We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
$329
$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$296
$265
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$506
$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$275
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$444
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$489
$374
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$260
$244
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$88
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$240
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$276
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,069 results
Traveler rating
829
153
46
22
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
829
153
46
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla riveriver viewbeautiful hotelclassic hotelan executive suiteturn down serviceconcierge staffsteam roomthe check in processrain showerduty managerstar hotelan upgradewonderful staybeautiful roommetro stationcoffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
612 - 617 of 1,069 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Firstly, this is a very beautiful hotel. From the grand architecture, to the funiture, to the lovely ornate carpets, to the wallpaper, the hotel is just a beautiful space to be in. Our visit co-incided with all five days of rain, and yet both the conservatory lounge and and the pool and diningroom areas, all with their large windows overlooking the canal, felt the perfect place to be in the weather. The family room that we booked was spacious, comfortable and well-stocked. My only suggestion to the hotel is to have at least one children's TV channel on the menu.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maynardophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear "maynardophile,"

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was our pleasure accommodating you. We are currently working on getting more children's channels. In the meantime, we do hope that the children have found our collection of family movies entertaining.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, hopefully in the sunshine!.

With best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Intercontinental Amstel in every sense of the phrase is a true "Grande Dame" of hotels; what a spectacular place! Old world charm best describes the look and feel of this lovely hotel. As soon as you walk into its beautiful lobby filled with gorgeous floral arrangements, you know you are in for a royal treat. I’ve stayed in hotels all over the world, but I have to say, this place is now one of my all time favorites. I can’t wait to go back for another visit!

Situated right on the banks of the Amstel River, this hotel features a Michelin star restaurant, a lounge and a bar/pub with brasserie-style menu. Their sunny glass atrium with cheerful views of the river is a great place to enjoy breakfast. And for sipping cocktails after a busy day of sightseeing, the hotel offers a beautiful terrace with fantastic views overlooking the Amstel River; a very relaxing spot to end your day.

From our personalized check-in to our personalized check-out, the staff of the Intercontinental was super friendly and polite. Bellmen, front desk staff, wait staff, room service and housekeeping staff was absolutely wonderful; they made us feel like we were at home! However, the concierge service was not as helpful as I would expect considering how attentive and professional the rest of the staff was.

Our very large room was spot-on perfect; extremely clean and comfortable and tastefully decorated. The bed, pillows and linens were luxurious; so comfortable that I just didn’t want to get out of bed when the alarm clock went off; to heck with sightseeing, I could have slept all day! The room was absolutely soundproof; what a great night’s sleep. The very specious marble bathroom was well outfitted with l’Occtane products and there was more than enough closet space to put away and hang cloths; nice having enough room to move suitcases out of sight. Everything you could possibly need in a gust room, including a very well stocked bar and mini-bar, was at our disposal. Five star elegance all the way!

Unfortunately the hotel’s pool/health club was closed for renovation during our stay, so I can’t comment on what is supposed to be topnotch facilities. I guess we’ll just have to go back for another stay to see what we missed out on!

Although the Intercontinental is not located in the heart of Amsterdam, that didn’t bother us as it all as it was nice to be staying in an area that was very peaceful and quiet. Public transportation is very accessible to/from the hotel as a metro/tram stop is located just down the street and of course the hotel’s super nice bellman will hail you a taxi if need be. Just a quick walk over one of two bridges (to the left and/or right side of the hotel) brings you to a town center with shops, grocery stores and restaurants.

When in Amsterdam treat your self and stay at the InterContinental Amstel, you won’t be sorry!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwoOnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear "TwoOnTheRun,"

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and extensive review; we could not have said it better! We do hope you have been able to see a lot of the city and all its features....? In the meantime the renovation of the Health & Fitness Center is done and it looks amazing. Pictures of the new look, including a Horizontal Shower will be on our website shortly. Hopefully you will be able to witness and experience it yourself sometime soon. Looking forward to welcoming you again,

With kindest regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The Intercontinental Amstel is a transformational experience. This immaculate "Grande Dame" of European charm is one of my favorite hotels in the World. Situated right on the Amstel River is a great part of Amsterdam, everything from the rooms to the decor to the food is first class. Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear "Maxkan,"

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again soon!

With best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

You want a grand hotel with great views, with equidistant access to historic center, and the club life in Leidseplein? This is it. You want to look out across the Amstel river and see the spires of RijksMuseum (and other buildings) across the skyline? This is your place. You like theater life? The great theater Carre is practically next door.

The best breakfast in Amsterdam, Pretty & spacious rooms in a beautiful leafy neighborhood.. The rooms are heavily soundproofed, although you don't really need that because you are almost a world away from the busyness of central Amsterdam. Tram connection is right across the hotel.

While this is all well and good, it is the staff that win it for me - I feel I am at home every time I am here.

Room Tip: The Ambassador membership is well worth it - for $150 a year, you get immediately upgraded. Regardless of membership, ask for something overlooking the Amstel river.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorkToTravelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear "WorkToTravelSeatle,"

Thank you for your review. The team is already looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

With kindest regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel is like a Royal castle, a truly 5 star!
Many famous stars have been there: Bono, Brad Pitt, Russel Crowe and so forth.
The location is super and the rooms are fit for a King. The Bath room is truly 5 star and the spa is great and very private. But be aware, this hotel is expensive! A suite will cost you serious money:)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TogF_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews