We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Modern Hotel In A Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #55 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel In A Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night in January in a Club Room with balcony. The hotel is handy for Central Station where you can get a tram, red light district is about 10 mins walk and 5 mins to Nieuwmarket.

Our room had a city view and we were on a high floor with excellent views. Our balcony was much bigger than we expected and it would defintely worth it in the Summer months. One thing though was that the room next door had a table and chairs on the balcony but we didnt have anything so we couldnt sit out.

The room itself was quite small, it was fine for one night. The bathroom was really nice, a good size and soft fluffy towels.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel-Guru-Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,740
    2,073
    577
    158
    104
See reviews for
677
2,499
270
1,032
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,375)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a weekend break and was very impressed. The hotel is lovely, very stylish with fantastic views (we had a room on the 7th floor). The location is ideal - only minutes from town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irish_Tourist_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed here for a 3 night break in feb 12, great hotel staff very friendly and willing to do anything for you. room comfortable not massive but ok apple imac computer/tv very handy. The best part of the hotel is the skylounge on the top floor amazing views of the city and area, drinks pricey but you do get some lovely nibbles and the view is worth it alone. Being so close to central station means you can be in your hotel within about 30 mins of landing at the airport and it only costs 3.80 euros each, taxi is about 50 euro. Great area for getting round amsterdam. We where on a room only basis and the breakfast price is horrendous at 24 euros each which would make it nearly £130 for breakfast for the 2 off us for 3 mornings, so we gave that a miss, plenty of cafes and restaurants accross the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurworth-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stopped here for 3 nights over valentines and absolutely loved it. We contacted the hotel before arriving and asked if we could have a city facing room which we got without a problem. The room we got given was huge and faced out onto the city with a lovely view. We arrived late so they had ran out of cookies but we were given vouchers to collect them the next day and they were worth the wait. If booking I strongly advise to get the breakfast included in your stay as it was unbelievable. Never have I experienced such a choice of items, they had everything from fry ups items to fruit, cereal to toast and a selection of cold meats an cheeses. The pancakes and french toast with maple syrup were our favourite. The hotel also has a sky lounge on the top floor which is a very smart bar with excellent service as with the rest of the hotel and the view is amazing. it is definitely worth a look up to check out the view and have a quick cocktail. If you are looking for a cheaper drink however there are 2 bars downstairs which are slightly more competitively priced. Overall we found the stay excellent and would definitely use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Email in advance to request a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel is in a great location right near the train station so you don't have to drag your bags very far. The rooms are an OK size with nice décor and tea and coffee making facilities. When we arrived we were given a hot, giant cookie which I thought was a nice touch. We stayed on a room only basis. I would not recommend getting the breakfast as it is very overpriced at 25 euro for a 'full English' and you can get cheap breakfasts at various different cafes nearby. The view from our window was a bit rubbish, we could only see another part of the hotel. This wasn't really a problem as we only used the hotel as a base and were out and about for most of the time. Overall though we were impressed by the hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I am not going to go waffle on, this hotel is an example of what you would expect from the Hilton.

The staff were excellent the location was perfect and my room was superb, even complete with an imac 21.5

The roof top bar had an amazing view and although a little pricey (again what you would expect from the Hilton) it was worth it to sit and have a beer with that scenery!!!!

Overall a great place to stay and explore Amsterdam from with easy access to the transport system and a warm friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Try and get a city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Located right beside central station, it is so handy for transport to and from the airport and also for exploring the city. Staff were very friendly and we got delicious free cookies on arrival. The room itself was an ample size and clean. Each room has a window from floor to ceiling. Our room faced the railway tracks but this didn't bother us. The bed was comfy too! The sky bar is something else, the best location for a drink in amsterdam, it is pricey but worth it! I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandCat87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,299 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,338 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing