overall an excellent experience

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benjsda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at DoubleTree by hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station.

I have shared your kind words with the entire team and you have made a whole team extremely happy today, which is very much appreciated.

I truly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Hilton Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#29 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing