We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Roberto and Rundeepa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx

Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx
Ranked #60 of 3,328 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Vleminckx the Sausmeester (sauce master) is located in Amsterdam since 1957. Vleminckx sells Belgium fries and is specialized in 25 types of sauces. For over 55 years the Sauce master stands for quality, sells home-made fries and that nowadays is unique. Many locals and tourist visit this spot in the city centre of Amsterdam. We are known for the many different sauces which can be chosen at the paper cornet Belgium fries.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Roberto and Rundeepa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The boys loved shoving piping hot chips down their eager throats. Mayo messiness all over faces, looked like a mass sarco had occurred without oracles. Beautiful

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for the 5 stars ranking ``Roberto and Rundeepa´´. We are happy to read that you really enjoy the fries.

Hope to see you again next time.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    251
    61
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the Best Fries ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Always Long queue ....but worth waiting for it.
Plain, with Mayo, with Ketcup, whatever......all good.
Go for Large size, if you do not want to get back in the queue for more.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KNOMIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Nice to read your 5 stars review ´`one of the best fries ever´´. We have a lot of sauces for our customers.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best chips EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Ok, so they only sell chips. You'll be disappointed if you want a burger, hotdog, steak or anything else.

I guess that because they only sell chips, this is the reason their chips are the best you'll find anywhere.

Get a large portion (in the traditional Dutch paper cone), plaster on the mayonesse, take it with your little plastic fork to the National Monument at Dam Square, and enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stepbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

What a great 5 stars ranking ``best chips ever``. Thank you! We liked to read that you enjoy the fries with mayonaisse.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very satisfying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were feeling the pangs of hunger, and these frites totally hit the spot. They're everything you could want in a fry. There are lots of different sauce options, so I guess that leaves me no choice but to try them all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your 5 stars ranking ``very satisfying´´.
Hope you have a nice time in Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Samurai sauce baby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Frittes,chips,French fries,fries,whatever you call it,wherever you've eaten it,there is no chips in the world that taste like this.buy a large put a combo of spicy and mayo or samurai.get in early as queues are long all day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mojay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your 5 stars review ``samurai sauce baby``. We are very happy to read that no chips in the world taste like the chips of Vleminckx Fries.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing