We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveler rating
480
138
38
27
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
138
38
27
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelmichelin star restaurantnine streetsbeautiful hotelrestaurant staffcanal viewjunior suitelocation is excellentvan gogh museumdam squarevinkelesconciergeslhcitybrasseriefireplacelounge
Filter
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 697 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hard to fault the Dylan. Quiet, luxurious rooms in a historic setting but very close to all the action with great bars, restaurants and shops all near by. Excellent friendly professional service from the staff in a great setting. On a sunny day the terrace inside must be Amsterdam's best kept secret.

We took the hotel boat for a tour with dinner which was one of the best city trips I have ever done, all so convenient and without fuss. Will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddypadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our secluded garden and that you had a good experience having dinner on the saloon boat.

We are looking forward to welcoming you for your next stay.

René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I chose The Dylan based on other reviews and we weren't disappointed - the location is excellent - on one of the 3 historic canals and right next to the chic and interesting "9 Streets" shopping and restaurant area. Walking distance to the major museums. We had terrible weather for our weekend but the Dylan was very warm and cozy - both the room and the downstairs bar and restaurants. The great location meant we could stop by and warm up/get dry before heading out again to see something else.There was always a fire going in the lounge/bar area which was very welcome and the room temperature was great. Our room was very small but the bathroom was large and had a tub and good shower. Nice amenities. It had a "design" sink that was very cool looking (but slightly awkward for washing your face). Free good wifi, great plugs and very comfortable bed - just one upright chair though. Our room looked over the inner courtyard which was fine but if I went again i would request a room looking out over the canal. Very friendly staff. There are 2 restaurants - the first is just up off the lounge and is the more informal Occa and at the end down some stairs and in a separate room there is a Michelin starred more expensive restaurant. Breakfast was not included and seemed pretty expensive so we went over to the 9 streets area and had a great simple breakfast. There are hardly any breakfast places between the Dylan and the Rijksmuseum though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and facing onto the canal.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your comments on The Dylan Amsterdam and we are happy that you enjoyed the warm and cozy atmosphere.

Thank you for sharing this review and we are looking forward to welcoming you for a next visit and we can take into consideration your preference for a room with a Canal view.

René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed at the Dylan one night pre.cruise. We arrived early to find out we had been upgraded to a deluxe suite.
As we had some errands to run while in Amsterdam we arrived back at the hotel at approx 1400. We were given personal tour of the hotel and the huge suite.
The staff was very attentive and accommodating. These outstanding people truly knows the true meaning of excellent service. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
The suite had all the comforts and amenities fit a hotel of this standard. The bed was exquisite. The bathroom and shower very comfortable.
We enjoyed a wonderful meal in Occo. We do not eat much for breakfast so had a continental in the lounge.
I can not wait to return for a longer stay than just one night.
To those looking for a small unique gem of hotel with highly personalized service should give The Dylan a try.

Room Tip: The Klassbol style suite
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

It is lovely to read your review about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are very happy we could provide you with an excellent service and that you enjoyed a dinner in Brasserie OCCO.

Thank you for sharing this with us and we are looking forward to welcome you for your next stay.

René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Dylan has the best location on any hotel in Amsterdam. It is on a quiet canal in the interesting 9 streets area. Hotel is understated but very stylish and Cate Blanchett's identical twin sister is one of the receptionists.

The only thing the hotel misses is a swimming pool. We stayed a week, and the hotel was peaceful and enjoyable and calm and over time we were one over completely by this unobtrusive but responsive little haven.

We checked out the new Andaz and Hotel D' Europe briefly but the Dylan won hands down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFoggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your considerate words about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are delighted to read that you liked the location of our property and it is great that you enjoyed this week of your stay with us.

We are happy to welcoming you for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

You enter through an arch into a courtyard and then a maze of rooms and outside spaces. A relaxed hotel in modern minimalist style. The rooms are either large with a shower or smaller with a bath. One criticism - there was nowhere to hang anything longer than a short skirt/jacket in my room. Breakfast in the room was quite expensive, but excellent. Very welcoming, cosy public lounge and a great breakfast in what was the bakery for the convent, now beautifully restored and the Michelin restaurant at night

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sooots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your thoughts about The Dylan Amsterdam.
It is great that you liked our hotel lounge and the breakfast buffet in the restaurant.

We would like to thank you for sharing this review and we are looking forward to welcoming you for your next stay.

René Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews