We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is forbidden not to touch!”

NEMO Science Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.91*
and up
Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional Canal Cruise
Ranked #36 of 503 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Expand your world at NEMO Science Museum. In the largest science museum of the Netherlands you will find proof that science and technology can be captivating for all ages. The remarkable building on top of the IJ-tunnel offers five floors of exciting hands-on activities. At NEMO you can experience the joy of science and technology, by blowing gigantic soap bubbles, watch an enormous chain reaction and experiment in a real laboratory. In a variety of exhibitions you can 'Take a journey through the mind' or learn that there is more than meets the eye when it comes to sustainable electricity and smart transportation at 'Smart Technology'. Enjoy a magnificent view over Amsterdam The creative mind behind NEMO, build in 1997, is Italian architect Renzo Piano. He had a clear vision for his design of the NEMO building, with its very own piazza 22 metres above water level. The spectacular roof terrace has a magnificent view over Amsterdam and the Eastern Docklands. You can access the roof terrace free of charge. The roof terrace and cafe in NEMO are the perfect places to sit back, relax and enjoy a drink.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It is forbidden not to touch!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The four of us (twenty somethings) went here to relax and have some fun and we did :) If you are a student don't forget to bring your student card - then you can get in for half the price (so you pay 6,5 euro), also international students. There is a lot to do, see and learn, even if you are an adult. There is also a demonstration-experiment about energy that is repeated several times a day which is cute and fun to watch. Well, of course, most of the visitors will be under 10 :P But that didn't stop us from having fun and experimenting too: there was a fun "factory" experience and lots of different computer-based games too. And there is a "teen floor" about teen problems (drugs, sex, and anxiety) which is also quite funny. I would suggest going here if you are staying in Amsterdam longer than 4-5 days and you are running out of places to visit. But if you have kids, Nemo should be on the top of your list! :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emelyanova M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,363
    968
    395
    141
    62
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited the Nemo Science Center with three adults and three kids ages 9 & 7. All of us had a wonderful time and the kids begged us to return a few days later - which we did. The exhibits are in both Dutch and English. There are different floors and each floor relates to a different age group. Adolescents could go to the top floor and learn about hormones while the youngest ones are on the bottom floor learning about gravity, weight, the solar system, etc. The entrance fee is quite steep but we bought a Museumjaarkaart (museum card) for Euro 50 (adults) and Euro 30 (kids), which allowed us free access to ANY museum in the NL for one year. It's an amazing deal and you'll easily cover the costs in three visits. It also saves you time as you don't have to wait in line to purchase tickets. We used our card at the Rijksmuseum, the Nemo science center (twice), the Scheepvaart museum (maritime), Anne Frank Museum and the Van Gogh Museum.

The roof of the Nemo has a cafeteria and seating. For the kids it is really fun because they get to play in the water, which was fantastic during the hot days when we were in Amsterdam. The kids played, we enjoyed the view and a coffee - everyone was happy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saskia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“FREE Sundeck is great - museum is average”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Compared to the science museum in London, the exhibits were average and at 13.50 Euros each, expensive - neither of my two children (aged 11 and 14) were particularly engaged and it felt like we had wasted our money.

However, the sundeck at the top of this fantastic piece of architecture provides a great way to enjoy a brilliant view over the city view and have a drink surrounded by the interesting water features. You can access this for free by walking up the stairway to the rear of the building - wish we had done this instead.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Butch_Petrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I expected so much more...”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a kids place, as they even say when you go in there. First floor - kids, second - teenagers and that's about it :) I've seen this kind of museums before and they were so much greater. Vienna (Science Museum) and Barcelona (Cosmo Caixa). This one is smaller, FULL of kids (or maybe it was a bad day for me to come, maybe it was a vacation or an organised trip, but all and all they were many and tiresome). You can barely come and play at anything, because there is so many people everywhere. I could've easily skipped it if i knew what i would find. Anyway, the view from the roof top is OK, not very high thou. Maybe it would have been more clear, i would have had more time to enjoy this place...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Would have preferred the Heineken Experience...”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My family and I were torn between NEMO and the Heineken Experience. We went to Nemo as we had an 8 year old. We were a bit disappointed. Compared to the Science Museum in London or the Science Center in Los Angeles, it wasn't that impressive, although parts of it were interesting. But, was it worth the €13.50/person (4 years old and up)? No. The Heineken Experience would have been a more one of a kind Amsterdam experience, whereas NEMO was just another science museum, and if you live in a city with a good science museum for kids, would be nothing new... However, do recommend the roof terrace, where you can get a great view of the city and is pleasant on nice, warm summer days. They had a large chess set and sone other things for younger children.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ubbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NEMO Science Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to NEMO Science Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing