We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Expensive, but Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Ranked #7 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expensive, but Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Intercontinental and although it is very expensive, we found it to be a wonderful treat after a rambling trip through multiple cities and hotels. The hotel is located on an outer ring canal and a 15-20 minute walk to some of the more central areas and a slightly shorter walk to the Heineken Experience and the museums. It is southeast of the busy Central train station and was a short taxi ride of 10 minutes through the city.
The room and bathroom were large and the beds were very comfortable. Our view looked out over the canal and we had 3 large windows in our triple room. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsStapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your friendly review. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us and that you visited also some nice places in Amsterdam.
Of course I will share your compliments with our team. We all are looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    106
    41
    13
    14
See reviews for
98
323
51
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We checked in to the Amstel intercontinental only to find out that our booking had been cancelled the day before , the reason was the card put forward had been declined but there was no effort on the part of the hotel to get another card number from us or to advise us that they were cancelling the booking , lucky for us they had enough rooms that we could still check in , the room sevice on the first night was slow but they improved on the second night , at the bar down stairs on two different occasions , one in the after noon and once in the evening we ordered drinks from the barman and they completely forgot that we ordered drinks , the bar man seem more interested in chatting to each rathet than servicing thier cutomers . Not the standard of service one would expect from a hotel of this calibure . Beautiful hotel with magnificent views and rooms but let down by poor staff and lack of service !!!

Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your information on your stay in our hotel. Our goal is to deliver the perfect service and we all very much regret that we did not succeed. We appreciate the feedback and will discuss them with all departments involved to make sure that this will not happen again in the future. Please also contact us at Amstel@ihg.com so we can discuss any additional details regarding your stay. This would be very much appreciated by me.
Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Plymouth, UK & Grasse, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The check in is as one might expect from a hotel of this calibre - friendly and courteous - as are the staff in general but apart from the undoubted grandeur of the rooms they need some serious maintenance. One just does not expect curtains that are falling off their runners, pictures stuck to the wall lopsidedly, an electrical system that is beyond comprehension, window stays that just do not work, a peep hole in the door that requires you to be two metres tall to look through it, a bathroom door handle that fell off and an entertainment system that cannot be switched on. These problems should be sorted out, as in its present state this hotel is far from its star rating.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller-writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your information on your stay in our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and would like to make sure that the room you have stayed in will be a well maintained room again. I kindly ask you to contact us at Amstel@ihg.com so we can discuss any additional details regarding your stay. This would be very much appreciated by me. I thank you in advance for your reply.
Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Spring 2013 trip and enjoyed the beautiful river views from the room as well as the restaurants and bar. Great roomy suite and close to the action at Rembrandt Square as well as the parks. Walkable location. Pricey but worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review on your Spring 2013 trip. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us. We all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Simply a beautiful hotel that lacks the will to serve or entertain its guests.

Ill talk about the service then the hotel itself.

I hate that I had to carry my luggage myself from the trunk of my cab and up the stairs of the hotel and leave it at the reception desk after check in. Luggage in 5* hotels should be picked up by the staff from the start. My friend also had a hard time checking in and arriving into the hotel as he had arrived earlier (we were staying together in one room but the room was under my name but his name nonetheless was listed during the online reservation process) and was almost refused entry to the hotel. Simply put, poor service!
The concierge there is also inexperienced to say the least. A guy called Peter who was very rude, unhelpful and dismissive made it extremely hard for me to give this review a 2 star instead of 1 for the way he handled my call and request. I decided to be generous and give it a 2 star instead of 1 because of a Yasmina who worked at the late night shift who was the only decent and consistent person at the hotel; whenever I see her she is helpful; every time I call in or ask for help; very courteous and professional. There are some more decent people in the hotel. The hotel staff seem to be divided into 2 categories; polite or useless. The chamber maids were very nice and the room service maids as well, always smiling and greeting, which turned out to be rare during this trip.

The in room breakfast tray was a disaster, cold food, dry eggs cold coffee it was unbearable.

The gym/spa was amazing. It is truly a must see. Situated in the basement, the staff at the gym were warm and friendly especially Peter.



This hotel has a well appointed interior and structure. It feels like it has some heritage but without being old and broken. It is fitted with technology (ie flat screen and wifi that works) and I haven't seen anything that was not working or in bad condition, as many IC hotels are notorious for being old and broken.

All in all and not to take things personally, I think it is an above average hotel.

Room Tip: MUST SEE THE SPA/GYM. Pack your bathing suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qataris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your information on your stay in our hotel. Our goal is to deliver the perfect service and we all very much regret that we did not succeed. We appreciate the feedback and will discuss them with all departments involved to make sure that this will not happen again in the future. Please also contact us at Amstel@ihg.com so we can discuss any additional details regarding your stay. This would be very much appreciated by me.
Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Amstel for a weekend in early June of 2013. It was a perfect stay and most fortunately the weather was also perfect. The communication with the hotel before arrival was very helpful and they answered all our questions. The moment we turned into the street that the hotel is located, two hotel staff ran to help us with our luggage. The check-in process took less than 2 minutes and nevertheless we were very early they took us to our room. We were delighted that we were double upgraded to a Junior Suite with a river view. Fresh Fruit and bottled water were served. The bathroom was quite large and the water pressure was excellent. The room was extra clean. We had breakfast and had lunch in the terrace and I very much recommend the experience. The food quality for lunch was wonderful but for the breakfast could be improved (but I still very much recommend it). The spa facility was absolutely great. I also recommend the private tour using the hotel boat. It is a very elegant hotel. The service and politeness of the staff were absolutely perfect and flawless. The concierge was very helpful. The check-out process was very quick and the bill was accurate. While waiting for our taxi they served us coffee to say goodbye. The hotel accommodated us with all our requests and made our stay extra pleasant. I hope you will enjoy your stay there as much as we did.

Room Tip: River View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takhteh2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us. Of course I will share your compliments with our team. If you have any special suggestions for the breakfast please let us know through Amstel@ihg.com. We all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our stay at the Amstel Amsterdam was through our river cruise operator at the end of our trip. We had arranged for a independent car and driver to pick us up at the boat for a day trip to Brielle where my wife's grandfather grew up and emigrated in the late 1890s with a drop off at the Amstel. When the car failed to show, the tour operator sent us on their bus with other guests directly to the hotel. I queried the concierge if he could arrange for a car and driver to take us to Brielle. Within 15 minutes off we were for a truly memorable day. We owe so much to this caring gentleman.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitab836, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us and that you will have a very positive remembrance of your visit and the beautiful Brielle.
Of course I will share your compliments with the concierge staff. We all are looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,244 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Property: InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing