We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Old World, Old Fashioned Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Ranked #6 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Old World, Old Fashioned Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for two nights for a weekend visit to Amsterdam. On the map you may think that the hotel is situated quite a way out from the centre of Amsterdam, but don't let that deceive you. The hotel is ideally located, being situated in a quiet, leafy part of town, but only being a short walk into the central area, the walk is a gentle along side the Amstel river. The hotel is also a 2 minute walk from a metro station so you can get direct from central station which is what we did when we first arrived. The walk from central station to the hotel is 30 minutes at a leisurely pace, and it takes in most of the major sights on route so we found ourselves walking everywhere!

The hotel decorum both inside and out is one of the 18/19th century old fashioned luxury, with an ornate reception area with wide steps and furniture which wouldn't be out of place with Louis XVI Versailles palace. As a platinum ambassador I was given a room upgrade to a river view room.

The room is well sized with tall ceilings, large bed, a very large bathroom, with separate shower and toilet room. However despites its old fashioned design the room has its modern comforts, with flat screen TV (has a huge choice of multi language channels, besides the normal BBC World & CNN) A separate hi fi system, illy coffee machine and one of the best A/C I've had in a hotel (i.e it was quiet and the room noticeable got colder and warmer unlike most!)

We chose to eat in the hotel the first night, the hotel has two restaurants, it's flagship has a Michelin star, I wasn't feeling too lavish so we eat in the brasserie. If I'm honest it was priced higher than every other meal I've had in any intercontinental around the world but I enjoyed my food, especially the dessert which was a fantastic chocolate brownie.

We slept very well both nights, beds are comfortable with the sinking pillows you expect of Intercontinentals, and the 3 layers of curtains meant that very little light came through in the mornings.

Staff were professional and very helpful, providing us with all information we required, umbrellas and I couldn't fault them in the slightest. When we went to ask about a business centre to print off boarding passes for our return flight the concierge informed us that they didn't have one but he checked us in for our flight and then printed our boarding passes off and handed them to me with a copy of the Sunday Times, excellent service!

Overall I enjoyed my stay, the rooms are very comfortable, clean and the staff are fantastic. Whilst the surrounding area does lack local restaurants close by the location is ideal for visiting Amsterdam as it gives you a quiet place to stay in the evening and close pleasants walks to all the action. I must admit that this hotel is priced higher than every other Intercontinental I've stayed in and the old fashioned style is not to my taste (prefer contemporary ones) But I don't hold it against the place and would stay there again and recommend others to do so.

Room Tip: First Floor room to save waiting for old fashioned lifts and one with a river view of the amstel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leaping_Deere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    109
    41
    13
    14
See reviews for
104
345
54
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Amstel is one of the great hotel experiences in Europe. Everything from food, to ambiance, to architecture and decoration, to location is the best. There is only small one downside of this majestic, old-world hotel, the mini-bars are not mini. You must purchase a full size bottle of alcohol. If you would like just one drink or possibly two, you are must through away an almost full bottle. However, otherwise one of the most fabulous hotel experiences that you can imagine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Everything you could want in an elegant old world European hotel. Let's start with the pool. It's huge and one side opens to a terrace with views of the Amstel canal. The rooms are large, the bathrooms generous. The breakfast buffet is lovely and the service is impeccable. Be charmed by the concierge staff led by Aad van den Berg, who will make anything possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosima21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaialnd
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

First time in Amsterdam, hotel is very beautiful by looking at the river but not every room has river view. Breakfast is very good quality but also very expensive too. Some rooms are not good for senior or diable people as they have steps in the bedroom.

Room Tip: Wifi hugh speed Internet is expensive but they also have free low speed wifi too (actually is not so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pichaiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
484 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I pre-booked the hotel for a business trip, one day of meetings, the next day, entertaining clients. I checked the reviews again before I left, one was terribly negative, it placed in doubt in my mind. I stayed two days at the hotel, and my experiences with the total opposite to that reviewer.

Firstly, the only slight downside, as a Priority Club Platinum Member I was offered no upgrade, or perks whatsoever, which is usually the case in all IHG properties. Other than that (which was no big deal), my visit was perfect.

The room was spacious, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and furnished. The bathrooms luxurious, fully stocked, huge bathtub, and the most wonderful rainfall shower. The bed was huge and so, so comfortable. The pillow menu was not needed, as the oversized pillows were perfect.

From check-in to check out, all the staff were both friendly and very professional. The Dutch by design, are smiling, happy people and the staff here are no exception. Each and every one of them went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable. Each and every one of them succeeded.

Breakfast is taken in a restaurant overlooking the River Amstel, we watched the world float by, amazing. The breakfast selection is varied and plentiful, the staff at breakfast were very attentive.

We took high tea on the terrace, the blackberry and chocolate tart was worth the visit to Amsterdam on its own!

On the Saturday evening we arrived back from a trip to the Hague and ordered a late dinner from room service at around 10:20 PM. The food was beautifully prepared, and tasted even better.

I can honestly say this is without doubt one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, I can only give it five out of five in every department, I will always use this hotel when visiting Amsterdam.

A big thank you to everyone at the hotel, you made our stay so very special!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Funlovinfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra - Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have just spent two wonderful nights at the Amstel Hotel in Amsterdam. As platinum Priority Club members we were treated like royalty upon arrival. An upgrade to a huge top floor corner room with views along the Amstel River through the opening shutters and windows. The room was elegantly decorated in a style to suit this beautiful 150 year old building. The staff were all very attentive and genuine in their service to us during our stay. Our room was paid for with points so was extremely good value. I would recommend to anyone looking for a special stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve_fossil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is my first trip to Amsterdam and I am sure I will return again. The hotel was excellent and the staff went out of their way to make sure your stay was memorable. We had a beautiful room over looking the river. Luckily the sun shone in the afternoon so we went down stairs and sat on the veranda sunbathing and watching the boats go by! I only have a couple of negitive remarks which are the hotel in not in the centre of all the hussle and bussel of Amsterdam so if you like the nightlife and easy access to resturants this is not the hotel for you, but if the opposite is the case you can't fault it. The other was 2 hotel guest who shouted at me for going in the wrong door with my shoes on as it was the spa, they obvousily had the money to stay there but no manners!! should of pushed them in the river!!

On travel, if you are coming into Skipol airport you need to get a ticket for the train to Amsterdam, please make sure you are standng at the right end of the platform as 2 different trains pull in at the sation. The ticket machines are automatic and can be translated to English for easy use. When you arrive at the station the best option is a tram although it is not clear which is the best one to go on - the No 10 goes on a large loop around the city. The main ones that we used were 10 12 and 7 this will get you around easily. Go to your nearest underground station and buy tickets for the tram/bus it will cost around 12 euros for 3 days, which is excellent value for money, the same ticket system applies for this as well so easy peasy. If you fancy a boat trip don't be shy about asking a local as we did mind you he turned out to be South African ( yes Robert I am talking about you!) he owned a 1960's wooden boat, beautiful and we had a lovely tour of the canals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Property: InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Address: Prof. Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing