We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Iconic Amsterdam Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Ranked #6 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Iconic Amsterdam Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is the best Intercontinental I know: despite their luxury branding I generally find them somewhere between 4 and 4.5, never quite 5 but Amstel is a true luxury hotel. Very historic hotel, classic rooms (love the blue wallpaper), great food and service. Love the location on the river, very centrally located. I'm a bit bored with protracted michelin star dinners so didn't try their main restaurant but it's hard to find a better spot on a sunny day than river-facing Amstel Terraces. If you want classic luxury no need to research further, this is the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPapercut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the lovely review about our hotel. It is wonderful that you, as a valued guest, describe our hotel as the best InterContinental you know, and as a true luxury hotel. Furthermore, it is a great pleasure to read that you loved the history of the hotel, the rooms and the service. Thank you very much for the compliments with regards to our terraces; it is something we take great pride in. I will definitely share your compliments with the whole team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    108
    41
    13
    14
See reviews for
102
332
52
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

The quality and extreme comfort of this hotel starts from the moment you walk up the steps into the entrance. Anyone staying in Amsterdam for business or a quality break must seriously consider this hotel. Do not stay here if you are looking for low cost or the dark side of Amsterdam. Perfect for people who enjoy quality and ideal for a romantic break.

If your budget will stretch to it, include breakfast in the package as it is a real treat. Also go for a water side room if you can as the city view is nice, but not so interesting.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HughR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you experienced great service immediately after you walked up the steps. We are also very pleased that you would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam and that you describe the breakfast a ‘a real treat’. I will definitely share your compliments with the whole team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We spent three days at the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, and were treated like royalty during our entire stay. We arrived at 7 a.m. on a Thursday fully prepared to leave our bags and check in later in the day, but they already had our room ready and waiting for us. Everyone was very helpful and accommodating, which we especially appreciated after having spent a day flying to get there. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. We would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side, not the water side, but we didn't mind at all. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnance64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your warm review that instantly put a smile on our face. We are very happy to read that you had a great stay at the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you felt like a true royal during your stay. We work with people who are passionate by the hospitality industry and are happy you have noticed this while staying with us. I will share all of your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Intercon Amstel is a true 5 stars hotel not only because of the history of the building, but also the details we found in everywhere within the hotel. The hotel deco is classic & luxury. The room we stayed was executive room, the size of bedroom & bathroom is very big & extremely comfortable. Staff was very friendly & helpful especially, their Concierge. In room dinning was also very good. Overall we had a wonderful stay in Intercon Amstel & Amsterdam. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey_Wong2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. It is a great pleasure to read that you really enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and that your stay with us was a big success. Furthermore, I am very proud that our whole staff was friendly and attentive. I will share all of your compliments with our team. We genuinely hope that we may welcome you again in the Amstel hotel, in the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Amsterdam was the last stop on our trip. The Intercontinental Amstel is an historic hotel that is very well maintained. Sitting by the river, the views are beautiful. Our room was large and the bathroom was oversized and well appointed. The staff was extremely helpful. The check-in process was slow as you are seated with a staff member who eventually escorts you to your room. This was a nice touch but really makes the process long. Check-out is similar but a little quicker. Our stay was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam, a great city!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Primarily, we would like to thank you for your warm review that instantly put a smile on our face. We are very happy to read that you had a great last part of your trip at the InterContinental Amstel. Furthermore, we are happy that the personnel met all of your expectations. We are aware of the fact that our check-in process takes longer than average, however we hope this actually is an added value in comparison to other hotels. I will share all of your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was by far one of the best Intercontinental hotels we have ever stayed at.The building it itself is a piece of art,the service was impeccable,the little special touches in the room made our stay the perfect ending to our wonderful Dutch Holiday!Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Amstel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frugaltravel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your compliment and feel very honoured that you call us ‘one of the best InterContinental hotels you've ever stayed in’. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you think we’re unique from all the other Intercontinental Hotels. It’s great to read that you had a wonderful holiday here in the Netherlands and that you experienced excellent service. I will share all of your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had a lovely high tea at InterContinental Amstel Hotel Amsterdam in July 2014, with guests, to celebrate my birthday.
Very friendly and helpful staff; the tea itself was accompanied by delicious pastries and
sandwiches, we got an explanation of every different tea served and in my case, having with one of my guests allergic to nuts, I got a special
Tray prepared only for this guest, nut free. The ambience is lovely, fantastic décor!
The hotel itself is very well located and easy access with transportation, besides easy parking and valet parking.
We had a fantastic afternoon at the InterContinental Amstel Hotel, I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: A room to the Amstel River is a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandra11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, a word of thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam for a Royal Afternoon Tea. The Royal Afternoon Tea is definitely one of the things we take great pride in, and it is wonderful to read that you really enjoyed it. We are glad that we were able to make your birthday celebration just that extra festive. Thank you again for the lovely compliments and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,279 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Property: InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Address: Prof. Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing