We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dylan
Ranked #21 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Quiet, high up in the eaves, I stayed in Room 24, hearing the birds roosting and while I had not particularly wanted to stay in a Loft style room, I have to say that I had an excellent nights sleep. The bed, with soft linens, was extremely comfortable and produced one of my best first nights in a hotel. The bathroom was spacious, although some of the ingenuity in fitting in the shower means that you can find yourself entering it crabwise. It's a group of traditional Amsterdam buildings, which means stairs and it's a little off-putting in room 24 to open the door and face a staircase. But the different levels in the building are interesting and part of its charm. Miller Harris toiletries, good breakfast, charming, good-looking young Dutch staff. Only one gripe and that is to do with speed of luggage delivery. If you need something immediately, cart the case up to the room yourself. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Let the hotel know if you want a particular style of room before you arrive. I forgot and found mys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tixall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay in room 24 and that you appreciate the charm of our traditional Amsterdam buildings. Also we would like to thank you for sharing this with us.

We are looking forward as well to welcome you for your next stay.

On behalve of The Dylan Amsterdam,

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    114
    32
    24
    12
See reviews for
66
268
18
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

One of the best hotels we have stayed in. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make our 3 night stay perfect. The Dylan is within walking distance from major attractions, shopping and restaurants. Excellent on site restaurant with wonderful food. Perfect location. Can definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill_445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that your 3 night stay with us was perfect. It is also great that you have experienced a visit in our restaurant.
We would like to thank you for these considerate words about The Dylan and we are looking forward to welcome you for your next stay.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Top hotel very central along the Keizersgracht, but hidden. Its for people with class, trendy and money and only with all three of the above otherwise this is nit for you and move on to another big chain 5-star hotel. Super restaurant, lounge bar, closed inner yard.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NeonLeonNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are delighted to read your positive comments about our property.

We are happy to welcome you for your next visit.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

A fantastic hotel in the centre of the city. Very posh and chic, with freindly stuff. Nicely located, no more than 20 min walk to all the major attactions and restaurants. Also surrounded by nice shopping streets. The bar and court yard are all very pleasant. The restaurant is very good, and probably deserves more than its current one M-star. The delux duplex room is luxurious, comfortable, spacious, and tastfully decorated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lzhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are grateful for your considerate words about The Dylan Amsterdam.
It is great to read that you enjoyed an experience in restaurant Vinkeles and that you liked your stay in one of our Luxury Duplex rooms.

We are happy to welcome you for a next stay.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

My partner booked The Dylan Hotel in Amsterdam for my 50th birthday in March. The hotel was beautiful and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. As it was my birthday they upgraded our room and also gave me a bottle of wine and some gifts. The room was spotless, luxurious and very comfortable. It exceeded all our expectations on every level. Fantastic location too. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Can't think there would be a bad room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JO R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is really appreciated that you share your thoughts about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are delighted to read that you had such a pleasant stay together with the celebration of your 50th birthday with your partner.
We are more than happy to welcome you for your next stay.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Some months ago, a retired colleague who travels the world staying in luxury hotels recommended The Dylan to my wife and I. We decided to make a reservation,and have to say that we were not disappointed in any way.We had a few questions for the hotel during the few weeks leading up to our stay, and always got a rapid courteous reply. On arrival it is necessary to walk through a courtyard to get to the reception desk. The receptionist saw us coming, and rushed to open the door to offer a genuine welcome. After relieving us of our luggage we were show around the hotel.
The furnishings throughout the hotel are beautiful, the two restaurants are immaculate, cosy, and romantic. The Michelin star Vinkeles restaurant is superb (In an old bakery) with a fantastic wine menu.We also ate in Brasserie Occo, where the food was excellent, particularly the Club sandwich.Because it was our wedding anniversary and my wifes birthday we were fortunate enough to be given an upgrade to a beautiful bedroom with an incredible subtle lighting system.
There is a magnificent garden outside to eat, or just read the papers. We found the hotel spotless, and the staff genuinely helpful and friendly without being gushing. We stayed for 3 nights, and could not fault anything. We have been lucky to stay in some lovely hotels, big and small, but this one beats them all

Room Tip: You can see the various rooms choice on the website. Pick one that suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodforthought77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really enthusiastic to read your considerate thoughts about The Dylan.
It was our greatest pleasure to provide you with our service and we are glad you had a wonderful experience for your wedding anniversary and your wife's birthday. We would like to thank you for staying with us and for writing this review.

We will be more than happy to welcome you for a next stay

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful weekend visit with my wife. If you are staying in Amsterdam and looking for a hotel then you must try The Dylan! A unique, beautiful hotel with a relaxing ambience. The rooms are spotlessly clean with effective little touches like fresh flowers. The bed, like the rest of the room, was are gloriously comfortable. The staff are genuinely warm, friendly and always extremely helpful and informative. The food is excellent. The location is close to most points of interest and within easy reach by foot though far enough away to be peaceful and quiet. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read you had such a wonderful weekend with your wife at The Dylan.
We would like to thank you for your considerate words about our hotel rooms and our staff.

We are looking forward to be welcoming you upon your next arrival.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,583 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Property: The Dylan
Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing