We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less known gem!”

Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder
Ranked #9 of 603 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In the heart of Amsterdam's bustling centre lies one of the city's oldest museums: Museum Our Lord in the Attic. Here visitors get to experience the Dutch Golden Age in a special way: a 17th-century house with a top floor converted into a Catholic church.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don't miss this. Fascinating "house church" - yes, a surprisingly large church inside a typical Amsterdam canal house from the days when Catholics couldn't have services openly. Unique and highly recommended.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank AYL038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,952)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hidden church"
in 175 reviews
"audio guide"
in 227 reviews
"canal house"
in 107 reviews
"the red light district"
in 221 reviews
"religious history"
in 22 reviews
"amazing church"
in 21 reviews
"narrow stairs"
in 19 reviews
"canal side"
in 25 reviews
"old church"
in 27 reviews
"three floors"
in 22 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 75 reviews
"own pace"
in 27 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 25 reviews
"interesting place"
in 21 reviews
"top floor"
in 31 reviews
"attic"
in 458 reviews
"worship"
in 123 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 2,949 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Church in the attic was as advertised, but I also enjoyed the tour of the rest of the house. Well worth the investment to visit!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank flemingmaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

This museum had long been on my list of places to go to, but as an adoptive Amsterdammer I never really found the time> You recognize that? That you never really find the time to go to Museums where you live? Well it is my situation. However, the visit of a Spanish colleague of mine was a great opportunity that i did not let go by. So we visited it on an early Tuesday morning and we were very impressed by this "church in the attic" that in a very clear way presents the problems (and solutions) of freedom of religion in the 17th century. It has been very well preserved and the audio tour that comes with your ticket is very enlightening. I loved the fact that you also got an impression of what a kitchen looked like in those days. Don't miss it. You'll larn more about Amsterdam in an hour here than you would learn in many weeks roaming around on a bike.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank hsmit2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

This is a great little audio tour around a small but unique museum in central Amsterdam. Well worth a visit for an hour.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Danrzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2018

This is a small look into the history. The audioguide gives an interesting input. And it is beautifully restored. Take your time to see this.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Raf Roggeman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing