We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very pleasant stay at The Dylan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dylan
Ranked #21 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay at The Dylan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for a night at this hotel at the end of our vacation, before flying home the next day. It's in a really great location - close to the "9 streets" with boutique shopping and little cafes and restaurants, and close to the city center. Several outdoor cafes are really close but away from the busy areas. We had a charming room right under the rafters, with plenty of space for a rollaway for our daughter. Breakfast had a great selection of food. We'd love to stay here again next time we're spending time in or passing through Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingkdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    115
    33
    24
    12
See reviews for
67
270
18
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Beautiful boutique hotel in a quiet neighborhood. Rooms were beautifully styled with lush amenities. Great for a romantic getaway. They could use a little bit friendlier front desk/ concierge. Not the service we are used to at a 5 star property. The restaurant Vinkeles was amazing! Great food ,wines and service! Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosettaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Outstanding from start to finish. Staff were incredibly helpful, facilities are excellent.Our room was quietly serviced each day to a five star standard, breakfast time was always a pleasure with a wide choice and variety. The experience was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

we celebrated our 7 yr wedding anniversary at the Dylan and truly loved it.

The location is beautiful with a rich history, the staff is impeccable and high quality.
The Rooms and suites are beautifuly styled and really give a special touch to the whole experience!
After our welcome drink we had a sunday afternoon High wine,which was actually really nice.
We wanted to go for dinner at Vinkeles but learned that they are always closed on Sundays,that was actually a little disappointing.After a stroll down the canals we decided to try the Brasserie where the High Wine was served and although the choices are limited the food and service is really solid and definitely worth a try even if you do not stay at the Dylan.
overall a treat to Hidewayfor a few days in beautiful Amsterdam,highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten-JanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I am hardly the type of person to give anything high marks but this hotel deserves it.

(This is my first review of anything ever)

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in Jul/Aug 2010 and we stayed in a Kinomo Style Std Duplex Room.

Staff - this was the most impressive aspect. Young and very enthusiastic. You don't even have to move/lift so much as a finger and you will have their attention (no exaggeration). After a few instances I felt guilty simply turning my head their way as the poor souls would come running to us in an instant....i was just looking around admiring the decor rather than asking for their service! Kind and humble staff too. The concierge seemed very experienced/knowledgeable and guided us towards some very nice hip restaurants. 

Decor - again, impressive. You won't be disappointed. Having the bath and bed split on two different floors was different (in a good way). It made the rooms more spacious. The Kinomo styling did represent the pics on their website. Moving on from the room, the decor of the rest if the building was just me. A mix of contemporary and classical touches.....similar to how I'd decorate my house if I ever own such a large building. The open courtyard/garden is a must to sit in to have brunch/lunch/snacks/tea.

Food - again, excellent. We were unfortunate not to have been able to try their main restaurant (it was very popular and fully booked for 2/3 nights in a row). However, the lunches/snacks were great. The serving of the tea was nice in its own way.....lovely cast iron pots served with delicious biscuits.

Location - very convenient yet nice, quiet and away from the hustle bustle. Seemed like an affluent area

Other Facilities - we didn't get much time to try anything else. All we did was hire bikes from them (they were perfectly fine but didn't have small enough ones for my girlfriend so we had to abandon these after a day). They were probably a bit more expensive than the bike rental places outside the hotel.

To wrap it up, I have never received service like this in Europe, SouthEast Asia certainly, but not Europe. I didn't think it existed as it seems us Europeans have let businesses get away with murder and spoilt them by not raising our voices/concerns. This hotel changes all that.

Why 4 stars rather than 5. I've been fortunate to stay at a place tha had equivalent service but for a cheaper price (not in Amsterdam).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junaid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Been there maybe ten times and it's still one of my absolute favorite hotels. Very boutique, excellent service. Some of the rooms are not really practical, though everyone I saw was beautiful.
Located chic and central, not too noisy. The only thing I am not happy with when staying there: the beds are too soft for my back. But I have to confess, till now I missed to ask them if they do have harder mattresses. I will do next time.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NoMoreLobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Dylan is in a great location for seeing all of the sights. The duplex room was lovely and all hotel personnel were warm and helpful, especially the bartender!The buffet breakfast offers a nice variety and the terrace is lovely for a drink or snack. We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sully38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Property: The Dylan
Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing