We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not meet expectations, over-rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Ranked #10 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations, over-rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

Wanted a luxury hotel for a special occasion, so we went on the recommendation of 2 well known travel sources, instead of listening to the gripes people had about this hotel on tripadvisor. Did not live up to a 5 star hotel, paid 420 Euros/night for 5 nights for an executive river view room on the 4th floor. Room was large, but very dimly lit in all areas, river view was not that impressive. 2 windows overlooking the river, but one was in the bathroom, well actually in the shower stall. Very nice, large bathroom with huge shower and separate tub.

Hotel was quiet overall, except whenever anyone walked down the hallway, the sound/vibration of their footsteps disrupted our sleep, especially early in the morning. Many early riser business people and maids up and down the hallway. The head of our bed was against the hallway wall, never seen this in a hotel before. No coffee maker in our room. We were offered 2 glasses of complimentary champagne (by the woman who checked us in) that never came; don't offer anything you can't deliver. I should have known service would be questionable when I emailed the hotel a question before my stay, and never heard back from them. After waiting 14 days for a response, I sent a follow-up email entitled "2nd request", then I received a response.

Housekeeping was not stellar, we had to complain to housekeeping that our rug had not been vaccuumed in 3 days and one of our trash cans was not emptied after morning maid service. It was cleaned though after turn-down service. I suppose they didn't see that the rug needed vacuuming due to the bad lighting. Rather than using a vacuum to clean up crumbs, housekeeping deemed it more appropriate to cover the crumbs with the floor mat and slippers left during turndown service. This is 5 star service? Hardly. Sometimes our robes were hung up, and other times not. Sometimes our slippers were laid out bedside with turn-down service and sometimes not. Small things, but things that should be mastered by a 5 star hotel.

The concierge, his name was Aad, was outstanding. He was a pleasure and always helpful. On our first day we sat down for breakfast and waited a long time before we were approached by staff. We had omelettes that were delicious. We asked for 2 glasses of water which were brought out from the kitchen already poured, so we were very surprised when we were charged 9 Euros for the 2 glasses. It was our first meal in Amsterdam, so we were not aware that most places only have bottled water. Not many restaurants/ cafes close by to grab breakfast, would have preferred a hotel with a more central location, but we opted for the Amstel river view. We didn't feel the hotel was a value for the price we paid. The rooms need some updating too. Permanent furniture indentations in many spots of the rug where furniture previously was, crack in the ceiling over the bed, mismatched paint to cover another repair on the ceiling.

Prepaid for a better price 3 months in advance, so don't understand why there is a pending credit card charge for almost $2000 plus another misc amount. All extras that were charged to our room were paid upon check-out.

If you really love Van Gogh, go to the Kroeller Muller museum in Otterlo, it's actually better than the Van Gogh museum! Would not recommend hotel based on value and location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkpanther8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    128
    41
    14
    17
See reviews for
126
403
59
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seacoast N.H.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

No one made us feel welcome. From the front desk reception to the breakfast waitress to the room service staff member who never showed up with a bucket of ice. Very cold, cool staff with an attitude. However, the concierge was terrific!! and recommended a great Thai restaurant nearby....since we were very put off to walk in to the hotel dining room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herondoodle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Lets begin with the service...amazing. Everyone was extremely nice and helpful and even provided a couple extra umbrellas for our friends who came to visit (we of course returned the umbrellas afterward). There is a very lovely man who we went to for any concierge need and I'm sad to say I didn't get his name because he was fantastic! We would even let pick restaurants for us...we just trusted his judgment. The rooms were very clean, cozy and always happy to give us any extra toiletries if needed (we were three girls traveling overall). It's obviously not for the traveler on a budget but the money spent was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

For my second trip to Amsterdam, I decided to stay in the famous InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. I am thrilled I made this decision, as it was an excellent experience from beginning to end. I booked a standard city-view room and, as an InterContinental Ambassador, was upgraded to an executive river-view room. The room was beautifully laid-out in a classical style and was well-serviced. The carpet was a bit worn in some areas, but this was not to the overall detriment of the room. The hotel's fitness centre was well-stocked, including a beautiful 15m swimming pool at river level. Complimentary coffee, juice and snacks were available in the pool bar.

The hotel itself is located in a quiet area approximately 15-minutes stroll along the river to the city centre. For those not willing to make the walk, there is a stylish cafe/bar just opposite the hotel.

Staff were extremely helpful throughout the stay. The only minor problem was that there was no one to greet us and take our bags at check-in. The receptionist had to take our bags to our room for us.

I will certainly be staying at the Amstel Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apophthegma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

We had a nice stay - staff attentive & friendly-enough (not super helpful however). Don't pay extra for the river view - they neglected to tell/show you in their photos that construction is occurring at the bridge right on the river in front of the hotel - a view of construction cranes was not what we had in mind. The rooms were nice, but sparse and strangely poorly lit. Very comfortable beds, with more than enough pillows. The bathrooms were wonderful - rain showers, deep soaking tubs, separate water closets, luxurious towels - terrific! Perfect after all that walking. Room service was also great - prompt & delicious. The hotel was quiet (now we were not there during the day, so I can't comment on any river/construction noise) Overall, a little far from all the main attractions & just didn't seem quite worth all the money/hype.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

I recently spent my 40th birthday weekend in this hotel with friends which was a special and memorable stay. We managed to stay with priority club points which was great, however as a platinum member intercontinental hotels tend not to give upgrades, so we did not get a canal view. The room however was large and very pleasant. The pool area was very special - we spent both mornings despite the rain on the canalised watching the festivities for the pride parade going by. The entire city was in a festive mood however the amstel was a welcome retreat and hard to drag yourself away from. The only problem of course was the cost of everything in the hotel; and the food didn't appear to be of a quality commensurate with the cost. hOwever i would definitely recommend this hotel for a special treat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKlondon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

This is an impressive luxury hotel, in my opinion the best in Amsterdam. From the public spaces to the rooms and the starred restaurant, everything is majestic in traditional palace style.

As an IC Ambassador member I was given a posh, relatively spacious river view room.
The breakfast served in the restaurant was very good, and the views quite nice.

This hotel is somewhat away from the center, requiring some form of transportation to visit most of Amsterdam's tourist sights.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hp1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Property: InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing