We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Duif

De Duif
Book In Advance
More Info
$225.30*
and up
Guided Motorcycle Sidecar City And Dutch Countryside from Amsterdam
Ranked #9 of 482 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Along with the Herengracht and Keizersgracht, one of the three major canals that shape the city.
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

It is just amazing to walk along the cannal. The cute houses and everything. I would visit again soon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,887
    1,119
    107
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What place to be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife & I stayed in a apartment on the Prinsengracht and we had all week long to stroll arm in amr up and down this canal during the morning, noon and night. It was breathtaking to say the least and our connection to the city via trams was not more than 30 yards from our door step. We went in March 2013 and it was quiet but very sedate. I can't imagine what this area is like in the middle of the summer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 299PFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Canal Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nobody should go the Amsterdam without going on at least one of the Canal trips on Offer. It is a wonderful way of seeing Amsterdam. We got a day pass for the Canal Bus. You can then get on and off the canal boat throughout the day and jump back on any of the three routes - which cover the three different canals. there is a commentary running on board so that you learn all about the canals as you go round. Very relaxing too!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank cinders77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
608 reviews
366 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 756 helpful votes
“The view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our first time in Amsterdam so we could certainly not miss out seeing the great canals. We first took a tour boat and then we wallked the canal. The guide on the tour boat was very knowledgable and fun so we got to learn a lot about its history. Then we walked the canal to better appreciate the architecture and the vibe of Amsterdam. You can easily walk for hours and hours.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank SylvieFrancois444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Wonderful view of the canals, an area that I would say is much less busier to walk around than ones close to damrak. Wrap up warm!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RB10624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Duif also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Duif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing