We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“polite staff and comfortable modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Ranked #60 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
wirral
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“polite staff and comfortable modern hotel”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

good quality hotel
polite staff
took forever to check ou though!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pendyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,291
    2,447
    694
    192
    127
See reviews for
837
2,970
327
1,257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,537)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I just returned from 4 days at the mint hotel, and let me just say, it's defiantly the best hotel I've ever been to in Europe .

We arrived to the hotel in10am, the receptionist was very helpful, and when I asked her in she can give me a room with a window to the city, and not to the central station ( after reading about the noise in the rooms that turnes to the station here), she told me that if she'll have a room with a view to the city, she'll give it to me.

We left the hotel, and came back on 3 pm, to receive our room.

The rooms are spotless, it's a new hotel, so everything is still very clean.

In the room you have a computer (iMac ) that also turns into tv.

You also get bath row, and slippers, the bed Is the comfiest I have ever slept in, the shower is crazy!!! You can choose the exact temperature you want the water to be, and just turn it on.

You also have safe in the room, a mini bar, a coffee and tea kit ( 5-7different kind of tea, an instant coffee, some milk, sweeteners and sugar.

Also in the room is an iron and an iron bad, and a little office desk.

The breakfast was more that enough for us: you have a tray with 3 kind of cheeses, 5 kinds of cold
Meets such as pastrami, salami, prechuto, bacon etc', you have 2 kinds of sandwiches( one croissant with tomato, butter and cheese, and one with tomato and lax), you have 4 kind of breads, some crackers, brioche, muffins, fruit salad, fruists, plane yogurt, muzzli, dried fruits, cereals, milk, fresh squeezed orane juice grapefruit and apple juice, tomato juice, jams, honey, basically you don't need more,

Location: when you cross to other side of the road, you get to the bars, coffee shops,restaurants, everything is there.

Dam square is 3 minutes walking, you don't have to take any tram, just walk to the other side.

One tip!!! The central station is right next to the hotel, you have resturnts,burger king, Starbucks, supermarkets, everything you need there, the city is very expensive, and there you can fibe cheeper things.

Overall, the best hotel you can find in Amsterdam city center

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gali f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The magic words "free WiFi" greeted us at the front door and then, surprise surprise, an iMac in every room! Wow. The iMac's make great TV's and of course with the keyboard and mouse, an easy way to work on line. Beyond the technology, the location on the harbour beside the train station is really convenient. The hotel room has everything you need; kettle for and tea and coffee, hair dryer, nice bathroom, comfy beds, desk and chair and a safe. It's a new place and I hope the hotel keeps things neat and clean as it could look shabby easily with basic white walls. As much as I love the old hotels in Amsterdam, you can't beat the new Mint for convenience. This is a gem. Make sure you go up to the rooftop restaurant and bar for a splendid view.

Room Tip: Every room looks to be the same and the view is great on all sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadnerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintAmsterdam, Sales & Marketing at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much and everything the hotel has to offer. I am glad you liked the convenience of an iMac in your room with free wifi!

Thank you for your kind words and for reccomending us. We truly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future at Mint Hotel Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,
Daphne Diender
Sales & Marketing
Mint Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The hotel was situated in a very good location. Was a few minutes walk from the station and the city centre.

The hotel was. Very clean and the rooms very tidy. Really loved the apple mac in the room. Although hated the two single beds pushed together.

The sky lounge was Superb with a wonderful view and great atmosphere. Although the drunk prices were very expensive.

We ate out every night as the food was very expensive to.

I would definatly recommend this hotel for all couples.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintAmsterdam, Sales & Marketing at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us on tripadvisor.

I am very happy to hear that your have enjoyed your stay with us and that you like the convenience of the location of the hotel and the iMac in your room!
I am sorry you didn´t like the zippable twin beds. I would advise you to book a queen/king bed for your next stay so you can also enjoy the comfortable beds!

Thank you again for your kind words and for recommending us to others. We truly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Mint Hotel Amsterdam in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Daphne Diender
Sales & Marketing
Mint Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Excellent 4 * central hotel. Very new hotel with a great location. Rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable and the free internet in the room was very useful for deciding where to go etc. and doing last minute research. Bike hire was available at the hotel and you could buy all your tour tickets at reception. The Sky Lounge gives an amazing view over the city.

Room Tip: We booked through Travel Republic for half the price of all other websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintAmsterdam, Sales & Marketing at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Ms Reena,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind words with us.

I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and everything the hotel and the city of Amsterdam has to offer! On a bike is the best way to discover Amsterdam.

Thank you again and we hope we have the please of welcoming you back again at Mint Hotel Amsterdam.

Kindest regards,
Daphne Diender
Sales & Marketing
Mint Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Location, location! Mint certainly hits the spot with its prime location; a short walk from Central Station. Customer Service has been given a high priority here as all the staff are incredibly friendly,welcoming and helpful. Long may this continue as it does make a difference. Given that space can be at a premium in Amsterdam hotel rooms, bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and well appointed. Position the shower carefully as this area can get quite wet. Toiletries are of a generous size. The Sky Lounge is amazing, with fantastic views of the cityscape and a very lively vibe! It's a good evening venue although wine, in keeping with the rest of the city, is expensive. Food in the restauraunt, at dinner, is well presented, imaginative but minimal in size; the bread is excellent. However, eating out in Europe is now more expensive. Our wake up alarm call did not happen but perhaps we were just unlucky on this occasion. Would definitely return and hope that the high standards of service are just as good.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have the better views. Keep the windows closed at night to avoid noise and rely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triciatravel930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

on arrival to this hotel, we were met by very polite, courteous & well dressed staff who all spoke excellent english. while waiting to check in, we were offered iced water but the wait for check in was no time at all. the rooms are spacious, very clean and modern, equipped with robes, etc. the staff were helpful at all times, providing information on excursions and sight seeing. on check out, again there were no delays even though the queue was quite long and as we were not flying until that evening, we were able to leave our bags in the hotel while we went out for the day, the staff also arranged a taxi to bring us to the airport. the only negative, & its a small complaint, would be the price of the food in the restaurant compared to what can be found locally but then you are paying for the service, atmosphere, etc.

Room Tip: if you like a lie-in, put out the do not disturb sign as housekeeping start about 7.30am
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MintAmsterdam, Sales & Marketing at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind words with us on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much and everything the hotel has to offer! The comfort of our guests is very important and i am glad you liked your spacious and clean room and that our staff has been helpfull and able to assist you where possible in a friendly and polite way.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at Mint Hotel Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Daphne Diender
Sales & Marketing
Mint Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,813 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#26 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,145 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Address: Oosterdoksstraat 4 | 1011 DK, 1011 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station 4*
Number of rooms: 557
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right next to Central Station and within the historic city centre, is the impressive, newly-built DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station. The rooms and suites at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station feature a variety of facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible such as individually controlled air conditioning, windows that open, and an iMac system which functions both as a TV and computer. High-speed internet access and Wi-Fi is also available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing