We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent museum in a beautiful building” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Het Scheepvaartmuseum| The National Maritime Museum

Het Scheepvaartmuseum| The National Maritime Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.58*
and up
Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Maritime Museum
Ranked #28 of 483 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Het Scheepvaartmuseum, The National Maritime Museum, tells inspiring stories of how the sea is in our genes. Come and enjoy the stimulating, interactive exhibitions and the stunning 17th century building.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent museum in a beautiful building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Housed in the ex Navy arsenal, Amsterdam's martime museum is a gem. It concentrates, naturally enough, on the nation's two centuries as a dominant naval power. The museum features an outstanding collection of maritime art, globes both terrestrial and astral, model ships and naval equipment. Moored alongside is a replica of a Dutch East Indiaman, the Amsterdam. It's open to museum visitors and is well worth exploring.

The museum building is rectangular wth a large central, covered courtyard. It's a beautiful elegant building, well worth a vist in its own right.

To explore the museum, at least half a day is needed, but it would be easy and pleasrable to spend much more time here. There's plenty to see and admire.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LongReefHacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,124
    650
    201
    65
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Hello,
I spent my NYE in Amsterdam and have a complain about the place I´ve visited.I just wanted to let you know that the party and website organization of the SCHEEPVART MUSEUM or so called AQUATIC was not pleasant. On the website it was almost impossible to stay at one language to make the booking and at the party we noticed that there was no real option to sit down. As we talked to a manager the only thing he could say was that they were fully booked out and that we had have to reserved seats on the webpage. There was no option on the website to do that but he insisted shaprly that of course there was as he was the responsible for the website and knew how it was buildt up. Nevertheless he could not help us and it was no real pleasant party. The promised astonishing view of the fireworks at 12 trough the glass celing was disappointing. We only saw one or two lights flashing up and the rest was not possible to see. The countdown was not worthwile and the promised typical dutch food at 12 was not there! We only got a welcome drink and every 2hours we saw somebody running around with a plate with fingerfood.The points promised in the website were not accomplished and regarding that we spent 80 euros per person for this event it was really disappointing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ahoy there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful building with an amazing centre courtyard. The exhibits where interesting, with mix of traditional static images and information through to very modern interactive touch displays and videos. Lots of history and information on the maritime ways of the dutch and how they have evolved over time. well worth a visit for everyone, adults and children a like will love this place. Save some time to visit the "Amsterdam" outside of the museum, a full replica of the VOC ship that sank off Hastings, UK.

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Magnific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The museum reopened in Dec/2011. It is certainly the museum with more interactive and immersive technologies in the world. It's just amazing. You will see dozens of boats models and still can visit one anchored in background of the museum... Isn't it cool? The building patio is wonderful itself. If you like to know the history trough new and creative technologies go there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank A_Bergholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wait until they fill the museum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

First of all, if you want a bathroom, this place has many, almost more bathrooms than exhibits.

The building is huge, and unless you want to spend time waiting for the elevator, get some practice in on the stair-stepper before going. The building is nicely remodeled but still shows the old wooden beams and history. However, I hope they are going to put exhibits in all the empty rooms, as most of the rooms were empty. We walked all the way up to the top floor of one wing only to find a window on the side of the completely empty room that had a small sign with a couple of sentences describing the new roof they just put in.

The couple of exhibits they did have, while not providing much information, had a lot of nice interactive audio/visual features, and the room full of globes was very well done.

If you have kids, they will enjoy playing on the boat outside, but don't expect much history there either.

The price was 15 euro, and even though we bought tickets at a different location, we still had to wait in the long ticket purchase line at the museum to get our tickets changed to the wrist strap bands they use for entry.

If they fill all the rooms up with the same high quality that the currently filled rooms are (and hopefully expound some more on the descriptions/history in the exhibits), this will be a nice museum.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank euro_traveler_24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Scheepvaartmuseum| The National Maritime Museum also viewed

 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Het Scheepvaartmuseum| The National Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing