We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Out of this world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Ranked #8 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Now I know why this hotel is rated as one of the best in Amsterdam. It is situated on the canals of Amsterdam. From stepping into the lobby we were treated so warmly. It look a few minutes for check in,and while waiting we were offered coffee. Lovely touches with jars of sweets and bottled water. The hotel bar has the most beautiful view. We're taken up to our room,it was a canal room view. Beautiful sunny large room with a bath an desperate shower. Bathroom very luxurious with lovely amenities and huge fluffy towels. A large comfortable bed. The room has a coffee machine and a kettle. Will return and highly recommend it

Room Tip: Guess anything facing the canals. Maybe higher up. We were on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirls45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your warm review about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that you had the chance to explore the A Bar terrace. Furthermore, the concierge and the doormen were very pleased with your comment about the warm welcome because this is something that they attach great value to. We genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another “out of this world’ stay with us and maybe for a great dining experience in our Restaurant La Rive as well. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    116
    41
    13
    15
See reviews for
110
366
56
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Last Sunday high tea in this hotel, this was really "high" .
Everything was really very good,and the people who are working there are one of the best.
You really get a lot for your money.
This we do again when we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmanuelMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and detailed review about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you adored the deluxe suite and the luxurious furniture in it and the spacious bathroom. We are also very glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfast with a view on the Amstel River. We are happy that we could contribute to the fact that you had a lovely stay. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us and maybe for a great dining experience in our Restaurant La Rive as well. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Sadly, we had a bad experience at this hotel - we booked our reservations well in advance and even called overseas to personally speak to the hotel to guarantee we had the room we requested. We were assured (guaranteed) that we would have a corner suite with views of the Amstel Canal. We arrived early and were told as soon as the room was ready we could check in early. After two hours, we decided to walk around for a while. Two more hours elapsed and we were back at the hotel well AFTER their published check-in time. Still no room. We decided to get a meal at the hotel since we had waited so long and were then told that there was no room in the restaurant - at all. The Manager offered to "get me a pancake" and suggested I take it and eat it while I walked around some more! We were clearly getting upset at this time and he then said he did have our room ready. We were escorted to a tiny room with a sliver of a canal view that was not a suite. He then proceeded to tell us they were fully booked, even though we had a guaranteed suite reserved in writing. The room he showed us had a king sized bed that was only 12" off the ground and lumpy. The carpet was gray with dirt and generally it looked as if all the mismatched pieces of furniture were stored in this room! This is so unlike the standards of Intercontinental. We refused the room and left. On a positive note, the concierge, Mr. Peter Moos, was wonderfully helpful and tried hard to help us out in any way he could. He had booked us tours and dinners which he transferred over to the hotel we eventually ended up checking into. Extremely disappointing experience.

Room Tip: I have nothing to offer as we were guaranteed a corner suite in writing and got what appeared to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

I very much regret that we did not succeed in delivering you the perfect service and therefore, I offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. I discussed the situation and your entire story with all the staff members involved, to make sure that similar situations will not occur again in the future. I kindly ask you yo contact me through amstel@ihg.com so we can discuss any additional details regarding your stay. This would be very much appreciated by me. For this, I thank you very much in advance.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

One night in the hotel and it leaves me wanting more. The hotel is a really nice old fashioned style IC,the staff are friendly and the public areas are both smart and elegant.
We were upgraded to a suite which was a nice surprise. Needless to say the suite was excellent with antique style furniture giving it a really classy feel. Little extras such as coffee machine added to the style.
Well done IC,wish I could stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you appreciated the room upgrade to a suite and that you adored the antique furniture in it. We are happy that we could contribute to the fact that you had a lovely stay. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
158 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

They really treat their Royal Ambassador members here well-- upgraded to the Penthouse Suite! The room service left a bit to be desired, but there is so much food within walking distance no real need! Great wi-fi, and highly recommend taking their boat out with Captain Roderick in the canals! Also easy peasy bike rental to go explore for some brunch! Thanks IC Amstel!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for calling our Penthouse Suite adorable, we are very happy to read that you appreciated the room upgrade and the romantic design of the Penthouse Suite. We are also very delighted to hear that you enjoyed the boat tour with Captain Roderick on the Amstel river and through the canals of Amsterdam. You’re very welcome, we are happy that we could contribute to the fact a wonderful stay. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau Bahamas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

To say the hotel is 5 star, is cutting it short. The view, the staff, the food. Anything I asked for magically happened. The driver that picked us up, Duncan the concierge, the doorman Marcos. All were like they came from central casting. I called for a bucket of ice, and within 4 minutes, it was at my door. It is a lively hotel on the weekends, and lots to watch from your balcony window. Beautiful rooms, and anything you need or want avaliable. There was a wedding on Saturday evening, and our room was just over the patio by the canal, so for a few hours it was noisy, but the view made up for that. And on Sunday we got a parade of constant locals on canal boats having a great time enjoying The spring weather with us.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jayne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the great compliment that you think that we are a beyond 5 star hotel. We try to deliver the best service possible to all our guests and are pleased to hear that the staff did fulfil all of your wishes in a magically way during your spring stay. We are also very delighted to read that you loved to watch the view from your balcony and that you enjoyed the parade of canal boats on Sunday. I assume you were staying in the hotel on King’s day, this is a major event in the Netherlands which honours the royalties. It’s a custom to celebrate this event on the water or close to the canals of Amsterdam. The hotel is a coveted place during the festival and we are glad that you were able to witness this spectacle. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another magical stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is one of the finest hotels in Amsterdam. Brilliant suite and exceptional service from all the staff. The hotel is in a great location, situated on the Amstel River with impressive outdoor restaurants overlooking the river.
High standards throughout the hotel. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for calling us one of the finest hotels in Amsterdam. We are very delighted to hear that you loved the location of the hotel and that you enjoyed the Amstel view from our restaurants. We are striving to deliver the best service possible to our guests and are very happy to read that you call our service exceptional. We take great pride in this compliment. Furthermore, we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the suite you stayed in. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another lovely stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Property: InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing