We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder
from $63.90
More Info
from $46.50
More Info
from $14.40
More Info
Reviews (2,942)
Filter reviews
1,820 results
Traveler rating
1,270
479
61
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,270
479
61
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hidden church audio guide the red light district canal house religious history amazing church merchant's house amsterdam house narrow stairs canal side old church three floors worth a visit own pace interesting place entrance fee top floor
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,820 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Don't miss this. Fascinating "house church" - yes, a surprisingly large church inside a typical Amsterdam canal house from the days when Catholics couldn't have services openly. Unique and highly recommended.

Thank AYL038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Church in the attic was as advertised, but I also enjoyed the tour of the rest of the house. Well worth the investment to visit!

Thank flemingmaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This museum had long been on my list of places to go to, but as an adoptive Amsterdammer I never really found the time> You recognize that? That you never really find the time to go to Museums where you live? Well it is my situation. However, the visit of a Spanish colleague of mine was a great opportunity that i did not let go by. So we visited it on an early Tuesday morning and we were very impressed by this "church in the attic" that in a very clear way presents the problems (and solutions) of freedom of religion in the 17th century. It has been very well preserved and the audio tour that comes with your ticket is very enlightening. I loved the fact that you also got an impression of what a kitchen looked like in those days. Don't miss it. You'll larn more about Amsterdam in an hour here than you would learn in many weeks roaming around on a bike.

Thank hsmit2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great little audio tour around a small but unique museum in central Amsterdam. Well worth a visit for an hour.

Thank Danrzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a small look into the history. The audioguide gives an interesting input. And it is beautifully restored. Take your time to see this.

Thank Raf Roggeman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The entrance to the museum is of contemporary architecture, you wonder what you are going to see....The first part (in the basement) is informative and well done, but when you transition into the actual building you are transported in an other era. It is just spectacular!

1  Thank bbgws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Museum Ons Lieve Heer op solder shows a former clandistine church. The church is hidden on the topfloors of an old canalhouse. It is surpisring that you’ll experience the house as a labyrinth. Narrow steps, ancient decorated rooms. You get a good idea how (rich) people lived in the 17th century in the city of Amsterdam. The church was founded zuring the religiouswar, which lasted 80 years. Awesome when you reach the church its self. Like you wouldn’t expect it.
The name of the church is translated ‘Our dear Lord in the attic’.
The entrance is next to the actual museumhouse and you reach the house through the connecting cellars.
In the cellar you can study the mock-up of the house.
I enjoyed the visit very much.

Thank Kees S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was recommend this tour by my Dutch friend and I have to say I was impressed.
The 'Lord in our Attic' had a fantastic audio guide with great information of the people and history involved into building and hiding of this Church.
It is stunning and amazing that behind the outside walls of this 'ordinary' house... lies such a beautifully crafted Church.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Also have toilets and a cloakroom with lockers with keys for your bags.

Upstairs also is a café in case you need a hot drink.

A must see while in Amsterdam… you never know what lies behind these door... unless you enter!!

Thank suitcasesally22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This museum is fantastic. It's not one of the most popular in Amsterdam but well worth it. Took about 1.25 hours, definitely do the audio tour. Pictures allowed. Enjoy!

Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was excellent. First you go through the family house and then into the roof where there is a beautiful chapel where Catholics worshiped clandestinely. The museum interpretation is excellent. This was so special and unique - please go!

Thank BeginsInWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews