We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very interesting”

Het Scheepvaartmuseum| The National Maritime Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.60*
and up
Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Maritime Museum
Ranked #28 of 503 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Het Scheepvaartmuseum, The National Maritime Museum, tells inspiring stories of how the sea is in our genes. Come and enjoy the stimulating, interactive exhibitions and the stunning 17th century building.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

both for adults as well as childeren (ours are 11 and 15) very interesting. Self guided tour with headset will take you approximately 2 hours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RdB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,179
    677
    213
    67
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Set Sail”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our second visit to Amsterdam but our first to this Museum. It costs around 15 Euro to get in and the building is divided into four sides north,east,south and west, with a huge glass ceilinged courtyard in the middle. You can go out to the port area where there is a Square rigger sailing ship to go aboard with interactive cannons, hammocks and plenty to explore also a coal powered ice breaker nearby. The four buildings are on different levels and have plenty to see the voyages of the sea show was in Dutch only but you soon get the gist. We spent about two hours here if we took the kids we may have stopped longer as quite a bit is themed around school aged children. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit of this fine building.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
802 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Pretty Poor Excuse of a Museum”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Maybe if we had kids or understood Dutch, we might have enjoyed this museum. The 25 min "Voyages of the Sea" show was a total waste of time. The exhibits on navigational aides, globes, and old photos were well laid out exhibits, but it was a small part of museum. It was a grand old building and we wished there was something about it, but alas, there was not. Recommendation: Avoid it. It is not worth it even for free.

Helpful?
1 Thank drichrx
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geldrop, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surpising Scheepvaart museum”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Last on our list, but one of the best museums we visited during our stay in Amsterdam, especially for our 8 &11 year old kids. Multimedia experiences combined with classical exhibitions with an active part to keep kids (and their parents) actively involved. Highlight is of course the VOC ship. Also here, everything to tough and try. We really enjoyed this museum a lot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdW R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Aimed at kids”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Found this a bit disappointing, really aimed at kids, a lot of wasted space in the building, the replica galleon and the restaurant were the best parts of it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianeBowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Scheepvaartmuseum| The National Maritime Museum also viewed

 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Het Scheepvaartmuseum| The National Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing