We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fries I've ever tasted!”

Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx
Ranked #85 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Vleminckx the Sausmeester (sauce master) is located in Amsterdam since 1957. Vleminckx sells Belgium fries and is specialized in 25 types of sauces. For over 55 years the Sauce master stands for quality, sells home-made fries and that nowadays is unique. Many locals and tourist visit this spot in the city centre of Amsterdam. We are known for the many different sauces which can be chosen at the paper cornet Belgium fries.
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best fries I've ever tasted!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Delicious! We had medium size, it's a large portion! Hot and crispy, what can I say lots of Mayo, we were full for hours! Positively yummy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MMooNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    332
    93
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the hype is about”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Sure, nice frites, but their not spectacular. Sauce selection is vast. Recommend to eat in the pub over the road...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelthew0rld79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best fries in Amsterdam”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Best fries in Amsterdam. This is not a restaurant, just a place where you pick your fries and eat them. They taste wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nasuyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best fries ever”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Had the spicy mayo and the peanut sauce. Great recommendation by the server. Fries were cooked perfectly, as expected.

Helpful?
Thank mikey23man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your 5 stars review ''Beste fries ever''.
Nice to read that you enjoy the fries.
Enjoy your stay in Amsterdam and we are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

These fries are fresh, hot, delicious and not at all greasy. You can choose from about 20 different sauces.

There is nowhere to sit and always a line outside but that just demonstrates their popularity.

We'll definitely be back before the end of our visit to Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VAHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing