We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful theater, great VIP section” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuschinski Theater

Tuschinski Theater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amsterdam's most famous theater for cinema was built in 1921 as a "movie palace" in Art Deco style.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful theater, great VIP section”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We got the Loge Arrangement, which meant we basically had a semi-private room with a couch for us to sit on together and a server who brought us drinks and food (including in the price). The theater is gorgeous, there are so many small details inside and outside that made it such a great experience. The tickets are a bit expensive, but it was worth it, it was a great date. :-)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TalTalK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    127
    10
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful cinema, it's easy to get lost inside. Tickets for a movie was 10.5 euro which I found pretty steep but I guess some of it goes towards maintenance of the theater. If you have a few hours to spare or if it is a rainy day, I'd definitely recommend here

Helpful?
1 Thank wookie324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panevezys, Lithuania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably the most beautiful cinema in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Both the inside and the outside of the theater have so many decorative details and it makes the visit to the cinema feel as if you are having a fancy evening out. Definitely worth a glimpse (and a movie in the zaal 1 if you have time).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank E_latte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
673 reviews
442 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Most decorative cinema of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Tuschinski theatre is located near Rembrandtplein in the centre of Amsterdam. On the outside the building looks very attractive and this impression on the inside. We had the pleasure to enjoy a movie in Zaal 1. Before the movie starts you can have a look at the beautiful ceiling and other ornaments. The sound and image quality are excellent and the chairs are comfortable. I believe there are no imax and 3d equipment.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dgoedh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
803 reviews
619 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 655 helpful votes
“Incomparable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Cinemas by their nature can be somewhat bland and functional. But definitely not this one. Since reading about it we particularly wished to see the main decorative theatre. We arrived not knowing the programme. Imaging our pleasant surprise to find that ‘Sprinsteen and I’ was showing that evening in the main auditorium.

The façade is enchanting. This is a theme continuing in the lovely foyer and into the main theatre. The lighting and decorative artwork is superb.

The film was also enjoyable, an added bonus.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank permia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuschinski Theater also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tuschinski Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing