We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
$350
$215
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$292
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $210/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$241
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$318
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$81
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$264
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$559
$316
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$318
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$414
$384
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,083)
Filter reviews
1,083 results
Traveler rating
837
157
48
22
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
837
157
48
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla riveriver viewbeautiful hotelclassic hotelan executive suiteturn down serviceconcierge desksteam roomthe check in processrain showerduty manageran upgradewonderful staybeautiful roompublic transportationmetro stationcoffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
516 - 521 of 1,083 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great location. Very helpful staff particularly the Concierge staff who organised trips for us. The trips on the canals both in the day and the night time dinner cruise on the hotel boat were a highlight. Great restaurant. Very comfortable rooms. Particularly appreciated the espresso machine in our room. We were attending a Seminar in the hotel as well and the hotel did a great job. We can highly recommend. The provision of treats in the lobby was a nice touch.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank PhilipJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that both the canal trips were a great success. Also it is wonderful that you feel you received attentive service especially from the Concierge. It’s something our staff takes great pride in. I will pass your compliments on to them. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights after returning to Europe from Australia, and it was a lovely place to recover from Jetlag.
The rooms are just beautiful, I loved the toile wallpaper, and the bath was a joy, and it really did fill in less than 2 minutes.
The staff here were super helpful, and the room service orders came promptly and correct everytime.
The breakfast was delicious, and the view from the restaurant was stunning. I wish I'd had time to use the pool, which also looked devine.
A winner on all counts.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamiKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your experiences with us. Thank you very much for your nice compliments, I will share them with our staff members involved. It is a great pleasure to learn that your stay in Europe was a success, and that you recovered nicely from the jetlag. Again thank you for your nice compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. Hopefully the next time there will be time to use the pool!

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in a large, quiet room overlooking a canal. Lovely room, tall ceiling, lovely bathroom. Excellent and very helpful concierge. .Excellent breakfast in the hotel. Dinner in the hotel bistro was mediocre. Great location. Would recommend this hotel without any qualifications.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALLANBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved your room. Also it is wonderful that you feel you received attentive service especially from the Concierge. It’s something our staff takes great pride in. I will pass your compliments on to them. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

For Amsterdam one can not beat this location, rooms, staff at this hotel. Definitely a
recommended experience, especially with Amsterdam's old Architecture meaning such small rooms in many other Amsterdam Centre hotels.

From here just 10min by tram to Leidseplein, or 10minutes Metro to Central Station, but so nice and quiet as away from noisy night time party crowds, yet you are not isolated.

Another great stay once again, but different room type this time, a Penthouse Suite, over 2 floor levels to highest room in hotel, kind of 5th Floor attic space, with interesting balcony area to stand and look around outside which provides a really great view.

Living room, TV, work desk, soda, minibar on 4th floor, with w+c room, stairs to 5th floor bedroom and bathroom, usual bath and separate rainfall shower room, sofa, chairs, table, and 'hidden' flatscreen TV at foot of the bed.
Although slightly bigger than 2-room Exec Suite I usually stay in, on balance due to 2-floor layout, stairs, on balance I like the convenience of my usual single floor normal Exec Suite.

If you have not stayed recently, a nice new bar opened in April 2013 on ground floor, bar is now closing 1am instead of midnight which is better on weekends. Still have brasserie on lower floor for nice food + beers, ground floor tearoom/lounge, and outside terrace running alongside the Amstel river. On lower ground is also a nice fitness facilitiy and pool.

Usual great, polite helpful staff, as always a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for River View side Room (30euro or so) over City view
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scuba_in_the_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear guest,

My staff is joining me to thank you very much for your nice compliments and review on the hotel. We all are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. It was a great pleasure to welcome you once again in our hotel and it is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed our different facilities. Thank you again and we all are looking forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is realy something special and all your expectations will be fullfilled for sure!!! When we arrived the bellboy greeted us friendly and took immediately care of our luggage and showed us were to check in. During the check in a coffeebreak in the lobby took place and it was very loud but the reception handled that. The rooms are beautiful and everywhere you will see that they keep an eye on the detail. The Spa area is located on the river area and provides you beautiful views its fully equiped and the staff takes care about you.
Don´t miss the breakfast! The food is freshly prepared and the service is fast and efficient. Breakfast is served in the la rive restaurant with canal view! The Amstel brasserie is also worth a visit excellent service and the food is awesome! Also they have a new bar - The A-Bar which is highly recommended very intreresting cocktail creations and a great assortment of whiskey!
This hotel is outstanding and you should not miss to visit this Grand Hotel it will be a lifetime experience!

Room Tip: River View
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWorldTravelerGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received attentive service. Our staff takes great pride in this and I will pass your compliments on to them. Next time you decide to stay in Amsterdam please inform me through Amstel@ihg.com. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews