We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Wilde Zwijnen

Wilde Zwijnen
Ranked #175 of 3,907 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice place to have dinner with good atmosphere and excellent food. IT sin't cheap but also not very expensive.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martijn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    113
    23
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Local gem”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Recommended by local friends. Easy to reach by tram. This is a great restaurant situated in "east", open kitchen, industrial design: concrete floor, brick walls, numerous lamps, wooden tables. They select seasonal ingredients, so it is always fresh and creative, the menu offers good value for money: 30 euros pp for a 3 course meal. And the food is excellent. Presentation of the food is very nice and the staff is very friendly. They empty the table and fill the glasses fast and they do not push at all. The wine list is very nice and also not to expensive.

If you want to experience a very good not to expensive restaurant of the beaten tourist track, this is the place to go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had an excellent dinner at this restaurant! We had the Chef's 3-course menu which was absolutely delicious. It was one of the best meals I have ever had in Amsterdam. We had fish as a starters and meat as a main course. He has chocolate mouse as a dessert and I had a pannacota, both gorgeous. Service was really friendly and helpful, explaining with every course what was served. Very nice, would recommend going there and will surely visit once again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nudea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amstedam
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Industrial decor & seasonal food!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a great restaurant situated in "oost", open kitchen, industrial design: concrete floor, brick walls, numerous lamps, wooden tables... They select seasonal ingredients, so it is always fresh and creative, the menu offers good value: 30 euros pp for a 3 course meal, staff is very friendly and wine menu pretty good!
Since theyhave refurbished the place using a lot of raw materials (concrete, bricks..) the place is quite loud, it didn't bothered us but if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, romantic place it might be too noisy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank letiAmstedam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Another favorite in Amsterdam”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My local friends booked this place for Saturday dinner. It was full and people were cueing for available tables.

Friendly service and really good fresh food. Good selection of wines. I liked their modern-industrial deco approach.

The kitchen was flexible to take special orders from our table (a party of 4) - ingredients to avoid, they accepted our request to have 3 course menu for three, 1 a la carte for one. My seafood dishes were excellent: just right temperature to have full savoir, tasty source with twists of modern & classic. Their chocolate dessert was fantastic - deep sensation on your palet, we could not stop stealing scoops from our friend, who ordered the a la carte choco-dessert.

I was happy to see how modern Dutch cuisine could achieve a total package: tasty, sexy and stylish.

It will be my returning spot in Amsterdam.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marinka_ilmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilde Zwijnen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Wilde Zwijnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing