We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice shoebox”
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dylan
Ranked #22 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a nice shoebox”
Reviewed March 22, 2010

It's a nice and trendy hotel, very well locate, but everything is small there.
The lobby is small, the gym room is exceptionnally small (3 people can fit only), and our room was small too.
InRoom breakfast was average.
Parking is a real problem.
I prefered the Pulitzer.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    131
    35
    25
    12
See reviews for
77
304
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

I spent a lovely weekend staying here. Our bedroom was bright, light and very comfortable. The bathroom was heavenly and the products great. The concierge were not great on tips of where to go shopping/eating but we found our own way as the hotel is well located. I would happily return here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Percyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

The Dylan was a wonderful experience. We stayed here for two nights over NYE.

ROOM: Our room was extremely spacious, as was the bathroom. Should note that we received an upgrade from the Deluxe Double to the Superior Canal View room. I specifically requested the Kimono ahead of time; recommend you look at the various room styles the Dylan offers and choose one in advance, since each is so vastly different. The room was fantastically designed - sliding doors between the bathroom and the rest of the room allowed you to have everything completely open. It was amazing to take a bath while looking outside at the houses lining the canals. Our room also had a cozy couch with plenty of great reading material on the side tables - design/travel books and magazines, amsterdam-specific, etc. Lots of attention to detail with superb little touches in general. The one thing the Dylan could improve in the rooms would be an update to the outdated CD Bose system. There was a jack for our iPod still though.

STAFF: Really made this hotel stand out. Especially considering that service in Holland leaves a lot to be desired. Whatever we requested was brought to the room within mintutes, with a smile (extra towels, ironing board, etc). We had a very charming bartender who kicked off our NYE in style - thanks, Pascal! Also special thanks to Joost.

RESTAURANT: Unfortunately the restaurant Vinkeles (MIchelin star) is being renovated through end of January '10 so didn't get to try. Bar & incredibly spacious lounge area with cozy fireplace were still open though. All room service we ordered was excellent - they do an especially fabulous breakfast.

LOCATION: The hotel is located right in the fashionable Nine Streets districts, my favorite area of Amsterdam. Lots of great little cafes, boutiques, restaurants. Recommend checking out Goodies for incredible Italian lunch/dinner, Cafe Nielsen for brunch, and Cafe Wolvenstraat for an afternoon drink with a great vibe (they also do great Thai dishes).

Book the Dylan - more than worth it!!

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank urban_n0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I agree with the previous review and probably wouldn't go back either. There was nothing really wrong with this hotel but it was not that special. It is just a nice boutique hotel, with friendly staff and very efficient concierge. I advise you do not book a room with canal view if you want a quiet night : the rooms do not have double glazed windows and there often is a lot of noice on the street (you can actually hear people talking !).
Small bathrooms. Limited buffet breakfast. Cozy lounge/bar area.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank veroniqueVDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

I've stayed at a lot of great hotels in Europe (Ritz, Four Seasons) and The Dylan really sticks out in my mind as being incredible. The staff is extremly nice. We had some noise in the courtyard late at night and my husband called the front desk. It was as if someone turned a switch to off and the loud guests were immediately brought inside. The restaurant is incredible. I don't typically like to eat dinner at the hotel I'm staying at but the food is well worth it at The Dylan. Overall, my husband and I really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

This hotel is amazing. Each room has its own little story to tell. The rooms are big, clean, and have great design. Our room was two levels, bathroom was on the second level and a huge bathtub, super comfortable and fits two people. The service was great, everyone at the hotel was super nice and friendly. They have free tickets to several museums in Amsterdam which is really beneficial to museum lovers (that way you don't have to stand in a huge 2 mile line at the museum). The restaurant is amazing!!! The food is so delicious and every plate is a presentation of something. Really great and super tasty food. Our friend wanted her lamb more well-done and the Chef of the restaurant personally brought her the plate back!!!!! The location of the hotel is perfect, you are close not only to the main attractions of the city but also to the train station. Hotel also offers great bicycles that you can rent for a day. It is a great way to see the city.

This hotel is perfect for your honeymoon but also for a business conference. It has super big conference room which is decorated in a very tasteful yet fashionable way.

This hotel is amazing and I will stay there every time I got to Amsterdam!!!!! Three thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viktoriyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

I wanted to write about the Dylan because I am not sure that it's worth the money and the hype. I am a seasoned traveler with pretty discriminating tastes in hotels and restaurants. There was nothing WRONG with the Dylan but there was nothing spectacular about it either. I don't know what the other hotels in Amsterdam are like as this was our first visit there but I was generally underwhelmed with the delux room that we paid for. The room was small and the bathroom was a steep staircase below that made me think twice about going to the bathroom (and I am in great shape). The cleaning staff was sloppy (the nightstand had streaks of dust) and the restaurant for breakfast had the smallest offering of breakfast choices that I had ever seen in a 5 star hotel. I also ordered scrambled eggs which came out like yellow cottage cheese and was inedible. My conclusion is that it's not worth the hype or the price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
708 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#17 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,147 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Property: The Dylan
Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing