We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A lovely museum, but the Amsterdam ship is the main event.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Het Scheepvaartmuseum| The National Maritime Museum

Het Scheepvaartmuseum| The National Maritime Museum
Kattenburgerplein 1, 1018 KK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Netherlands Maritime Museum) (Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied))
31 20 52 32 222
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$29*
and up
Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Maritime Museum
Ranked #27 of 447 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Het Scheepvaartmuseum, The National Maritime Museum, tells inspiring stories of how the sea is in our genes. Come and enjoy the stimulating, interactive exhibitions and the stunning 17th century building.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
1,922 reviews
1,612 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,550 helpful votes
“A lovely museum, but the Amsterdam ship is the main event.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Yes, I know, it's a replica of the original Amsterdam ship, but it was still so much fun visiting it.
The rest of the museum, while being truly lovely, pales in comparison with the ship.
The museum would appeal both to adults and youngsters, and roughly 2 hours ought to do the trick for you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    866
    509
    165
    55
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Magnificient building....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

.... with a very large interior court in the center of several exhibits on various subjects linked to the sea: ships, ship decorations, globes, sextants, clocks, paintings, cacao trade, Amsterdam port, etc. Do not miss the replica of VOC ship the Amsterdam which you can visit and imagine you are a conqueror of the sea!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hadrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A-ha mateys!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went to the museum principally to get on board The Amsterdam ship, which was great fun! It is a replica rather than the original but no less interesting for that - lots of good information posted around the place. We went round the rest of the museum and can really recommend the section with all of the prow decorations, nautical instruments and photos - absolutely fascinating and really well presented with English and other languages. This was one of our favourite visits in Amsterdam.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fascinating and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Het Scheepvaartmuseum is one of the best museums I've ever visited. The artifacts are beautifully displayed. I especially enjoyed seeing antique maritime instruments up close and learning how they were used. The display about the slave trade was very poignant. There was so much to see, I could have spent an entire day in this museum. Exhibit signage is in both Dutch and English.

The replica of the ship was interesting and kid friendly. If there hadn't been so many children running around, I'd have stayed on the ship longer, but I did find it enjoyable for a while, despite the chaos.

There's a locker room in the basement of the building, so you don't need to carry your coat, handbag or packages throughout the museum. The entire building is handicap accessible.

The restaurant and gift shop are both excellent and reasonably priced. I did more shopping there than I did in the stores in the city! This museum was one of the highlights of my trip to Amsterdam, and I'd love to see it again sometime.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ValpoPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed seeing the history of VOC. Perhaps there could have been more about the new colonies that was established. Being a South African I am interested in the dutch part of our heritage.

The way the people of Netherland make their museums so interactive for children is very good. It keep them interested in their history.

Helpful?
Thank Optifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Scheepvaartmuseum| The National Maritime Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Het Scheepvaartmuseum| The National Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing