We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best takeaway fries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx

Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx
Ranked #60 of 3,323 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Vleminckx the Sausmeester (sauce master) is located in Amsterdam since 1957. Vleminckx sells Belgium fries and is specialized in 25 types of sauces. For over 55 years the Sauce master stands for quality, sells home-made fries and that nowadays is unique. Many locals and tourist visit this spot in the city centre of Amsterdam. We are known for the many different sauces which can be chosen at the paper cornet Belgium fries.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best takeaway fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Really tasty fries with about 30 or so sauces to choose from- just a shame there's no English translation or descriptions. Ideal hangover cure though!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pink789TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    250
    61
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“20 different souces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Came here with my girlfriend for a afternoon snack. They serve good belgian fries and offer more than 20 souces to choose from.
The fries were good and the price was reasonable. Lots of locals eat there as well.
However, wouldn't consider it a must-see in Amsterdam. Go there if you are looking for good fries with fun souces...
Oh, and the bar next door lets you eat the fries inside if you order a drink there.

Helpful?
Thank FoodFan37
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best chips ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

If it hadn't been for seeing reviews of this place on tripadvisor I would never have found it and even if I did I probably would have walked past it. It's a very unassuming 'hole-in-the-wall' chippy with the best crispy fluffy chips and dozens of sauces to choose from. They serve chips- small, medium or large, and soft drinks. Myself and hubby had 2 medium sizes with curry and mayo, and a diet coke, and it cost €9.20. Lunch for 2 :) we really enjoyed it- something about eating great chips out in the fresh air. Would highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LizR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just as I remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I worked in A'dam over 30 years ago, and these are just as I remember them. Go for the " Met satay and or mayo". The small pub opposite lets you take your fries in and enjoy a beer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RMcI1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Super tasty! I had a medium frites with Samauri sauce. It tasty like mayo with peppers/chilli, it has a real good kick! You must visit if you are around

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hrclarke01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your 5 stars ranking ``AMAZING``. Nice to read that you enjoy the fries with sumarai sauce. Enjoy your stay in Amsterdam.
We are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing