We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For Americans, consider it a mini-Target”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hema

Hema
Ranked #98 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There are more than twelve Hema department stores around Amsterdam that offer everything from soup to nuts.
San Francisco,CA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“For Americans, consider it a mini-Target”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've only visited the store off Dam Square, and the store on Kalvertsraat. Both are well stocked with the essentials, everything from underwear, umbrellas, and food items, to bicycles, office supplies, and socks. My absolute favorite thing about the stores are the snack bars, usually located near the front of the store, and the sit down restaurants towards the back or upstairs. They are great for a cheap eat. In fact, in the morning they offer a breakfast sandwhich, croissant, and coffe for 1.50 Euro! The snack bar offers a cheap sausage. Great if your on the go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank craig_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    59
    12
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
surabaya
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Bargain shops”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My friend in Eindhoven bought me a bargain train ticket from Hema. I found 2 Hema shops in Dam Square area. It just like Target or H&M. They sells clothing from the developing countries, so the price is cheap. They have a supermarket and food stall sells cheap food on certain time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sbysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Indoor yard sale, anyone?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This place is trashy and sells junk. I am by no means rich and appreciate a bargain as much as the next person but this place even SMELLS cheap. (You know that processed plastic smell?) We went twice. Once because we happened upon it and again after I read the rave reviews on here and wanted to give it another go to see what the fuss was about. If you're one of those people with an "I'd rather be shopping at Wal-Mart" bumper sticker then check it out. Otherwise, move on.

Helpful?
1 Thank AlysonBurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
249 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Imagine a cross between Ikea and Woolworths.........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Always visit a Hema when in Amsterdam. Good for toiletries and household goods and also sell food. Wish they had them in the UK. Prices are very reasonable.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzipoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“This is the Target of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

If you're a fan of Target in the US, this is the closest equivalent I've been able to find in Europe. They have a great variety of things to buy at reasonable prices. It's a great place to pick up missed items for your trip but also if you want to get some fun bike accessories, holiday decorations or stationary you can get it all here.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank hkteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hema also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing