We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mint Hotel.... renamed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #58 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mint Hotel.... renamed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

This hotel was renamed yesterday, December 12th 2011. It has an ideal location just a few minutes walk from Amsterdam Central Station so no need to worry about transport through the City. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms had toiletries, hair drier and Apple computer on which there were TV channels. The room safe was free. The breakfast choice was huge with tea and coffee served at the table and the most non-greasy English Breakfast I have ever experienced. I have read elsewhere that hot food would cost extra but this was not the case. The Skylounge on the top floor had superb views over the city and a very warm welcome form Manager Kim. A bottle of wine will set you back 37 euro, a Martini or cocktail 16 euro and a coffee over 6 euro. If you don't fancy forking out then you should still go to see the view. Chocolates and biscuits come with the coffee and we were given excellent snacks whilst up there.
If you have a query you need a reply to promply it's best to telephone rather than E Mail. My reply arrived 2 days later - too late.
Highlights - For me it was the Brown Cafe's, (Not to be confused with the Coffee Shops), some of which date back to the 1600's. Take a look at http://dutchfood.about.com/od/reviewsrecommendations/ss/AmsterdamGuide_4.htm Others of note were Pilsner Club,de Hoppe, de Peiper, Some have over 600 beers and their own distillery. The tradition is to overfill your licquer glass until it forms a domiscus so that you have to lean over to take the first sip before picking it up.
Tips - If you are returning to the airport by train, call into the information booth at the station the day before to check. We came home on a Sunday and there was work being carried out on the line which meant changing five minutes out of the Central Station. Without being forewarned it would have been a panic.
Schipol Airport is massive and the Easyjet gate was a very long walk. At the entrance to Gate H you are asked to stay in the lounge until all details appear on the screen. We did this, proceeding as some as the info appeared and were one of the lsat on the plane. It seems that those in the know ignored this and proceeded further toward the gate to more screens. Apparently, 6 missed the flight.
We had a package so didn't pay the room price advertised.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank THot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,183
    2,375
    670
    184
    119
See reviews for
797
2,882
311
1,214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We've just returned from a three night break at the Mint/Doubletree by Hilton, or whatever the name is now. Having read the previous reviews, prior to going, I wasn't overly concerned, but feel, in hindsight, that I should have. The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, but, if you are anyway a light sleeper, it is imperative that you request a quiet room. We were in room 905 and were treated to the intimacies of the Dutch train system. Having lost my first night's sleep, the staff did find me a quiet room very quickly, but I was so exhausted that it really detracted from my visit. When I mentioned this to a member of staff, they smiled and said 'but we moved you, which was good', intimating that I was happy to have lost only one night of my short break.
The hotel is located in a good position for access to transport and to most, if not all of the main sights. Easily accessible from Centraal Station (literally turn left outside the front door).
Coffee is good in the lobby bar, but it depends on who serves it as to what type of coffee you get. It is lovely to take drinks in the Sky Lounge and the food is of a reasonable, but not fantastic standard.
I cannot comment on the breakfast, as having arrived to find we'd been booked on a room only basis, they wanted 147 Euro for 3 breakfasts, while others had their breakfast included in a cheaper rate, while we'd both booked through Qwerty Travel's 'deal' - we priced it later and could have saved almost £200 and had breakfast included!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room facing the city, or a quiet room to avoid the railway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

we stayed at the mint for 3 nights to celebrate my wife's birthday.
as others have said less than 5 minutes walk from central station so no need for taxis. on arrival we were upgraded to a club room free of charge which had great views over the city. the bar and restaurant very welcoming but rather expensive, however a drink in the sky lounge is a must just for the view, its worth a few euros!!
great breakfast, plenty of choice but can get rather busy, had to wait 15 mins on the Sunday to get seated,
one word of caution, the other couple we travelled with didn't get the upgrade and asked to move as the trains woke them at 5am!!! So insist on a front or courtyard view room. the staff did move them without any fuss so all worked out well.
As we were there, the hotel was in the process of being renamed "Double tree by Hilton"
All in all, would definitely go back to this hotel

Room Tip: get a city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days. The hotel is new and very modern with I-macs in every room, great for sightseeing tips and checking in online before you leave the hotel. It is located a few steps from the central station, so great if arriving by plane,just step on the frequent trains at the airport and then walk along the road to the hotel. It does back onto the train line but we didn't have a room facing this way so, can't comment on the train noise.
Unlike a lot of european hotels, there was tea and coffee making facitities in the room, although we didn't find it until the last day as it is put away in a drawer in the desk, not where I keep my kettle.
If you use this hotel you must take the lift to the top floor and visit the sky lounge, perfect for a romantic sunset drink, although we thought the drinks were a bit pricy ( 16 euros for a small glass of wine and a vodka and juice), that is amsterdam though, pricey!!
The hotel will keep your baggage, at no costs, on the last day of your stay so you can make the most of your time in the city. I would recomend this hotel, as the staff were excellent, the rooms very comfortable and clean, and it was a great location.
If there was a negative to say, it would only be that it is not the cheapest place to stay, but if you are looking for a smart hotel in a good part of amsterdam, then this could be the one for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginganinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Returned yesterday from a very pleasant stay at The Mint Hotel ,Amsterdam.
We don't normally choose hotels of this size but got a special offer from Querty Travel, via Travelzoo. Staff delightful on the whole, young and enthusiastic. Asked for a quiet room as a bad sleeper, faced the courtyard which is unexciting but unimportant at this time of year. Bed standard european hard slab but they placed a duvet under the sheet to soften it a bit with no argument. Bedroom not well designed for this shape as there are varying shape rooms to fit into the actual building arrangement but bathroom good.
Meals still need some sorting but really good quality breakfasts, probably best orange juice we have had in a hotel. Any problems were treated seriously and dealt with quickly.
Unfortunately, by the time this is read, the hotel will be a Doubletree by Hilton as the group have been bought out. The English television channels were being changed to US ones as we left!! Let's hope the staff do not get the Hilton lack of care attitude, it would be a great shame.

Room Tip: Avoid the railway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cop27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
167 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Pluses - a good upmarket style chain hotel, clean and comfortable, with Apple computers and free wifi in every room, a sky top bar and plesant restaurant with very good buffet breakfast. Everything clean and cool. Location right next to the main train station, walking distance of canals and many other things. One side overlooks the city the other side the railway. It's in an ex industrial area being redeveloped into somewhere chic.

Minuses - our big mistake was coming by car. You just can't find this place, it's in a maze of confusing roads largely due to construction work. The satnav is no use either. Parking is also very expensive and inconvenient. Also, the front desk was terrribly slow to check in and we felt there was a real shortage of well trained staff who could use their initiative or had a real idea of offering service. And the noise from the trains was terrible, I'd guess even worse in the summer when the windows are open. There seemed a shortage of local coffee shops and places to grab a snack, but the hotel did have quite a reasonable coffee shop.

I liked it but on returning to Amsterdam I might try and find a more cosy and personal hotel within the older part of the city, that's just a matter of personal taste and an aversion to being kept awake by the noise of rattling trains.

Room Tip: Ask to face AWAY from the trains!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reflectorgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Hotel veramente moderno, nuovo e vista splendida sulla cità!
When you arrive they are very warm and professional ( everyday ). I was in contact one week before and they where extremly kind and fast on answer my questions and trying to help me. I get a room with city view, it was amazing! I stayed in the room 745, they give you a pass card you must insert in the lift to go to your floor. In the room you will find a frigo a bar and the mac pc/tv. You will hear the train but not noisy! If i'll be back to this amazing city i'll stay at Mint Hotel for sure. You can get the breakfast, dinner ecc in your room, they will sort out your room every day and they will not get in your room if you put outside the door "please do not disturbe". The Hotel is the cleanest i ever stayed and Any your request will be done if possible. They speak many languages, but in my opinion if you travel you must speak a little English, so i don't understand why italians get angry when staff doesn't speak italian, when i go to italy it's quite normal find people that don't speak English, no one speak Netherlands no one speaks portughese so why negative votes just for the languages? Anyway, if you're going to Amsterdam you'll get a good stay here at Hotel Mint.
Enjoy this amazin city and Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Issues_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing