We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic chips at a great price.”

Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx
Ranked #89 of 4,003 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Vleminckx the Sausmeester (sauce master) is located in Amsterdam since 1957. Vleminckx sells Belgium fries and is specialized in 25 types of sauces. For over 55 years the Sauce master stands for quality, sells home-made fries and that nowadays is unique. Many locals and tourist visit this spot in the city centre of Amsterdam. We are known for the many different sauces which can be chosen at the paper cornet Belgium fries.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Found this place out after reading reviews on here, and well worth the walk. Chips were amazing and crispy, fantastic tasting sauces, and for Amsterdam reasonably cheap for a lunchtime snack. Would definitely go back if in Amsterdam again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tlemon62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,252)
There are newer reviews for Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 494 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Well worth waiting in a queue for some divine fries. Ask them to go easy on the mayo if you don’t want your fries covered!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AshandLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JordyC_13, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

thanks for the positive feedback through this review. We experience it as great to hear that Vleminckx was good.

Hope to see you again soon.

Vleminckx Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

LOVED these frites! Went in search of this place due to trip advisor reviews and myself and my boyfriend weren't disappointed! Fresh, hot, tasty, with loads of mayo. yum yum yum, a great lunchtime snack!

1  Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JordyC_13, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

thanks for the positive feedback through this review. We experience it as great to hear that Vleminckx was good.

Hope to see you again soon.

Vleminckx Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to Amsterdam for several years and never forgot to stop for fries in the shop on the Damrak close to the Central Station. But only until last December. That's when i discovered this little joint. Their fries are second to none. Crispy, golden and just amazing. I will be back next time i am in Amsterdam

1  Thank PeteHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JordyC_13, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2015

Dear Guest,

thanks for the positive feedback through this review. We experience it as great to hear that Vleminckx was good.

Hope to see you again soon.

Vleminckx Fries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is really the best place in town to eat real fries. No, in the whole world. Everytime when I'm in Amsterdam the first thing I do is get a 'patatje speciaal' at Vleminckx. The staff is really friendly and the fries are just delicious. Every man, woman, child or whatever who comes to Amsterdam should really try this amazing fries!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amstersam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing