We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dylan
Ranked #22 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I loved our stay at the Dylan. Everyone was very nice and helpful. I love boutique hotels that still offer luxury which the Dylan provides. There is a charm about the Dylan that you don't get at a chain hotel; therefore, we got a better feel for the city. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for luxury that isn't generic. This hotel has character and charm. We will stay here again when we return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kimono Style room which was very cute but they have three other options I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to read your considerate words about The Dylan.
Thank you for staying with us and we would be happy to welcome you for your next stay.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    115
    33
    24
    12
See reviews for
68
275
18
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay for business at the Dylan and I absolutely love this hotel. Beautiful, comfortable rooms, excellent location, and impeccable, personalized service. The breakfast is particularly nice, and the restaurant and bar are wonderful. I highly recommend the Dylan and will certainly return the next time I'm in Amsterdam.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MikeTribecaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very enthusiastic to read your considerate words about The Dylan. It is a real motivator for us and therefore we would like to thank you for this review.

We would be very pleased to welcome you for your next stay in Amsterdam.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was my fourth stay at The Dylan, always for business and always for one / max two nights. In terms of position, this hotel is slap bang on one of the most beautiful and scenic old canals and has outstanding views. It is close for the tourist attractions but not terribly close for business and the traffic can be tricky at times. But in terms of location it is an A. The hotel is made up of a number of joined up old houses which gives it an authentic old Dutch feel. At the same time, this is a very recently refurbished hotel, so everything is beautifully modern, in a muted dark palette. I particularly love the winter garden (heated outside bar/garden) and the cosy bar / public lounge rooms, which have genuinely retained the feel and layout of the original houses. Breakfast was good and the lunch bar / snack foods were good. Turning to the rooms - well, they are extremely individual. I have stayed in two of the duplex rooms and they are not for the faint hearted as the bathrooms in both were up very steep stairs. That said, once up there, they are spacious and extremely well appointed - far superior for example to the Pullitzer. The decor is funky but restrained - nice touches that retain the character. If I had a few minor moans, it would be that the rooms have a tendency to be a bit dark and also there are occasional peculiar wardrobe door configurations .... Service was good - lots of enthusiastic young Dutchmen - and not offhand as it can sometimes be. All in all, I would stay here for comfort, the character of the place and the location. I prefer it personally to the Europe, Amstel and Pullitzer. (I haven't tried the Andaz).

Room Tip: The rooms are very different. I have never had a noisy one, but I did once have one which seemed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing these thoughtful words about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the spacious bathsrooms and the decor of the Duplex rooms.
Our staff is always very pleased to serve you and you are very welcome to stay again.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

A gem of a place situated in the heart of Amsterdam, The Dylan is quite a beautiful - but not large - well appointed hotel. The common areas and restaurants were quite tastefully done. I stayed at The Dylan during the peak period - when the IBC conference was on - but the service was exceptional. The front desk staff, as well as the staff serving breakfast were pleasant. And would highly recommend the eggs benedict. Sinful, but a must try. My only qualm was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in my room, and being an early riser, that would have been a nice touch.

Will definitely stay at the Dylan the next time I'm in Amsterdam

Room Tip: If you're staying during conference season, avoid rooms that overlook the rear open air space as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aravindvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such thoughtful words about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are very pleased to read that you liked the areas of the hotel and we are happy we could provide you with pleasant service.

You are always welcome to stay for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Sublime mix of old and new. Great service. Very nice food. Nice common areas.

Room 9 - very stylish with nice gadget features. Room 24 (suite) - so nice I could live there.

Some of the stairways are narrow with some level changes that could take you by surprise but overall - a very nice stay and whilst not cheap, I thought it good value for the high quality and exclusive feel.

Room Tip: Room 9 was nice. Room 24 was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in room 9 and 24.

We would be happy to welcome you for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

These three days at The Dylan, in the romantic heart of Amsterdam, overacheived my expectations in all aspects. Forgotten the grand hotels you can find in any capital city with their somehow overdone efforts to shout "luxury". Here, everything, service, decoration, lightnings, temperature, food, silence seem so natural that you get no direct clue of their presence. Only the outcome makes you conscious of the thorough quality of this hotel : you simply feel perfect, night and day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph_S56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughtful words about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are delighted to read that your stay overachieved your expectations and we would be happy to welcome you for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have been coming to Amsterdam since 1978 and l can say my stay at the Dylan has been the most impressive and memorable. The attention to detail is exceptional the atmosphere enchanting and the Staff like family. I was entertaining Dutch friends at the Vinkeles which was just amazing. They loved it !!

Well Done !

Andy Lloyd

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharign your thoughts about The Dylan Amsterdam.
It is great to read that you had a pleasant stay and that you and your friends enjoyed dinner in restaurant Vinkeles.

We would be happy to welcome you for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Property: The Dylan
Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing