We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Charming boutique hotel, an expensive treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dylan
Ranked #23 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel, an expensive treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

A very high quality boutique hotel with many different styles of rooms. Pricey but worth it if you're looking to treat yourself to excellent service and comfort. The restaurant serves phenomenal food and the staff are wonderfully helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments and for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor! We always appreciate it if our guests take the time and effort to give us feedback.

We love to read that you have experienced our food as phenomenal and our staff wonderfully helpful!

We are look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again!

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    110
    32
    24
    12
See reviews for
65
256
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

The room,the staff the vibe it was all perfect
They pay atensaion to the litel details and i love it..they have a great bar and resturant.the location is perfect!not near the turistic crowed but very much in the center of everything

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank petitclodet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that you and your partner have enjoyed your stay at The Dylan Amsterdam! On behalf of The Dylan Team, thank you so much for your positive comments, very inspiring for us!

We look very much forward to welcome you again and provide another perfect stay for you!

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I will never stay in another hotel when I go to Amsterdam. The location is great, the staff incredible and the hotel is just perfect. From the food to the rooms to the bar and lounge area to the courtyard I could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great review on Tripadvisor! We really appreciate it that you took the time and effort to compliment us on our location and staff.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at The Dylan Amsterdam and Please do let us know if we can be of any assistance!

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel. This is the only hotel I would stay at in Amsterdam. This was my second time staying at The Dylan and it just got better and better. The location, staff and rooms are second to none. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels all around the world and this is by far the best going around. A big thank you to all involved at The Dylan and I look forward to seeing you all again one day.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spoons01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing The Dylan Amsterdam again and for taking your time to share your experience! It is heartwarming to read your kind feedback, I will certainly share this with the rest of the Dylan Team!

We would be our pleasure to welcome you again! Please do let us know if we can be of any assistance for your next visit to Amsterdam.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at the Dylan last weekend and had a wonderful time. This classy and very elegant hotel beguiled us with its beautiful rooms, subtle and excellent service, wonderful food and extensive wine list. It is definitely for someone who is discerning and has elegant tastes. Their attention to detail and helpfulness is unsurpassed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pelagicprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review, thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor!

We are thrilled to read you have enjoyed our hotel rooms and our food and beverage facilities. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed in The Dylan in May. Excellent in every aspect, more than a hotel is just a treasure in the heart of the city. We have dinner in Occo: Professional service and both, food and champagne, were extremely satisfactory. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 832Carlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great review and for your kind words!
We are delighted to read that you experienced excellence in every aspect of our hotel and that you would highly recommend us.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at The Dylan Amsterdam!

René Bornman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Member of Small Luxury Hotel, you can't go wrong with Dylan. No one room shares similar design, which mine was unfortunately smallish. However, the bar, courtyard and the Michelin-stared restaurant are the highlights of this amazing place for me. Would be returning to stay again on my next visit to Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank popeyescoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words, we are excited to read that you experienced The Dylan Amsterdam as an amazing place and consider Bar Barbou, the Courtyard and Michelin awarded restaurant Vinkeles as our highlights.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Dylan!

René Bornman
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Property: The Dylan
Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing