We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
$305
$242
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$306
$244
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$295
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$316
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$334
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $287/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$124
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$562
$333
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$303
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$166
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of $269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$286
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,081)
Filter reviews
1,081 results
Traveler rating
836
156
48
22
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
836
156
48
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla riveriver viewbeautiful hotelclassic hotelan executive suiteturn down serviceconcierge desksteam roomthe check in processrain showerduty manageran upgradewonderful staybeautiful roompublic transportationmetro stationcoffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
533 - 538 of 1,081 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed for the weekend organised by my daughters for my birthday. The hotel was everything you
could wish for. The rooms were large with nice furnishing, and the bathroom was superb and big. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and the bartender very knowledgeable when it came to choosing what gin to drink. We didn't eat at the hotel, only had snacks before venturing out, but we did use the spa. I had a fabulous massage, and drinks and fruit were available, so you could help yourself. A weekend to remember in a lovely old hotel, well located for visiting the sights. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaryW256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to put such a nice review of our hotel on tripadvisor. I am pleased to learn that your birthday was a great success and that you enjoyed being in Amsterdam. Also it is wonderful that you feel you received attentive service. It’s something our staff takes great pride in. I will pass your compliments on to them. Thank you again for your nice compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had an amazing weekend stay in this very beautiful hotel. Magnificent entrance/reception with a grand staircase. The staff were absolutely brilliant from arrival to departure, nothing being too much trouble.

Chardonnay and Keshia took really good care of us at breakfast. Lovely French toast and bacon, Eggs Benedict also recommended. The rooms are spacious by European standards with all the amenities you would expect from an Intercontinental. We loved the decor in our by.pink room and there were lots of special little touches throughout the hotel that we appreciated. Spent some time on the terrace basking in the sunshine and watching boats pass by, very relaxing.

We didn't have time to utilise the spa which was unfortunate. The hotel is within walking distance of a lot of the sights and attractions.

Highly recommended, very special hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cintsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate the fact that you took time to share your experiences with us. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the decor from the hotel. Thank you very much for your nice compliments, we will share them with our staff members involved. We are all looking forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam, hopefully you will have more time so you can also experience our spa!

Kind regards,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A couple of days to revisit Amsterdam and a stay in the "Amstel" Hotel. Rooms top quality but the staff were even better. Nothing was any trouble and the trip on the Hotel boat with Captain Bart was well worth the experience. Will return again without a doubt. One of the best Intercontinental Hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the river is good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill_maxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review on our hotel. We really appreciate your effort. I will pass your compliments through to our staff, providing high standard service is something we really take pride in. Also good to hear that you enjoyed your boat trip, in my opinion, it is one of the best ways to explore Amsterdam. Thank you again for you compliments and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Kind regards,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a gorgeous hotel! Anyone who isn't taken aback by the fantastic interior architecture is jaded indeed. Truly glorious. Does the place need some TLC - yes. In out suite, the wallpaper was lifting on the bed well and the carpeting looked about a year away from needing to be changed. It's a huge hotel and I'm sure it must take a lot to keep up with the maintenance. But our room was probably double the size of the room we came from in Barcelona (in an equally impressive hotel) and I have to say, I loved having so much more space. La Rive and the Brasserie we spectacular. I loved the juxtaposition of the high modern bar against the gracious 19th century hotel! I would re-visit in a minute.

Room Tip: If you can afford it. get a room overlooking the canal!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEinSF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel, we really appreciate it. It is a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed a truly remarkable stay. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the space of our rooms, it is something we are really proud of. With our new A bar we indeed have tried to give a modern touch to the hotel, the grand Dutch residence of Amsterdam. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The InterContinental Amstel is a beautiful hotel. We have stayed at some of the finest hotels and resorts around the world and the Amstel fell short of our expectations for a hotel with the InterContinental brand name. We emailed the hotel to inform them that we would be arriving very early - understanding that there may not be a room ready but requesting any information in advance that may be helpful. We never had a reply. When we arrived we were told our room was not available - and the only option was another room over 200 euros more expensive. We understood that our room may not be ready but we were frustrated that no one every replied to us. The room was very nice, charming and large. However, the bowl of fruit was molded and remained unchanged for two days. I discovered the mold AFTER eating a piece of molded fruit. The night before we left we arrived at one of the bars. We were told it was not serving food but the bartender kindly escorted us to the other side of the hotel and said he would have a colleague serve us. We waited several minutes and when we were finally greeted the young man told us that food was not being served. We explained that the other bartender brought us there so that we could eat, saying that food was available at that location. We weren't upset - just hungry. He kindly took the initiative to assist us and informed us after taking drink orders that another colleague would take our food order. The other colleague never showed up (she was working the bar inside and was irritated and stated that "we don't serve food here now"). The second young man that assisted us and offered a food menu even though the section was no longer serving and he was very kind - and apologized profusely that the female bar attendant never showed up to take our order. Our evening ended well and the young man comped our first drinks. This was not something we asked for but it was a very nice gesture. On a good note, Minori in the spa/fitness facility was wonderful - she had impeccable service skills that were appreciated. All in all, the staff was very kind. The problem seemed to be that the entire staff didn't seem to share the same level of customer service or concern. This was noted in our different staff interactions. Considering the cost of our stay we felt that the value was certainly not there. Sad - because the hotel is beautiful and in a beautiful location.

Room Tip: Rooms are decorated in a more classical style, antiques. If you want a contemporary feel hotel this is not it. But our room was beautiful and comfortable. However, the indoor pool was beautiful with a great relaxation area. VERY small fitness facility - but clean and adequate.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feetNflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your tripadvisor review on your stay. Our goal is to deliver the perfect service and we all very much regret that we did not succeed. I offer you my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
We appreciate your feedback and will discuss them with all departments involved to make sure that this will not happen again in the future. Please also contact me at Amstel@ihg.com so we can discuss any additional details regarding your stay. This would be very much appreciated by me. Finally Midori thanks you for your nice compliment. I hope we will be in contact soon.
Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews