We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at his best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Ranked #14 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have stayed here twice: during our honeymoon and a year later on our first anniversary. Both times we were impressed by the level of service (loved the champagne and strawberries in our room) and the bride suites we had (first time with street view, second time with views of the canal).

Not the cheapest way of staying in Amsterdam, but definitely one the most luxurious ways of doing it.

Room Tip: Get a suit with views on the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Primarily, we would like to thank you for your warm review that instantly put a smile on our face. It is wonderful to hear that you have celebrated those two magnificent and unique days in our hotel. It’s pleasant to read such a warm review and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

July 5, 2014 my buddy and I were doing a walking tour of Amsterdam and thought it would be nice to stop in at the Amstel for some refreshments. We were concerned that our walking attire might not be appropriate, but the sweet hostess at the door of the hotel walked us to the down stairs lounge on the water. Here she asked the waiter behind the bar if we could have a table, there were tables empty everywhere. He said they were fully booked. She, and we, looked around the room at the multiple empty tables and only the ones on the water were taken except for a couple tables inside. She questioned him about being fully booked and he said, well there is the bar...

So we took our seats at the bar, placed an order and hardly had received our drinks when the same hostess brought in a couple (dressed in similar, if not less appropriate attire) and asked the same question about seating. They, without a reservation, received a table on the water immediately. Why we wondered?

My buddy and I are both executives and travel a lot. We do have a choice of where we stay and dine. Intercontinental will no longer be a go to for either of us.

We'd say skip the Amstel in Amsterdam.

On our way out, all the tables that were empty when we arrived were still empty, except for the one with the couple mentioned above.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Wbsoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

I very much regret that we did not succeed in delivering you the perfect service and therefore, I offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. However, it may have been possible that there were already made reservations for later in the evening. This can be one of the reasons why the waiter said that the tables were fully booked. The incident that a little bit later two persons arrived without reservations and that they had the chance to sit outside is something that we have discussed with the Brasserie team, to make sure that similar situations will not occur again in the future. I kindly ask you to contact me through amstel@ihg.com so we can discuss any additional details regarding your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Hotel. This would be very much appreciated by me. For this, I thank you very much in advance.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful break in Amsterdam - a city we can really recommend. What made it even better was this lovely hotel in a beautiful setting, great views right on the rIver Amstel, helpful staff and probably the best nights sleep we have ever had in a hotel
Thank you

Room Tip: Get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V3463HSchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, a word of thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. It’s a true pleasure to read that you enjoyed the city and the spectacular view from our Amstel terraces on the Amstel river. Furthermore, we are also very happy to read your compliments about our staff and the fact that you had a great night rest at our hotel. We genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another relaxing stay with us.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Very efficient and friendly staff. One of the best hotel restaurants ever. I strongly recommend it very cosy wit a great view of the canal Will definitely come again. The rooms are comfortable and classy. Although I arrived very late the reception was very efficient.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Farid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your warm review which instantly put a smile on our face. We take great pride in the compliment that you think our restaurant is one of the best hotel restaurants ever and that you think our personnel was very efficient and friendly. It’s also a pleasure to read that you had the chance to enjoy the view on the Amstel river and that you adored your room. We genuinely hope that we may welcome you again in the future for another stay with us.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

As you can tell from the title of this review, we really enjoyed our stay at the Amstel. The hotel is unlike most Intercontinentals--it's a small historic property full of charm. The public spaces are welcoming and the rooms large and comfortable. We enjoyed having drinks on the lovely terrace overlooking the river. I also highly recommend the hotel's river cruise on a beautifully restored historic boat. Though a bit pricey, it was far more intimate and interesting than a cruise on one of the large commercial boats.

While the hotel staff were unfailingly courteous and helpful--unlike the staff at the Park Hyatt in Paris where we had stayed just before our arrival in Amsterdam--I would like to single out the concierge staff for their extra attentiveness. They made and changed numerous reservations for us and always fulfilled our requests with grace.

Food at the hotel is expensive but there are a couple of pleasant cafés just steps from the front door. Tram and subway stops are also nearby

My only complaints about the hotel have to do with the inconsistent housekeeping staff. They were small things like the dirty dishes that were not removed or the laundry list that was not replaced after sending out laundry on the first day, even when we left the empty folder out, or the turndown service that was done for only one person on two nights. These things did not mar our stay but I did expect better of a hotel of this quality.

In any event, we are already planning our return trip to the Amstel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank gogogo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your compliment and feel very honoured that you call us ‘your new favourite hotel’. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you think we’re unique from all the other Intercontinental Hotels. It’s great to read that you were able to explore our Amstel terraces with view on the lovely river and that you enjoyed the historic boat tour through the city with one of our own boats. Furthermore, I am very proud to read that the concierges were very helpful and attentive during your stay. Regarding the food, we solely work with local and fresh products and try to deliver a high quality of food which is also visible in the price of the food.

Concerning your complaints about the housekeeping department, we will pass on your review to them and point out that we can no longer afford this in the future and make sure that this matter won’t occur again. Nevertheless, we would like to apologize ourselves for the inconvenience.

I will share all of your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us so that we can show you the improvements of the housekeeping department. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just arrived home from a fantastic long weekend here. Every member of staff treated us like royalty. So attentive and friendly, smiling enjoying their jobs with a smile and smartly dressed always.
Reception especially helpful. We used the brassiere restaurant each evening, excellent service from Walter, reserved a table with river view. Each meal was top class, we chose different each night. Could not complain about a single item. The same goes for breakfast.
Our room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. Every comfort you could wish for was provided. The room was luxury, so were the facilities. A joy to sit on the terrace and watch the many boats go by. The hotel has its own boat and has one hour trips on most days leaving at 10.30am, booking if essential. An excellent boat captain and guide to talk you through the history of buildings as you pass them.
Venue is not in the city centre, in a quiet area for relaxing.
Hope we can get back again.

Room Tip: Stay here to relax and enjoy the ambience and whole experience of feeling like royalty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Primarily, we would like to thank you for your warm review that instantly put a smile on our face. We are very happy to read that you had a great long weekend at the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you felt like a true royal during your stay. We work with people who are passionate by the hospitality industry and are happy you have noticed this while staying with us. Furthermore, we are happy that the personnel met all of your expectations and that the dishes in the Amstel Brasserie could enchant you every single day of your stay. We are also very pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and were able to explore the city by one of our lovely boat tours. I will share all of your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Roughly 23 days ago I stayed at this hotel with my friend.As soon as I came in, hotel interior was very awesome at all costs. No matter hotel and all rooms were very big, the most significant thing it is nearer to Red light district and city centre. In addition, breakfast is very variable and u can eat everything what u want. I recommend everybody stay this awesome hotel if u have available budget. Also, I recommend to stay in King Bed Executive Room. Everybody working this hotel was very pleased and genial.

Room Tip: KIng Bed Executive Room or Executive City View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eralp312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for writing such a lovely review about our hotel and the staff. We are very pleased to read that you adored the interior of the rooms and the location of the hotel. Furthermore, it’s pleasant to read such a warm review and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,398 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
860 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,668 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $357 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing