We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Somewhat intriguing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder

Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder
Book In Advance
$62.74*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #8 of 454 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In the heart of Amsterdam's bustling centre lies one of the city's oldest museums: Museum Our Lord in the Attic. Here visitors get to experience the Dutch Golden Age in a special way: a 17th-century house with a top floor converted into a Catholic church.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Somewhat intriguing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Amstelkring church is beautiful and has a very interesting history. I enjoyed the audio tour and seeing the church and other rooms of the house. Still, I felt like the tour and museum was a bit bland.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rahoffman424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,324
    590
    87
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was pretty hard to find, and I guess during the Nazi occupation, that was the idea, as it was a hidden church, so from the outside it just looked like a house. From what we remember the outside sign just said 'Our Lord in the Attic Chapel', and not Amstelkring Museum. We enjoyed visiting and really only takes 30 minutes or so. Free with the I Amsterdam card, which in itself is worth it if staying a few days and you plan on visiting museums and galleries.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
666 reviews
336 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of a Museum about a Hidden Church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great, uncrowded museum that holds a hidden catholic church from when they couldn't hold services publicly. Included audio guide allows you to see and hear as much as you want. It has some religious artifacts but it's the whole setup that you just gotta see. Biggest pleasant surprise of my journey. I highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worth visiting but not essential”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is an interesting attraction which will be better when they conclude renovations in a few months. I would only recommend if staying more than 3 days

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank UKHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was a good example of what good people (this time, Christians) must do to service their bona fide faith in the midst of oppression and real religious suppression. The 'make-shift' church is quite impressive when considering the clandestine methods needed in the oppressive Nazi occupation. Outside views give away nothing to suggest such a prohibited activity during the occupation. Worth the small fee and well worth the support that such visits show!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PVJOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Ons'Lieve Heer Op Solder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing