We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Ranked #8 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Weekend break with my mother and sister in Amsterdam. From the moment we stepped through the door we were treated like Royalty. We couldnt fault a thing, the service was faultless and the rooms beautiful, our suites were on the 3rd and 4th Floor. The breakfast buffet had everything that you would could wish for, with the hot items served a la carte. The Spa was a lovely way to spend a couple of hours on a wet afternoon after some sightseeing. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit together with your mother and sister to the InterContinental Amstel Hotel and that you will have a very positive remembrance and memory of your visit. We are also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and that you had a wonderful relaxing time at our Health Club and that you had the possibility to unwind from all the sightseeing. We would like to thank you for all your compliments and are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    130
    41
    14
    17
See reviews for
129
408
59
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My Partner and I recently dined at the Amstel during our stay in Amsterdam. From the minute we entered to the minute we left we were treated like royalty. Chris particularty enthralled us all. He was personable, attentive and very knowledgeable. He made our evening a total joy, and the food was good too!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeamishLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review about our dining facilities. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Amstel Hotel and that you will have a very positive remembrance of your visit. Of course I will share your compliments with Chris who will be very honoured to read your compliments. We all are looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, Ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at this grande dame hotel several times over the last 10 years. We scored some wonderful rooms and the IC Amstel had the best mini-bars in the world, if you were a RA, anyway. It sits slightly outside the fall out range generated by the red light district and Nieumarkt. Great dutch bar snacks and sublime breakfasts... Just a nice place.

Room Tip: Great value for priority club point bookings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhaunkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your very nice review about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed all of your stays in the Amstel Hotel and that you have a very positive remembrance of your visits. We are also very honoured to read your compliment about the mini-bars. We all are looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us to have another sublime breakfast and to enjoy our bar snacks. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Smooth check in and helpful staff. Nice upgrades for loyalty card holders. Charming rooms and old wood paneled elevators. Romance abounds. Only criticism is that the internet was absolutely awful during my stay. I assume this was just an unfortunate exception but the hotel should conduct a review of the wireless speeds at peak times.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your honest and detailed review. It is a great pleasure to learn that you appreciated our helpful staff and that you were charmed by our rooms and old wood panelled elevators. Regarding the internet, we are definitely aware of this problem and we are working on it to resolve this issue. Instantly, we are installing a dedicated internet line to improve our internet service for the future. Furthermore I will pass your compliments to the staff members involved and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Last Thursday March 20 I have had a great experience at the Amstel Hotel. Both service as location were perfect. I had a business meeting at the Amstel A-bar where we had the opportunity to sit outside in the sunny terrace.
Later we went inside to the Amstel Brasserie for a dinner. Again also there perfect service and good food.
The Amstel hotel is definitely a nice venue to visit for business and private reasons!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Above all, we would like to thank you for your lovely review and for your time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased to read that you had a great experience at the Amstel Hotel and that you appreciated our A Bar and our sunny terraces. Furthermore, I will share your compliments with the whole staff team and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam for another great business and sunny experience with us.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam hotel in Amsterdam is one of the few hotels in the world that look like more like a government secretariat building than a hotel. The location on the banks of the Amstel River gives a feeling of a very large floating cruise boat. The amenities are top of the line befitting a good five star hotel. The defining elements of the hotel are the decorations depicting the styles of the Victorian era and a fabulous restaurant sporting a terrace from where diners can enjoy a grand view of the river. The hotel has a rich legacy having started n the year 1867. Several restaurants and bars are available on-site that provide excellent Mediterranean fare and choice of wines along with great views of the river and the historic city of Amsterdam. The location is just right with the Royal Palace, Dam Square and Leidse Square as well as the museums close by.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaC2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your very detailed review. We are very pleased to read that you had a great experience at the Amstel Hotel and that you appreciated our restaurant with Amstel view and the gorgeous location of our hotel. We all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam to enjoy our rich legacy with us and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a place which fullfills perfectly my imagination of truly old world luxury travel. But with all the up to date amenities. Impressive. Small scale, quiet, perfectly located on the Amstel river with gorgeous views from both our rooms over it. Smooth checkin and service good through whole stay, including very helpful concierges with all reservations and arrangements. Rooms spacious and well appointed with dutch patterns. Big bathroom with full amenities. Food good in the hotels restaurants. Perfectly recommendable if luxury experience in Amsterdam is on the schedule. We have fully enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelalot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased to read that we fulfilled your imagination with our Dutch residence. Delivering high standard service is something our staff takes great pride in and I will pass your compliments to the staff members involved. We all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam for another luxury experience with us and we are glad to you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#12 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Property: InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing