We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great find in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Lots of expensive, not very nice hotels in Amsterdam; this makes a great change. Modern, great location, reasonable prices, an oasis of calm if you want to escape. Loved it.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,121
    2,334
    652
    180
    114
See reviews for
771
2,831
305
1,190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,474)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Good, clean, everything worked.

Very good location, which means that you can always get a tram back to the hotel from wherever you are in the City.

We asked for a room away from the railway; however, this meant that we did not get a view.

The entrance to the hotel is concealed which is a little irritating.

We asked the staff to change the sheets (by placing the card on our pillow), only to find that the card had been replaced. We had to call to ask them to come again, which to their credit they did immediately.

The price was quite steep, however this is more of a reflection of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LegallyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here in May, 2012. I was a bit concerned on check in because it seemed that a standard room had only an interior courtyard view and the better rooms were about 50 Euros more. But once we got into the room, everything was fine. It's not the most amazing hotel I've every stayed at, but it was quiet, clean, comfortable and had good size rooms and bathrooms. We had a nice bed, and I really liked the mac computer with internet in the room. It also served as the TV, and some might find it a little small, but I was able to stream my netflix on it, so we were pretty happy to be able to watch movies at any time of day we liked. The wifi did not work in our room, so the computer was great. There is a wonderful rooftop restaurant lounge with wonderful views and outdoor space. I suggest you visit the rooftop even if you don't stay here. The hotel is near everything, but not right on top of it. It was nice to get out of the hustle and bustle to the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back with an interior courtyard view. It was very quiet, but had no real view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us on Tripadvisor after your recent stay at the DoubleTree by hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station.

It was my pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the comfortable room you were allocated in turned out good. I am happy to see that the iMac computer and TV was such a convenience to you.
However with regards to the wireless internet connection, Free Wifi is available throughout the whole hotel with a 30mb broadband, also in all our hotel rooms. Therefore I very much regret the fact that the WiFi in your room was very weak during your stay. We will make sure to reset the system in order to improve the connection.

Great to hear you were able to bring a visit to our SkyLounge on the 11th floor and enjoy the wonderful views.
I truly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Caroline Receveur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

This hotel is the reason my boyfriend and I didn't want to leave Amsterdam. Coming from an older property in London, a small/charming boutique in Paris, this spacious, modern, clean and AIR CONDITIONED hotel was well welcomed. We were visiting for the first time on a warm, gorgeous day so it was nice to stay here and go to the lounge and see Amsterdam in all it's glory.

The room is spacious, clean and the the Mac in the room was nice for the internet and TV. We couldn't get wi-fi on our iPad's but we didn't even try asking about it. The beds and pillows were comfortable and bathroom spacious and clean. The water pressure was amazing which is nice after scrubbing all the Amsterdam grime off of us. We did the tourist loop- Van Gogh museum, Red Light district, Heineken factory... so it was nice to "leave" that area and go back to our hotel which felt worlds away from all of that.

The Skytop lounge is a must and we were able to grab drinks while the sunset over the city. Although the drinks were ridiculously expensive (btw, everything in Amsterdam is expensive) the snacks they give you were out of this world- preserved strawberries, spicy mixed nuts and cheese cookies. We were here on a Friday night and there was a DJ set up and everything. Really fun place.

I like staying at a hotel where we can do at least one other thing- we were able to grab a drink, eat dinner and my boyfriend was able to get a workout in. It was perfect for us and I recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Even though the train passed by our "side" of the hotel, you could barely hear it- don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky_lb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Receveur, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing such a great and positive review with us on TripAdviso after your recent stay at the DoubleTree by hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station.

I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and the comfortbale room you were in. I am glad you were able to bring a visit to our SkyLounge on the 11th floor and grab a drink while enjoyeing the beautifull views together with some music from our DJ.

With regards to the internet in your room, Free Wifi is available throughout the whole hotel with a 30mb broadband, also in all our hotel rooms. Therefore I very much regret the fact that the WiFi in your room was very weak during your stay. we will make sure to reset the system to prevent this from happening agian in teh future.

On behalf of the entire team, thank you very much again for sharing your experiences and recommendations with us. We are truly looking forward welcoming you back again at the DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station.

With kind regards,
Caroline Receveur
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is smack in the middle of Amsterdam. Located next to the central train station makes it easy to catch a train or tram. Easy to find if you get lost since most trams or signs go to the central station.
This is a newer hotel - I suspect it new to the Hilton chain since it was named something else prior to the Doubletree. Had a junior suite with a king bed City view. It was excellent and quiet since it was not on the side of the train tracks which could be noisy according to many.
They use Mac computers as the TV - which is great since if you need internet access or a computer with a DVD and/or a SD card reader it is all there!
Everything in the room was functional and clean - made you feel comfortable. Ate in the morning at the buffet - food was good but if it was not included in the room there is no way I would shell-out E25 for that.
The staff were always very, very helpful. I travel a lot for business and this was on of the best as for staff service including the restaurants.
You are smack in the middle of all of the action in Amsterdam - either walk to location and sights or short tram rides.
Now for the only bad part. If you are driving a car - they have an excellent parking facility right under the hotel - but they have NO arrangement with the parking company. So one you pay an outrageous amount to park per day (up to 50 Euros - not kidding!) and two you cannot pay it to the hotel room! That's not all, the payment machines will NOT accept payment from US/Canada credit cards that do not have chips. Huh?

Room Tip: Get a room facing the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel is located very close to the Centraal station as mentioned by other reviewers. It is also within walking distance of the Dam Square and all the touristy places and the location is priceless. We were checked in quickly enough and presented with the customary warm cookie. Our room overlooked the city as requested and had a decent view as well. However the bed was small and not very comfortable. The biggest disappointment for me though was the bathroom. It was tiny with barely enough space to stand and take a shower. The towels were also thin and tired looking. And in spite of not facing the train station, I could hear the trains at night as I am a light sleeper. On the whole it was okay but I wouldn't classify this as a luxury hotel at all. On the next day we came back at 6 pm and the room still wasn't made. The housekeeping lady was in our room and when I asked her how come the room isn't made, she said she had to service so many rooms since the hotel is so full. I was left wondering if we'd come any earlier, the room would have been not made and would have left a really bad impression. The positives were free internet and complimentary breakfast. The service was a mixed bag. Some of the front office staff was very good while some were rude and unhelpful. I don't think I'd want to stay here again if I came back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellator10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

I chose this because of its proximity to the station. I read the other reviews suggesting to get a room overlooking the canal. First night they gave it to me for free. When I checked back in 2 days later they said I had to pay 30 euros for the upgrade that would include the mini bar. I gave in as the rooms facing the city were just bad. What I found impressive were the Mac TVs and the Skytop lounge. The lounge was very hip and gave good city views. I'd recommend this only if you need to be close to the trains and if you can get a room with a view. If you're looking for a bit more character you're better off somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krityur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#40 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing